We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raj-tastic!”
Review of Roop Niwas Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roop Niwas Kothi
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke by Nayland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Raj-tastic!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel wasn't originally on our honeymoon itinerary, but I requested it anyway as we wanted to visit Nawalgarh. I'm glad we did, as it turned out to be the best hotel on our trip. The location is wonderful - an old Raj-era mansion on the edge of town, with wonderful old photos and ambience. We were welcomed by flag-waving garland bearers who greeted us with warm smiles. The staff at this hotel are all genuinely friendly, including Sky the boxer! We were given a suite, which simply oozed old-world elegance with all its original fittings. We watched the sun go down on the terrace with the sound of peafowl all around us and had a delicious dinner. The hotel is surrounded by some lovely gardens that I explored in the morning, being a keen birder, and the staff will happily show you their beautiful Marwari horses with pride and no hassle. A real gem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    63
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
55
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Roop Niwas Kothi is a unique place.
You do feel at home at the beautiful historic hotel, staff is very nice and always helpful, the pool is great and needed from April onwards.
The horse stables are one of the best, I have seen. Very professional riding-tours, lang safaris but also beautiful half day tours to the Shekhawati region.
Fantastic horses and great riding especially for good riders.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monikafromgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in Roop Niwas Kothi for a weekend last winter. The experience starts with the confusion between Roop Niwas Haveli and this property; it turns out the former is a recent building resulting from familial disagreement and is currently managed by Club Mahindra resorts.

Roop Niwas Kothi is exactly as the name says: it is a former haveli refurbished on the inside but retains its exterior as well as a stable of nice Marwari horses which add to the overall experience. The room we stayed in had high ceilings and green-painted wooden fixtures reminiscent of the early 20th century: the bed was seriously taller than what we use nowadays and can be a bit of a hazard if you have really small children! There was an enclosed sit out area with the room, which added a nice touch. The pool is quite nice and though out in the open fenced up with walls and old murals: possibly to keep prying eyes away in the olden days from the zenana of the house having a dip. The water is clean and it is nice to hear (and even see) indiscreet peacocks while having a swim.

The farm within the property is an interesting distraction especially if you have kids: they have every conceivable animal that has been domesticated in these parts so the children won’t miss Old McDonald any more! The stable also has pygmy horses, which was quite a surprise. The Marwari horses themselves are handsome animals and around 5 in the afternoon they come running in from their grazing to their paddocks raising a bit of dust which makes for a nice set of pictures if you are at the right spot at the right time.

If you do go to Shekhawati and want to put your feet up this place is one of the better, may be the best, option.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heelsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed for the second time at this charming hotel. It is unpretentious with an elegant charm. The rooms are simple with all the comforts and good facilities. The staff are attentive and helpful and one can enjoy the air of the open amenities and relax with a drink in the comfortable lobby area or in front of one's room. The dining area is small and intimate and well serviced with the charm of the 30's era and the family photos. There is a peaceful air about the place within a rural environment and the calls of peacocks in the extensive gardens surrounding the buildings. No glitz here but genuine hospitality and attention. Surprisingly also free wifi. I'll come again like another guest confided, she is a regular and a from afar. Stay the same we love it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEVENSEY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A truly amazing place - stay here if you are visiting this part of the world - I strongly recommend this place.

Wake up in the morning to the shrill weird noises created by the peacocks so as you do not miss out a great breakfast :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger suites (havelis)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumyaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nawalgarh
16.2 km away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 14 in Mandawa
737 reviews
25.6 km away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mandawa
763 reviews
25.5 km away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#3 of 14 in Mandawa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mandawa
146 reviews
0.6 km away
WelcomHeritage Koolwal Kothi
1.5 km away
Hotel Roop Vilas Palace
Hotel Roop Vilas Palace
#5 of 5 in Nawalgarh
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roop Niwas Kothi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roop Niwas Kothi

Property: Roop Niwas Kothi
Address: Shekhawati | Shekhawati Dist:Jhunjhunu, Nawalgarh 333042, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Nawalgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nawalgarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,025 - ₹ 10,179
Hotel Class:3 star — Roop Niwas Kothi 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Roop Niwas Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roop Niwas Kothi Nawalgarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing