We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Sierra Nevada”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Mecina Alfahar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
31satus
1 review
“Paradise in Sierra Nevada”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in January 2018

If You come here once, You’re dreaming to get back.
So genuine! Beauty on every side, in house and outside, and on the eyes unmatched. Cleansing and gentle climate that is complemented by the lush music of the streams in the mountains. Sunshine and warm same time when the coast is damp and cool, wonderful! Nice villages very near to visit. So calm if You want just enjoy. From the adjacent village the world’s best olive oil!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klauskuha...
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Among best southern Spain can offer - and it’s not on the beach”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Having spent numerous vacations on the shores of the Marbella region, it was time for something else. A good week on the southern slopes of Sierra Nevada!

We fell in love with La Parra! Have returned several times thereafter and will keep coming back!

Where should I start. Remember, we went there in the winter! But I quess coming from Finland , it’s not a big deal that make sure you keep the warmth inside the house, on the contrary to the summer months.
The weather - sun was shining every day of our stay thru Christmas and New Year. Temperatures up to 15-20 during the days and even below 0 during nigths. That was different!
The views - we are sailors and love to watch the horizon. There is plenty of horizon to watch here in the mountains. Snowpeaks and everything. Breath taking!
The air - the valley of Mecina Alfahar has somekind of micro climate. The air is as fresh and clean as in Lapland. Something we didn’t expect. Many of the allergies my wife has were symptholess up in the mountains! That was unexpected as well!

The house, La Parra - a big old house in the valley, surrounded by almond trees, citrus trees (even one that oranges, mandarins and citrons all in the same tree - how did they pull that one off?).
You get your drinking water right from the mountain dwell - tasting very good! And clean as well!

The history of the house goes back to the times when the Maurs inhabited these hills (make sure you read Fatimas Hand by Ildenfonso Falcones before you go to the area. The book takes place exactly here!). Now the house has been renowated and furnished with good taste, by the artistic touch of it’s new owners. You will even be able to enjoy her art in the walls of La Parra.

The house has actually two kitchens, at both ends of it. Perfect for a two family vacation.

Food - should you find it boring to cook every day, Louis at rest La Huerta in the village cooks the best local meals. My favourite is his paella - you have to order it the day before. And don’t forget to ask for the local organic wines - the red 1879 tasted something else !!

What to do - watching the view and sunbathing on the second floor large terrace was my favourite. Took even a swim in the pool, filled with the cool mountain water. There are plenty of trails to go hiking. And lot’s of beautiful villages for a road trip. Or drive over the mountains to Granada and even the Sierra Nevada ski resort. Did even that once.

This place is just amazing. Hope you like it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Wow! You absolutely have a status of our favourite repeating guest:)
I know you have seen more of the world than most of us and knowing that we humbly read your kind words and wish you welcome again later on this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour61463...
1 review
“Relaxing authenticity among mountains.”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in March 2016

This spacious house is best, I think, for a group of friends or extended family. In the nooks and crannies of the building everyone can find their privacy if they want to, but just as easily join together for extended meals. With the right people around you, you probably won’t leave the house and its setting too much, but there is a lovely simple resturant in the village. The standard of food and wine will likely surprise you. If you are an inexperienced/insecure driver you will find the road between the house and the village quite challenging and I advice you to walk it first. Personally I am going back for my third visit with close friends.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thank you Marcus for your kind review and nice to have you back last week! It was good to hear you enjoyed the trip again. Regarding the road we like to look upon the adventurous track as a passage from the old world to our world and this way it has a a purposeful meaning:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea E
Espoo, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking mountain views and warm sun”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in November 2017

The old town Mecina Al Fahar is located in the mountains and seem to, as an extra bonus, produce an abundance of local delicacies; tapas, vine, fresh fruit like orange and figs.
The old villa is very cosy, very large and has a terrace just spot on for enjoying refreshments/dinner outside enjoying the mountain view.
I was very impressed by the ambience of the place; the sun, the breath taking views and the friendly locals.
The land lord is very helpful and responsive.
The area also has very nice hiking trails with a spectacular view.
Especially if you drive by car; the cultural monuments, like Alhambra palace, are not far away.
I spent a very relaxed week here in November 2017 and will probably visit this place again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Dear Sea and Erik, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and hope to see you soon again. (We have planted more Oleanders, jacaranda and pistachio for your pleasure:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing