We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden piece of heaven”
Beautiful natural swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful natural swimming pool
Lounge/kitchenette Comfy sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Beautiful natural swimming pool
Lounge/kitchenette
Comfy sofa
Dining table and chairs
Bedroom with king size bed
Bedroom
Bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle
Guests' relaxation area
View of the pool from the relaxation area
Pool and garden
Shady seating area and pool overlooked by the apartment downstairs
Avelar town 5 minutes drive from the house
Fragas de Sao Simao river beach close by
Dornes on the River Zezere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Avelar, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Companion...
1 review
“A hidden piece of heaven”
Reviewed 22 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

There are insufficient superlatives to describe Casa Azul and our time there.

Set in the Idyllic Portuguese Mountains, Casa Azul is in the middle of a quiet and rural setting. From the fantastic apartment, which is equipped with everything that you could possibly need for everyday living, plus a few that you didn’t even know that you needed, to the plant filtered eco-pool which has to be experienced to understand just how clean and soft water can be. All without the use of any chemicals. To the beautifully tended garden, this has many unusual and striking plants that will test your visual and nasal senses and have you deep in thought to identify. Fiona and Steve are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, from advice on shopping, to places to visit and fantastic restaurants.

We spent two weeks relaxing and unwinding, finding Portugal’s rich and varied history and small out of the way villages. Also small but very quiet swimming areas in river valleys and high sided gorges amongst countryside that is full of wildlife that has to be seen and admired. Each day out inter-spaced with a day lazing by the pool amongst the orange and apricot and banana trees in the wonderful surrounds of Casa Azul.

If you enjoy quiet and peaceful surroundings, surrounded by beautiful countryside and full of history, then Casa Azul is the place for you.

Casa Azul is a hidden piece of heaven to which we will return as often as possible.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are so delighted that you loved Casa Azul and Portugal as much as we do! We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendi R
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay and relax”
Reviewed 10 June 2019 for a stay in May 2019

We have just returned from a week away here and we had such a great time. So beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed chilling by the natural pool (no chlorine which makes such a difference) going into town, a trip to the beach (about an hour away) an amazing day out kayaking- tranquil and amazing (highly recommend). Steve and Fiona were on hand to give advice and help in anyway we needed but were also happy to give us the space you need to do what you want. The apartment was self contained, lovely and clean and spacious and had everything you needed. The setting is so idyllic- lavish orange, lemon, lime and apricot trees plus many more plants and all private too. Would highly recommend staying here for a lovely peaceful and relaxing getaway. Can’t wait to go back there, thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review and pleased you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a wonderful place to stay, relax and unwind. Situated in central Portugal ideal for sight seeing .
Absolutely lovely natural swimming pool set in beautiful surroundings.
Immaculate accommodation with everything you could wish for to enjoy a lovely self catering break. Steve and Fiona could not be more helpful.
Absolutely perfect!

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to welcome you back to Casa Azul very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swiles201...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate apartment in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Azul. The apartment was immaculate and had everything you need for a self- catering holiday. The outdoor area is especially beautiful and provides an idyllic setting for relaxing by the pool. The owners Fiona and Steve are extremely helpful and have extensive knowledge of the local restaurants and places to visit so are able to point you in the right direction. Can't wait to return again and enjoy another relaxing stay at their beautiful place.

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
809kittyb
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful - a real gem of a find. Quite perfect!”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

It was sheer luck that we found Casa Azul and we were utterly charmed and delighted with it. Within easy walking distance of the centre of charming Avelar, with its lovely architecture and wonderful church - where you can easily obtain all the provisions you could possibly need for your stay. Set in a beautiful, peaceful and quiet setting, the accommodation is spacious, exceptionally clean and beautifully situated throughout. Everything one could possibly require for self catering is provided and the owners Fiona and Steve were simply wonderful to us. They went out of their way to assist us with anything we either asked or needed and were kindness itself whilst at the same time managing to remain totally unobtrusive. Avelar being so centrally situated it offers a perfect location to explore central Portugal with all its fascinating cities, towns and villages, without having to travel vast distances. We had a wonderful and memorable stay, the worse part was having to leave at all, but we will definitely be back and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thank you so much Fiona and Steve for a wonderful stay we hope to see you again very soon.

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovey review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Casa Azul in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.