We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Quality”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey Green

The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
The beautiful listed Abbey Green Cottage, loctaed in the heart of the village cobbled square. Abbey Green Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in the village.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
The beautiful listed Abbey Green Cottage, loctaed in the heart of the village cobbled square.
Abbey Green Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in the village.
Fantastic private sheltered sun trap, located in the garden, perfect for enjoying a glass of wine.
Abbey Green's cottage Garden, featuring the 700 year old historic Sweet Heart Abbey wall.
The Beautiful Historic village of New Abbey, featuring Sweet Heart Abbey.
Main Bedroom high spec bed, this bed can be split into two singles if required.
Wet room with power shower
Single Bedroom, furnished with a high quality Austen Nickel Bed.
Sandyhills Beach, just 15 minutes away, miles of golden sand to enjoy.
Sweatheart Abbey, New Abbey
The Abbey Arms, New Abbey, the cottage is located just a few steps away.
The Mill Pond, located 100m from the cottage, fantastic place to sit and watch the ducks
Shambellie walled gardens and walks starts in the square, New Abbey
Award winning, Abbey Tea Room, New Abbey, 1 minutes walk from the cottage.
The road into New Abbey, the cottage is just around the corner, just look at the back drop, beatiful
The walk up and around criffel starts in the square, New Abbey
The Corn Mill, this fantastic historic building is the view from the lounge of Abbey Green cottage.
Waterloo monument, the walk to this starts in the square, New Abbey.
Southerness Golf Championship Links course, designed by MacKenzie Ross, just 5 minutes away.es
Caerlaverock Castle, just a short drive from the cottage, i am sure you will agree it is unique.
Loch Kens Aqua Park
Single bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CarlandCl...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Quality”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Abbey Green Cottage is a real find. Very high spec and is tastefully done with lots of great touches. The signature cake on arrival is brilliant and they even put milk in the fridge.
The quality of the property is fantastic and we nearly didn't rate on. Trip Advisor because we wanted to keep it to ourselves. :0). But we would never deprive the other people of this brilliant cottage in a very nice location.

Lots do locally with great walks and great beaches. There are also lots of attractions in and around, so something for everyone. It's right next door to a pub and the local shop is right across the road. The best place to eat is Steamboat Inn at caresthorn. There is also a lovely little tea shop next to the abbey.

All in all, fantastic and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel and high spec
Liked least: Nothing, it was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine G
Albrighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Have just returned from a lovely week in this beautiful cottage. Everything was perfect. Loved the feel of the cottage as soon as i opened the door. We also enjoyed sitting in the lovely garden. The village of New Abbey is a beautiful village and the local people very welcoming.We did alot of the walks and also visited the surrounding area including a lovely afternoon at the red kite feeding station where we saw about 80 kites swooping down to be fed. Quite a sight !! So much to see , and we saw alot, but also found time to just relax in the lovely cottage in front of the coal fire in the evening. Thanks for a lovely holiday .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowton57
Scarborough england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have stayed in the area many times but never in New Abbey before, then i saw this cottage on trip advisor so we booked. This is by far the best we have experienced, everything is first class, the furnishings, decor , all first class and well thought out by the owners, and they also left a few welcoming gifts. We will definetely be back, not just for the cottage, but the tea room as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
1 review
“Excellent, well-equipped, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in the cottage for three nights with our 1 year old son, we had a lovely time.

The cottage is cosy, and has been renovated to a high standard. It is very well equipped, and comfortable. It has a nice location in the village.

There is a lot to do in the area for young children, we visited various farms, parks and play areas. There is a good playground and walking trails in the nearby Mabie forest.

We ate in the Steamboat pub in the next village (recommended by the information folder in the cottage), it was pretty good.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this cottage, I thought it was good value and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I was in the area.

PS Thanks for the cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn1268
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in Abbey Green for a week during the Easter holidays and were thoroughly spoiled by the weather, which only enhanced a wonderful holiday.
The cottage has everything you could need. The kitchen is well equiped and Suzanne and Allan even had a wonderful homemade cake waiting for us on our arrival!
The cottage was spotless and the bedroom very comfortable.
The garden proved to be a wonderful haven of peace and tranquility.
We visited much in the surrounding area and the cottage was perfectly located for a variety of day trips. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing