We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great find!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Tanfield, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynda B
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a great find!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We had so many boxes we wanted to tick for October half term but leaving it as late as we did, there was little choice left and we were on the brink of giving up and accepting we'd be staying at home, when we found Riverdale Lodges - not Riverside or Riverview or anything else locally you might accidentally come across...they are new lodges; dog friendly though we didn't have one; set right alongside the River Ure where there's a great walk (The Loop) to the 2 pubs in West Tanfield and a shorter walk back down the single track road to the lodges. I have never been anywhere with such a great welcome pack! Well done to Ingrid who was on hand if we needed her and the welcoming touches were much appreciated - Oystercatcher was so well furnished and comfortable, it's only a matter of time before they shoot up the search engine and everyone will find them far more easily. We will return, if we can get in!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2018
Hi Lynda, I'm glad you enjoyed your last-minute so much, and for the time being, we will usually be able to accommodate last-minute requests in one of our 4 lodges. But I like your prediction that we will shoot up on Google to be found easier! But don't forget, as a previous guest you now are a 'Friend of Riverdale Lodges' and it comes with privileges! Hope to see you again,
Ingrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca M
1 review
“We loved every second of our holiday and felt very much looked after!”
Reviewed 5 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We loved our stay at Riverdale Lodges. If you are looking for a dog friendly holiday, it does not get better than this. Plenty of stunning walks directly from the lodge, a fenced in area for the dog to run around in plus swimming in the River Ure and a lodge that has got everything you can possible need (dog bed, bowls, towels etc.) To top it all off there is a hot water shower for the dog, so you can clean the dog after a long walk before going to the pub. Talking about pubs, there is a great dog friendly pub walking distance from the lodge. We loved every second of our holiday and felt very much looked after! Thank you Ingrid & Han for being the best hosts ever x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2018
We loved to have you and Paul and your gorgeous dog Mika as our guests. Thank you so much for all your tips that will benefit future guests, for your stunning pictures and now this lovely review. We're thrilled! It doesn't get any better than having you as our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicholapi...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Our stay at Riverdale Lodges - Oystercatcher”
Reviewed 30 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I found Riverdale Lodges completely by chance ... they say everything happens for a reason ... and boy is that true!

We had the most fantastic stay at Oystercatcher - a beautiful lodge which proved to be a home away from home. Very modern, spacious, and spotlessly clean, with the most comprehensive welcome package I’ve ever seen (anything you could possible need was provided upon arrival). There were even lovely extra special touches to make us feel welcome i.e. a welcome message, fresh flowers, toys for our dog, and a teddy.

Oystercatcher has a beautiful decking area which was secure enough to let our little Westie patrol - whilst we enjoyed drinks on the deck soaking in the gorgeous river views. There is something quite tranquil about listening to the river flow by - whilst watching the occasional visits from a family of roe deer. It was just the tonic we all needed.

The hospitality from Riverdale was second to non. Extreamly friendly owners, were nothing was to much trouble. On arrival we also arranged for a delivery from Sainsburys which was perfect and set us up for the week.

Location wise there is a small village about half a mile from the lodges - with a couple of lovely family pubs. Lightwater Valley is a stones throw away, whilst we used Riverdale as a base to explore Masham Black Sheep Brewery, Thirsk, York, Harrogate, Bedale, West Tanfield Railway, Thorp Perrow and Fountains Abbey. Crab and Lobster is also on the door step for some fine dining.

I cannot stress how fantastic Riverdale is enough. We had the most wonderful stay and will definitely be back! There’s no better endorsement than that ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2018
Thank you very much for your kind words, Nichola. So good to know you will be back! Hopefully soon! We'd like to see Bobby again while he is still puppy-size! Best regards to your parents as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing