We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike rides and sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The greeting sign is right -- this resort and beach community is the perfect place to relax and recharge, especially in the off-season. The tip of Edisto Island is called Edisto Beach, and that's where the sprawling Wyndham resort is situated. The tip is also the best spot for viewing sunsets (and sunrises, we were told, but never checked them ourselves). The Wyndham also borders the well-kept Plantation golf course, which was nearly empty for my Monday afternoon round, making for a leisurely, fun time. The Wyndham has indoor and outdoor pools, a nearby beach with chaises and bathrooms (the snack bar was closed for most of our stay), outdoor gas grills and tables, miniature golf, and other amenities and activities. Our one-bedroom condo was spacious and comfortable, outfitted with ceiling fans, a balcony, and a huge hot tub in the bathroom (though the shower was tiny). Our stay was on a timeshare exchange, which we took to visit Charleston one-hour away. Our two full days in that charming city were great, but the rest of our vacation was just as much fun, thanks to our Wyndham accommodations and our bike rides, beach time, and sunsets on Edisto.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

10 - 14 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

I always love staying at Wyndham Ocean Ridge. It is so peaceful and the scenery was natural. Hurricane Irma had blown through a month ago and work crews abounded but that still did not disturb our stay. Lots of amenities from a great golf course, pools and putt putt for the kids. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MarilynDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This beach is awesome ! Beautiful place to visit again. Very quiet and peaceful.
No crowds to deal with. Plenty of restaurants to visit . People are very friendly. Condo was beautiful and had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a very quiet vacation !
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We booked 2 weeks - the first for 4 couples and the second for just us. We used timeshare points - timeshare purchased at Edisto. Requested Baypoint to have the amazing view and have walking distance to beach. Also requested for the 2 units to be stacked as we eat together and socialize. We knew Hurricane Irma impacted Edisto as it's one of our favorite vacation spots so keep tabs on the place. I called 2 weeks ahead of time to check on things and was told they planned on opening Sept 22 so our reservations for Sept 29 thru Oct 13 should be fine. I called back on the 22nd to make sure and was again told our reservations were set...they had some damage but Baypoint had open units so we should be okay.

When we checked in not only we're we told Baypoint was closed but they didn't stack our units either. We had an upper unit and the other 2 couples had a lower unit kitty corner from us. I called when we saw that neither the unit directly below us nor directly above the other unit were occupied but was told there was nothing they could do because of existing reservations. The units were open for 4-5 of the first 7 days so don't understand that logic at all. We talked to other customers during our stay who had similar experiences.

We will return to Edisto as it's a great vacation spot if you like laid back relaxing beach time with no commercialism. Not sure about sticking with Wyndham. They are doing a lot of cleaning and repair due to hurricane and assuming existing remodel plans. I hope they remove the large tub in the king bedroom bathroom as feel it's wasted space and a walk in shower would be of better use for their clientele. They are putting gas grills in across the property and those are great - we used them several times. Also liked the work they've done at The Villages pool.

I did talk with guest services about the situation stressing that not being truthful was my biggest concern. We would've still came there on vacation had they been truthful about Baypoint the first time I called...even the second. The blatant disregard for telling the truth to ensure they keep customers may have kept current reservation levels but not sure it helps long term. Really have a bad taste in my mouth after this experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank miaarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Had a quick visit before hurricane Irma kicked us out. We rented a two bedroom suite and it turned out to be a whole floor of a small condo building. A number of the buildings surround a pool and grill area. Everything in the condo seemed new to me and exceeded my expectations. Edisto to me seemed very laid back and at least in the fall was not very crowded at all. The timeshare people don't push you too hard, unlike most places you visit that have timeshare people lurking about.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edisto Beach
21.7 km away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
483 reviews
25.8 km away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
32.4 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
32.5 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 16 in Beaufort
1,337 reviews
25.1 km away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Ridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Ridge

Address: 1 King Cotton Rd, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3606 (Formerly Fairfield Ocean Ridge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Edisto Island > Edisto Beach
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Beach
Price Range: ₹ 8,138 - ₹ 21,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lift Your Spirits in Lowcountry Find solace at Wyndham Ocean Ridge — located on a small island just off South Carolina's southern shore. Nestled within a grove of oak and cypress trees cloaked in Spanish moss, the resort's wistful scenery and quiet spaces inspire you to be mindful of each passing moment. Stand in awe on the resort's small beach as you watch dolphins frolic in the waves during their seasonal migrations. Drive into the tiny town of Edisto Beach and discover the charm of Lowcountry by tasting its distinctive flavors and swapping stories with the friendly locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Ridge Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Edisto Island
Edisto Island Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing