We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Refuge du Trappeur
Reviewed 16 September 2017

From the moment we arrived we were disappointed. We arrived early and thought the place was closed everywhere was locked up. We finally found the owners round the side and were told to go away and come back later.( All we wanted was to see what facilities we had in the room).
We went to the park for a couple of hours then came back to the room with balcony and "landmark view". This was at the back of the auberge overlooking the "Indian village" some view!
The room itself was very amateurishly finished and the quality was dreadful.. The door stuck and was difficult to open, the bed was home made and squeaked horrendously when you sat down on it, never mind turn over. The walls are so thin that at 3.00 am, when the couple next door were getting up to go on the moose safari, we could hear every movement.
We went in to dinner the first night and were very disappointed with the selection available . We had onion rings between us and both had hamburgers and paid an extra $2 each for cheese and bacon which consisted of a cheese slice and two pieces of bacon an inch square. The bill came to over $45 with no drinks and the tip was automatically included without us being asked. Needless to say we didn't have breakfast the next morning and went elsewhere for other meals.
We found the staff very unfriendly and unhelpful and we really regretted having booked for three nights.
We have travelled extensively and this was one of our worst experiences.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

All that had to be said was said in prior reviews and taken midly the average review is pretty representative of the experience one will live at the refuge! Not the most welcoming place, certainly not typical of our reknown hospitality in Quebec.

But, our pre-dawn canoe trip with our Montagnais guide, was an almost religious experience! To be able to silently row through a foggy lake in an autumn morning admits the colours of our Quebec forests is an amazing experience. To be alone in such a vast wilderness is a unique experience.

I dont't like to knock entrepreneurs, but I have to say, the price was hefty for the value. Been there, done that, next!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Godefroy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice welcome from the Manageress but I'm afraid that was as good as it got.

We spent two nights in this Auberge in August 2014 with my husband and two children (two rooms on first floor). The bedrooms in main house are serviceable although you can hear everything going on in the neighbouring room.

The food, however, is a disaster. Overpriced, bland canteen food and probably the worst service we experienced on our 3-week trip to Canada. For example, their POUTINE, (on second night, we thought it would be the safest bet), is made of frozen small waffles - a true disgrace. We waited for over an hour to be served on both occasions.

So, good location (near to park entrance) but GO SOMEWHERE else to eat!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nugent62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We came as a family of 5 for 2 days and 1 night to discover the park of the Mauricie. We selected the place as it is located the closest to the park. We wanted to experience a night in the nature and selected the log cabin with no water and electricity ... up for a real family experience for our first trip to Canada
We had dinner in the evening, The food was slightly better than what one would usually get on a chain restaurant on a highway. The cost for the meal was slighly over of what we paid in downtown Manhattan a week before.
I must say that we slept very well, the log cabin was relatively clean and the slipping bags smelled fresh and clean. The furnace worked well. It was a very cosy experience. In the morning I first wake up to go shower at the collective showers on the other side of the domain. Nothing worked. No water. Seemingly frozen during the night. The landlord gave us access to a room in the main building to shower.
Breakfast was poor. Not what you would expect in America
The overall stay for one night cost us double than what we paid a day later at the Montreal located wonderful BnB A La Carte
We would not go back to Auberge du trappeur and we would not send our friends either.

Too bad as the kids very much enjoyed the indian camp visit and our guide, Ken, was extremely entertaining and knowledgeable

Room Tip: if you really want to go, choose the log cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BrusselsGilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hi!
My boyfriend and I stayed at "Auberge du Trappeur" for two nights. Overall, we really enjoyed the experience and would return. We were looking for a quiet getaway to observe Quebec's wildlife/landscape without travelling too far from home.
Here is my review:

Room: We stayed in a ''tourist friendly" tipi, meaning that they installed a wooden platform so we were not sleeping directly on the ground. Fire pit inside with lots of self-serve fire wood. Equipment is extra $ (matt/ sleeping bag/flashlight/towel/small bar soap) It all seems very simple, but it was comfortable, and quite large inside.

Shared Bath Facilities: Very well maintained. Although basic, it was exceptionally clean. No hairs clogging the shower drains, and no puddle of water accumulating at your feet- that's a big deal for me. I did not even have any spider encounters ! (3 showers/2 toilets/1sink)

Onsite Restaurant: Dinning was the least enjoyable part of the trip. Menu options,quality of produce and presentation is lacking. The service was good, but they really need to invest some effort into the restaurant. If you have any dietary restrictions, I highly recommend you notify them in advance because the Chef is not terribly accommodating. Better yet,bring your food from home.

Staff: It is my understanding that the establishment has been under new management since last year. The new owners,and all staff, are very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately, I get the impression that the new owners do not have any prior experience in the hotel/restaurant industry. They do make every effort to please their guests, and with time they will surely improve the areas that are lacking.

Activities:
Bear Viewing: meeting time 18h30. 5 min. drive from hotel. Total time 1.5 hours.You are in a shelter and bears are approx. 100 m. away. We saw 3 bears, it's pretty much guaranteed that they will be there as they are fed. Great photo opportunities.
Moose Viewing / Canoe: meeting time 4h00.45 minute drive.Total canoeing time 2.5 hours. Level of difficulty: easy/no current on lake. Bring your binoculars. Unfortunately the only animal viewing was 2 frogs, but paddling on a peaceful lake as the sun rises was nice. If you think you will be upset to wake up at 3:30 am and not see a moose -stay in bed.

Cost: 2 people / 2 nights / prices in CAD
Tipi = 50$/night
Sleeping equipement=42$
Restaurant=170$ ( 2 x dinner + 2 x breakfast)
Activities= 200$ ( bear + moose viewing)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePrimChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
21.9 km away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
378 reviews
23.6 km away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
1,192 reviews
20.0 km away
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
#2 of 6 in Shawinigan
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
17.3 km away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#2 of 2 in Grand-Mere
127 reviews
8.0 km away
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
#1 of 6 in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Refuge du Trappeur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Refuge du Trappeur

Address: 2120, chemin St-Francois, Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc, Quebec G0X 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
Price Range: ₹ 5,861 - ₹ 7,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Refuge du Trappeur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn "Auberge du Trappeur" is located at the entrance of La Mauricie National Park. 10 Renovated comfortable rooms, teepees and holiday cottages. Nature lovers can experience a variety of outdoor activities: guided black bear watching, moose and beaver watching, canoeing, kayaking, walking trails, dog sledding, snowmobiling, and snowshoeing with trapping interpretation. Our restaurant offers a variety of wild meat specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Refuge du Trappeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing