We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I just returned from Edisto after staying there November 10 to the 16th.The weather was great except for the last day of the stay.I have stayed at several other Wyndham resorts(see other reviews)but this is my favorite place!I do not understand all of the negative reviews on here about this place.The condo was great the resort staff is great and very helpful.The area is a little remote for some but if you dont like that aspect of it then you should go to Myrtle Beach and fight with crowds and traffic!That is not my idea of a relaxing vacation though!I was able to go to Fort Sumter which the resort offered as a tour and they took care of everything.I also took a historical tour of the island which the resort also offered as a tour.What more could you ask for.There was 2 more tours one of Charlestown and the Magnolia Plantation which i did not take i do plan on them for future trips.The island itself is full of history and beauty.I barely scatched the surface of the history part of it but plan on learning more in the future.I have never had problems getting stuff on the island we got some groceries at the piggly wiggly and cooked some meals in our unit.That always helps out.The island is full of beauty and things you do not see at other places.If you like shelling this is the best place for that.I have now been here 6 times and am always sad to leave.It is a great place to relax and get rid of STRESS!I am already looking forward to going back to see more and learn more.I cant wait to get that Moola La French Toast at the Sea Cow it is just the BEST!The drive may be far but i will drive it everytime for Peace!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Loved this area, the beach, the ocean and the shells. Pretty laid back community. Great food in each restaurant we experienced. The local grocery store is a bit overpriced but why not when you're the only one in town. We came in the late fall so not a lot of tourist traffic, mostly seniors like us. Locals were friendly. We were assigned a two bedroom plus unit with queen beds which were not very comfortable for a six night stay. The worst part was the very small bathrooms. Although they were sufficient, they offered no comfort. Some of our larger citizens would have a real problem. Unit was worn, in need of refreshing. Had a stale, musty smell when we first arrived; fortunately I had brought a can of Febreeze which helped. There were four steps up to the main level, then another set of about 20 stairs to the first bedroom, then another set of maybe 10 stairs to the second bedroom, then another set of six or 8 steps to the third loft bedroom. My husband was recovering from knee replacement and I am facing hip replacement, so the stairs were a surprise and presented some problems.The condo unit provided all our needs, but was not the quality we had experienced previously with Wyndham. The area itself is great. The ocean delivers fresh shells daily, the dolphins play nearby in the water, and the sunsets are awesome. This was our third visit to the island but the first time to stay for an extended period. We want to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Edisto Island truly is off of the beaten path! Remote location, long drive to and from highway access for day trips to Charleston, Beaufort or Savannah. Found the local eateries to be high priced with low quality offerings and very poor customer service. It is obvious that this community caters to the local weekend (homeowners) crowd vs. travelers. NO nightlife to speak of. Come prepared to relax, read, and eat in! The local Piggly Wiggly grocery store is very overpriced as well, so you would be better served to bring your own food and beverages with you. Wyndham Ocean Ridge is average at best. One Bedroom deluxe Unit in Marsh Point was clean but worn, The kitchen was nice but the bathroom ceiling was peeling and leaky. Decor was quite interesting...a mixed bag so to speak. Have traveled to many beach front communities/resorts and would tell others to skip Edisto all together.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ohiogal50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place is so relaxing that we bought a timeshare there. We plan to visit it frequently. Actually we'd visit it more often if it were closer. Fourteen hours a way is a little far for a quick get away. The staff is always so friendly. And the condos are nice and for the most part upto date. The only issue we had was the noise from the other condos when they ran the washing machine; however, that is to be expected. I'm sure they could hear ours as well. This place is within walking distance to the beach, fish mongers, and the property restaurant. If you rent a bike or bring your own, you can ride all over the island. It's within 45 minutes of Charleston, SC and 90 min (I think) of Sav., GA. Great location

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arkwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Spent last week, we had a great 1br cond. Everything looked recently updated. Everything worked. It was peaceful the beach access was close. We found great food on the island, but found that we traveled to Charleston for other things to do.Charleston has so much to do and see. It is about an hour away. The Wyndham sale pitch was over the top. They try very hard to get you to purchase Wyndham points (TimeShare) but they give you a gift card $50 for and hour of time. We arrived around 3:45 for 4pm checkin. We were told they were running behind, staffing problems. We were asked to come back in 30 minutes. Still not available, asked to come back in an hour. We cam back about and hour and 30 minutes later and told they would give us the keys, but no pronise that the room would be ready. When we arrived they had just finished the condo.

Room Tip: Hope you have the right number of points
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tj3js289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edisto Beach
21.7 km away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
473 reviews
25.8 km away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
33.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,266 reviews
32.4 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
978 reviews
25.8 km away
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
#3 of 3 in Kiawah Island
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Ridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Ridge

Address: 1 King Cotton Rd, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3622 (Formerly Fairfield Ocean Ridge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Edisto Island > Edisto Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,391 - ₹ 14,525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lift Your Spirits in Lowcountry Find solace at Wyndham Ocean Ridge — located on a small island just off South Carolina's southern shore. Nestled within a grove of oak and cypress trees cloaked in Spanish moss, the resort's wistful scenery and quiet spaces inspire you to be mindful of each passing moment. Stand in awe on the resort's small beach as you watch dolphins frolic in the waves during their seasonal migrations. Drive into the tiny town of Edisto Beach and discover the charm of Lowcountry by tasting its distinctive flavors and swapping stories with the friendly locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Ridge Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Edisto Island
Edisto Island Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing