We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport, Okay rooms, Service questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to Airport, Okay rooms, Service questionable”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The fact that the hotel has a free shuttle to and from the airport really helps. Its close to one of the local train stations as well. Provides a paid shuttle to the city center (5 euros). Which is nice.
The front staff was good and bad. While providing information was really nice, at the front desk. One of the guys wasnt very friendly in the night while the other was really helpful.
But the biggest shock to me was that the big hotel chain like this didnt provide a room service for the food ordered. In fact I had to carry my food all the way up to my room which was a very big let off to me. And the bartender wasnt very friendly either and sounded little close to rude - arrogant. Not expected from a good named hotel chain.
I would be tempted to come again just due to the proximity and shuttle, but service makes me really sacrry.
The rooms were okay, but were nicely done. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Mr. Abhijit
Thank you for your review and the information you provided. It is very important for us to get these kind of facts from the guests so that we can impove our quality for our guests.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our shuttle services to the airport and to the town of Zurich. About the unsatisfactory service of the night-staff (who was in charge of the reception and the bar) we have already reacted. The person you are talking about has received a written warning and will leave the hotel end of this month. I am really sorry, about that bad experience at our hotel which is not acceptable.
Due to the brand standards of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel we are not allowed to provide a room service, but you may always order at the bar and if the food is ready we will call the guest to collect it.
We again want to appologize for any caused inconveniences and will hope to see you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    602
    355
    121
    89
See reviews for
357
353
144
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

OK hotel just for an overnight stay to catch an early morning flight. Rooms clean but basic. Bathrooms tiny. Restaurant in the lobby area, gives you the feeling of a self-service cafeteria. Food sub-average.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NkLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and the important information you have provided.
It is correct that we are a 3-star Superior hotel with limited service but the guests love our hotel since it provides everything you need and we can offer very good prices for an expensive town like Zurich.
Hope to welcome you soon again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Regards Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Was booked at the hotel for a week. We reported on the first day that the air conditioner was not working and it virtually took the hotel 5 days to have it sorted out. Airport hotel with no windows to open coupled with ac failure was just a nightmare!!!!!

Room Tip: Never take a room in the smoking section as no smoke outlet for all the cigarettes being smoked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Allan
Thank you for your review and for staying at our hotel.
It is correct that we had bigger repair at the aircon system during your stay and for these inconveniences we would like to appologize. This was the first big incident we had and now it has been fixed.
It is correct that we have 8 remaining smoking rooms at the ground level at our hotel. The other 155 rooms are no-smoking rooms - next time you stay please ask for one of these rooms.
Again, we want to appologize for any inconveniences caused and hope to see you soon back again at our hotel.
Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Third time staying at this hotel and all was good. There is a wake-up call but you have to program it in using the room phone. Breakfast was free but the selection look to me as it did over a year ago. I have included picture on the airport pick-up point and a picture of the Shuttle Bus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Mr. Georgia
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the very positive revue. We hope to welcome you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Espress Zurich Airport.
Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Free shuttle to and from the Zurich Flughafen - perfect.
Free room upgrade to the executive floor - nice.

Room was above average for the price paid and was pretty okay. The bad was slightly tough, so it depends if this is what you prefer. I normally like Marriott's beds that are super soft, but this is not a deal breaker or whathaveyou. Toilet was also clean with all the basic amenities. Room service was available and the food was not bad. The room was actually spacious and could accommodate three (or even four!) with the daybed.

Breakfast was pretty standard and i had no issues with it. Breakfast area was spacious enough and they actually tailored the hours that breakfast was served to the flights in the nearby airport - quite efficient. WiFi was good but i can't remember if i had to pay extra for it.

Staff was helpful and provided me with a universal adapter for my tablet and phone chargers. Was a bit surprised, too, to see a Filipino-looking front desk manager speak awesome Swiss German.

Overall, it was a good stay for an overnight stopover before taking a 13-hour flight.

Room Tip: Check if they can provide a free room upgrade. I did not expect that they would give me one, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animo2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pascal B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your positive review. We would be pleased to welcome you back at our hotel.
In fact I am am a half filipino that grew up in Switzerland :-)

Kind regards

Jean Pascal Bernet, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
2.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
2.7 km away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
3.4 km away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
620 reviews
3.0 km away
NH Zurich Airport
NH Zurich Airport
#6 of 10 in Opfikon
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,105 - ₹ 22,841
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing