We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it :)”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Munroe Island, Kollam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Diederik...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it :)”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It was a pleasure to stay with Vishnu and his family for two days! His homestay is brand new and super comfortable, we recommend it without any doubt. Vishnu, his mother and his two adorable cousins are so friendly and welcome you into their home. It is such a great homestay experience.
In the morning he took us on his canoe and showed us the beautiful backwaters and an amazing sunrise. During the tour he proudly told us about his village and the way of life there. It was just lovely. Thank you Vishnu for the great stay!

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thanks for couple of days stayingredients my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral E
2 reviews
“GREAT food, Beautiful room, perfect location”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Munroe Island is by far the best of all the locations for a backwater canoe tour. Super shanti, the quietest I've ever heard India to be, only the sights and sounds of eagles, ducks, children giggling, goats, cows and the noise as the paddle of your canoe hits the water. Munroe Rest Homestay can offer you anything you want and he will go out of his way to accommodate you. Even for a budget traveller, this room is worth it (if you consider how much you spend on tourist food and a room in other places). The room was spotless with the comfiest bed we've had in India. The home cooked food was so TASTY! Fantastic! Highly reccommended.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thanks for staying couple of days my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252maayan...
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxed, comfortable, charming”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had two great nights staying ay Vishnu's homestay, Munroe Nest, which was then almost brand new.

The room is clean, spacious and very comfortable, and sitting on the little porch facing the canal watching birds and listening to village life is the perfect way to enjoy the backwaters without the crouds. Vishnu also took us on two great cannoo trips.

We had a bit of an unpleasant surprise at the end, when asked to add taxes on top of the price agreed upon in advance, so make sure to double check. Otherwise, great stay!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thanks maayan for staying my homestay and very good comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haegeace
1 review
“Friendly, welcoming, beautiful”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at vishnus place with our two year old son and found a quiet, beautiful place in the shade of banana and coconut trees in a small backwater village with heart-warmed villagers. we did a sunrise boat trip with vishnu which revealed a magic insight of the backwaters, still very clean and traditionally used here. vishnu is a super friendly host and we enjoyed his Company as well as the simple, tasty food of his mother who was cooking. Highly recommendable.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thanks for your stay in my homestay and good reviews next time come back my homestay and stay more days
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina...
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent option”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Three friends and I stayed three days at Vishnu's.
The room is a bit little for 4, but more than ok for 3 people. It's new and perfectly clean.
The food Vishnu's mum cooks is delicious, and they both were very helpful and attentive at all time (she doesn't speak English, but we managed to understand eachother through signs ;)
Vishnu is extremely caring, and made us feel at home. He took us to swim, got extra fruit for us and took us to the Elephant Festival.
He also owns a canoo, and took us for a lovely sunrise ride.
Would definitely recommed this homestay, thanks Vishnu!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Thanku so much for your valuable comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.