We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
255
35
6
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
35
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests coffee plantation tree house walking trails long table friendly dogs dog lovers all mod cons lives up to its name the main house fantastic hosts watch the birds great company lovely pool buffet style deluxe room home from home
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

When we decided to stop by a property amidst a coffee plantation, we didn't imagine it to be so good. An aptly titled resort - all you hear is the birds chirping away.

The rooms were clean and tidy with a veranda to chill out. We visited as a group of 3 couples and the veranda with comfortable seating arrangements was our hangout spot.

The food was amazing with loads of vegetarian options as well. The hosts take into consideration your eating preferences and set the day's menu accordingly.

Coffee trails amidst the plantation is a stand-out. Morning and evening walks along these parts is pure bliss. And what makes it even more worthwhile are the 6 pet dogs. 3 of them - Sunshine, Rowdy and SugarPlum are always up for guiding you along the trails. Super friendly dogs all 6 and what a pleasure to be around.

The staff were very courteous and helpful throughout. Ajay and Nisha, are the best hosts you could hope to meet. They are always around for casual talks or guiding you to different spots. You guys made our stay really memorable. Thanks

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohitR1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Very well maintained property set in the middle of a 400 acre coffee plantation. Really enjoyed my stay in the tree villa. Enjoyed the company of Ajay, Nisha and their pet dogs. Enjoyed my walks through the plantation with the dogs! Will be back soon!

Room tip: Book either the Tree House or Tree Villa
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nakul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

My second visit to Tranquil within a year and this has become my favourite family vacation spot in the western ghats.
Ajay is a great host and spends a lot of time interacting with the guests. He really makes everyone feel at home.
We stayed in the cottage which is a 2.5 BR house with a great balcony and a cute garden. This gives a lot of space and great privacy.
The food was top notch, continental food is better than the India IMO, but overall great food in all three meals.
Great walking trails, lovely pool and a deck with lots of board games, will ensure you are never bored.
There is truly very little to crib about Tranquil, I am surely going to visit again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipayan_Chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and myself visited for 5 nights after spending one day travelling up from Alappuzha by train to Kozhikode (Calicut) and then taxi to Tranquil.

We were met on our arrival by Ajay and Nisha, who were fantastic hosts; really friendly, so helpful, very sociable.

Tranquil is a very special place to stay; we still talk about it regularly even now we’ve been home for 3 months! We’ve already booked to return later in 2018.

What makes it special? As always, it depends on what you like.

For us, we loved:

- the total peace and quiet, all you hear are the birds and wildlife and the occasional distant voice carried up from a small village below

- the 450 coffee plantation has lovely, varied walks of different levels of difficulty. All are clearly signed. Low level valley walks past huge boulders and streams to peaks and great views of the Ghats. Nothing needs organising, just do your own thing!

- the birds and wildlife you see on the walks are fantastic, ranging from peacocks to monkeys to birds of prey

- Ajay and Nisha’s dogs are always up for joining you for a walk! They’re great company and know the Estate and paths better than you!

- the accommodation is clean and comfortable; the stand-out are the 2 tree houses. These are literally built around a tree with branches going through rooms! We woke to monkeys on the balcony in the morning; fire-flies lit the night on one occasion

- there’s a nice pool and surrounds with a nice bar and eating area

- there’s the option to attend informal pre-dinner drinks hosted by Ajay and Nisha; this was a very relaxed sociable time of the day, a great opportunity to meet other guests and share experiences

- this then typically and naturally led to us all eating as a group which we liked; it makes Tranquil very personable and different (sure you could eat at your own table if you really wanted to!)

- there’s no wi-fi in the tree houses or around the pool (which really helped us switch-off from the day-to-day back home we we on hols to escape!!). There is Wi-fi in the bar and dinning area

- there’s a nature reserve 45 mins taxi ride away. Even though it was closed due to fire risk during our stay, there’s a road through the Reserve which we drove through both ways, seeing elephants and wart-hogs close up at the roadside

- Ajay and Nisha were also so helpful to make our stay memorable, this included helping with the train and taxi journeys

In summary, Tranquil is a unique experience rather than ‘just somewhere else to stay’. It’s given us memories to treasure.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ciren_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Amazing hospitality, beautiful surroundings. Ajay, Nisha and all the staff made us so welcome. They couldn’t do enough for us. Great food, lovely walks, fabulous place to relax. We can’t wait to go back!

Diane and Paul

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank bernie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews