We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in the lush area of Rosebank”
Review of Winehouse

Winehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 50
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Winehouse, at Ten Bompas Hotel serves fine French inspired food, using only the freshest ingredients with herbs and vegetables sourced from the hotel's organic gardens. Johannes de Bruijn heads up the kitchen and food is served indoors, on the terrace and in the hotel's lush gardens. A large selection of South African wines is available and guests are invited to take a walk through the hotel's iconic double story glass cellar.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Great food, great presentation. Good service. Absolutely delicious. Big wine list
Cool atmosphere. Good music

Thank Fernand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Winehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you Fernand for this review. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal at our Winehouse restaurant. Warmest regards from Chef Johannes and the Winehouse kitchen and service teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Had the privilege to do the 9 course tasting menu at Winehouse restaurant...what an experience! I don't know if everybody is normally stuffed after a fine dining experience, but we were and it was totally worth it. The food is absolutely incredible, the staff are friendly and professional and the atmosphere is relaxed. Is is expensive? Yes. Is it worth the money? YES! If you love food, you need to save some ching! Do it!

Thank Lezandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Winehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable experience at Winehouse and that the food, staff and ambience all contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards Chef Johannes and the rest of our team at Winehouse and Ten Bompas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Difficult for me to review. This French restaurant will appeal to maybe 10% of the dining population. Entrance and wait area, well let’s say it underwhelms.

Dining area relatively small, white linen and cutlery decent. Lack of ambiance and French nostalgia.

Now the food. I am certain great effort is applied to making the dishes. The ingredients are plentiful and much use is made of truffles and other exotic ingredients. Arriving, one is breathless when told to prepare for a five course meal. When the fist dish arrives, it takes the waiter 2 minutes to tell you what is in the dish and how it is made. Great effort.... when it comes to enjoying the starter, the 6 dumplings to share is gone in a second. That’s how course 2 to 5 roll as well. Add a looney price per dish and you walk away wondering.

The wine list is substantial and varies from affordable to intense. Service is good and there is secure off street parking.

If you are an intense foodie with a love for delicate French cuisine, this is your venue. Your rating will justly be higher, the rest of us will give it a miss.

Thank GregoryD1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Winehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Gregory, thank you for taking the time to review our Winehouse restaurant. We have noted your comments and will certainly take some of them on board as we move forward in our planning. Thank you for detailing the dishes and mentioning the service that you received from our staff. Warmest regards, Peter and the team at Winehouse, Ten Bompas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Don't get me wrong, the place is worth a visit and certain aspect of the food worked, just not all together. Having done our fair share of tasting menus, I would not put the winehouse in the top ten. The food and wine-pairing was a shoot and miss with some of the food and a good hit with other food. The most disappointing aspect of the meal was the lazy accompaniment of our main meals by over fried potatoes and a lazy green salad - I mean, this was supposed to be a culinary excursion. The desserts were delightful and aesthetically inviting. Out waiter was fine, but a bit too familiar at certain points and had less knowledge of wines than he claimed. We will give it another shot soon and perhaps go with our own choices rather than the tasting menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Siphiwe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Winehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Siphiwe

Thank you for this feedback on your recent visit to Winehouse. We have two menus, a tasting menu of 8 courses and a 4 course shorter menu which it seems you had - as we serve the smaller course with an accompaniment of the potatoes fried in duck fat and a simple green salad to counter the richness of some of the main courses. We note that the waiter may have been a bit over familiar. As part of our training we teach our waiters to judge the guests and act accordingly. It seems that he failed to do so in this case - a point well made that we need more training in this area. We will also address this with the waiter concerned. The wine training is ongoing as we change our wine pairings with each seasonal menu. In the last few days we have made some additional changes due to customer feedback and we are working hard at getting the team up to speed on the new wines. Again it is a training issue and I apologise that we were found wanting on our knowledge of some of the wines served. We appreciate your comments and we hope that you will visit us again. I would be very grateful if you do to get your direct feedback to my email address at peter@mix.co.za Kind regards, Peter Aucamp,Ten Bompas Hotel




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Great service from moment arrived at Hotel(10 Bompas Rd)...Restaurant compliments perfectly...4 course/9 cours/wine pairing options...can compete with most upper tier restaurants. Will be back with wife.

Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Winehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you Pierre for this wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you liked the new menu as well as the wines we chose to pair with it. We look forward to you returning to our restaurant with your wife. Best regards, Chef Johannes, Charli, Jackson and the rest of the team at Winehouse, Ten Bompas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winehouse also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Winehouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing