We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue and interesting tour with and deflating ending”

Bombay Sapphire Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 21.55*
and up
Bombay Sapphire Distillery Tour and Tasting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Based at Laverstoke Mill in Hampshire, 15 miles from Winchester and 60 miles from London, the Bombay Sapphire Distillery showcases the care, skill and artistry behind every drop of Bombay Sapphire, and allows you to discover the flavours of the botanicals which make our gin so unique. For over 225 years, the Victorian and Georgian buildings set astride the crystal clear River Test produced bank note paper for the Bank of England and the British Empire. Now, Laverstoke Mill is a state-of-the-art sustainable distillery which produces every single drop of Bombay Sapphire gin. Please book in advance on our website. The closest train stations to the distillery are Overton or Whitchurch which are serviced by trains originating from London Waterloo and Salisbury. There is a shuttle bus service running from Overton and Micheldever train stations, the timetables are on our website. The 76 bus from Basingstoke or Andover stops outside the distillery – check the Stagecoach Bus website.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had seen the tv program about the creation of the new distillery and were very excited to see the distillery, the old paper mill, the glass houses and to have a tour.
The setting is beautiful and they have made the most of it and the glass houses adds to the experience.
The idea of choosing your perfect drink by smelling the different botanicals was a good idea and fun to try and we were interested to see what drink would fit our pallet best...
unfortunately the build-up became very deflated when it came to execution of the last bit. Staff was not engaging and it felt like a simple transaction with minimal interaction in the Bar area, where you could choose your drink.
We traveled from Denmark to the UK and made an extra journey in order to visit the distillery and unfortunately was left with a disappointment.
I think they failed to convert my interest and my customer involvement to a purchase on the day and also for the future. Not that I will never drink Bombay again, but it has left me with a bitter taste.
I wanted to engage on the day and have tried to call them, but your only options are to leave a message on a voice mail.
Sorry Bombay, but you have a wonderful place, but failed to finish the circle.
Regards
Peter

Thank petersejohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyDBombayS, Manager at Bombay Sapphire Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Peter, thank you for your feedback on your distillery experience, I am delighted to hear that you found the setting beautiful and you enjoyed the experience in our Botanical Dry Room. I am however very sorry to hear that you felt that you weren’t engaged with in the bar area. We would be grateful if you could contact us at hello@bombaysapphire.com with details of the time and date of your visit so that we can investigate the situation further. We were also sorry to hear that you were unable to get through to us on the phone – our phones are manned 7 days a week and so I am disappointed to hear that you were unable to get in touch. We have recently had some technical problems with our phone lines – and can only apologise if this was the situation you encountered. I am pleased that you enjoyed the other parts of your visit, and thanks again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cocktail masterclass"
in 262 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 178 reviews
"cocktail making"
in 76 reviews
"gin and tonic"
in 103 reviews
"bombay sapphire"
in 313 reviews
"master class"
in 69 reviews
"designated driver"
in 51 reviews
"double decker bus"
in 34 reviews
"free cocktail"
in 123 reviews
"audio points"
in 26 reviews
"glass house"
in 28 reviews
"bank notes"
in 24 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 50 reviews
"interactive map"
in 21 reviews
"dry room"
in 87 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 22 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 60 reviews
Filter

167 - 171 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I bought this as a birthday present for my husband who enjoys a gin or two! We thoroughly enjoyed the experience - our tour guide Louise was brilliant - very informative with humour to make it interesting. The complimentary cocktail was an added bonus and a trip to the shop was a good end to the visit purchasing a very nice bottle of gin. Well worth a visit even if you not into gin.

Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyDBombayS, Manager at Bombay Sapphire Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and your husband enjoyed his birthday gift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We joined a Hosted Tour of the Distillery and had a very interesting, fun and informative time in the very capable hands of our guide Helen. Who knew that gin production was so fascinating! Highly recommend this tour and also the café in the double decker bus for refreshments. Staff were all very friendly and complimentary cocktails delicious! Dress for the weather as you need to go outside for part of the tour.
Had lunch at nearby Watership Down Inn pub which was a wonderful pub serving lovely food.

Thank anita2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The setting is beautiful on the banks of the river Test. We enjoyed our visit, the staff are very friendly and well informed, the buildings are amazing and at the end of the tour you get given some of the lovely gin. Lots of parking on site. We found it easily using google maps but do feel more road signage to the venue from Whitchurch would be helpful, such as a tourist brown sign. Otherwise it was all excellent.

Thank 421rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Did the tour round the distillery. Was the self tour which was well laid out with 6 audio points to give you information. This tour included a guided tour of the stillhouse. At the end a gin cocktail was provided. Whole experience was great. Other guided tours were available. Would highly recommend.

Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Sapphire Distillery also viewed

 
Hambledon, Hampshire
 

Been to Bombay Sapphire Distillery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing