We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KJR131981
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous place!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have spent a long weekend at Ghillies cottage and have loved every second. The cottage is so homely and comfortable and was very spacious for our family.
We loved being able to watch the cows and their calves out of the windows, particularly in the bathroom, out of the gorgeous roll top bath!
The attention to detail was great and everywhere was very clean.
Strongly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
It is so kind of you to leave such a positive review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in future. It's a lovely time of year with all the young animals out in the fields, glad you enjoyed watching them from a relaxing bath! Many thanks, Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyprice...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ghillies Cottage is an extremely well appointed and cosy cottage set in lovely surroundings and yet close to local facilities. We had a really superb 8 day break and were fortunate to enjoy the majority of the time in glorious Spring sunshine.
The cottage is ideal for walking from the doorstep or is well sited to further explore Dumfries and Galloway.
Thanks to Laura for sharing this lovely cottage with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your week at Ghillie's Cottage. We really appreciate you taking the time to submit this and hope to welcome you back again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for leaving such a complimentary review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and the farm tour. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ghillies Cottage in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jen_Barro...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Eight of us stayed at Ghillies Cottage for a 3 night weekend break and absolutely loved it!
The property is designed and maintained to such a high standard and the owners have provided such lovely amenities throughout. The impressive photographs don't even do it justice. Everything from the bedding to towels was of such a high quality and the entire property was immaculately clean, making for an extremely comfortable stay. The setting is so serene and peaceful and the change of pace was just lovely, even for a couple of days.
We'd happily return, and would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
Hi Jen, Thank you so much for hing Ghillies Cottage such a lovey review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltor_11
Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a Lovely setting”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This cottage is very clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated. Everything you would need to enjoy this stunning part of Scotland. A welcome break from city life for all the family.

Hope to return again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi Fi is poor and intermittent but that is due to the remote location, no fault of the owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage and the peace and quiet! It would be lovely to welcome you back in future to Ghillie's Cottage. Many thanks, Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing