We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing winter holiday in a picture perfect...”
other traveller has booked this property
Marmotte Mountain Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marmotte Mountain Retreat
Relax in the Outdoor Wood Fired Sauna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Marmotte Mountain Retreat
Relax in the Outdoor Wood Fired Sauna
Wood Fired Sauna
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Jacuzzi
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Living Room
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Master Bedroom, offering a peaceful sleep.
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Master Bedroom, tranquil forest setting.
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Dining Room offering self-catered or catered services
Marmotte Mountain Retreat 2nd Bedroom with en-suite
Marmotte Mountain Retreat 3rd Bedroom Twin beds
Marmotte Mountain Retreat 4th Bedroom Twin beds
Professional experienced chefs catering equisite cuisine at Marmotte Mountain Retreat
Only the finest dining at Marmotte Mountain Retreat with fully catered option
Superb professional chefs catering for your memorable ski holiday
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Fireplace
Marmotte Mountain Retreat Record Player
Beautiful secluded entry to Marmotte Mountain Retreat
Marmotte Mountain Retreat entrance path by night
Marmotte Mountain Retreat secluded front garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argentiere, Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
annawestl...
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“Amazing winter holiday in a picture perfect setting!”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It is the second time we book a winter holiday with Jon and we will definitely return again next year. This is the perfect place. The chalet feels totally secluded, surrounded by forest and with two streams running past it, but is only a couple of minutes walk from the quaint village of Argentiere. It is really family-friendly with a separate TV room (for the kids), a wood-fired sauna, and a hot tub, but at the same time as having all the amenities (fast wifi as well) it has the feeling of a genuine old-style ski chalet, with lots of wooden details and a big open fire in the living room. We had the best team helping us making this into a memorable experience, from Jon attending to all our needs before the trip to our amazing ski instructor and a fantastic chef and host who were extremely helpful and service-minded.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie...
Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My second stay with 'Marmotte mountain' - different chalet, same incredible experience!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Last time I stayed with Marmotte mountain in the Libelulle chalet with friends, we had a fantastic time and I vowed I would be back! This time I visited with my partner and we stayed in the 'retreat' chalet. The service was the same as I remembered (exceptional!) - the owner Jon simply couldn't have done any more for us and we were treat like family. We were lucky that even though it was the beginning of April when we arrived to the chalet it was snowing and it truly felt like a winter wonderland! The heating was on, the hot tub was ready and there was plenty of wood for the fire - what more could you want!? :) The chalet is in a perfect location, a hidden gem in the woods with easy walking distance to bars and restaurants (And my personal favourite - the cremerie). There's a small stream passing by and on our second day we were lucky to watch a chamois grazing outside (a type of deer) from the bathroom window, it really does feel very close to nature out there. We had a fantastic time, would recommend it to anyone, such a beautiful chalet and a superbly run company - Thank you so much to Jon and the Marmotte team, I'm sure we'll be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: N/A - couldn't have been better :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoodlesNi...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Living the dream for the forth time!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We returned to stay at Chamonix as we have stayed here 4 times in the past and all occasions we have stayed in four different chalets with Marmotte Mountain chalets.Each time has been a different experience but all equally the most amazing stays.I guess this is why we have returned 4 times.
Once again the cleanliness and level of quality is amazing through out the property.
We are a family of four and had the most relaxing time in the chalet.After a hard days skiing we enjoyed all the wonders of chalet sitting in the hot tub taking in all the most amazing view s and the serenity of the forest.
Our Chef and host were very friendly going above and beyond for our family.The kids were treated like king and queens as were we.The food was amazing , perhaps some of the best dining we have ever experienced and wines complimented the fine food.The manager Jon was outstanding in providing us with some local advice with restaurants ( lunch options as we had dinners in the chalet) and attractions in the area that just added to the experience.It is a short drive to Chamonix village of about 10 mins and Argenteire is less than 5 mins.
We had a great time skiing/ snowboarding the amazing slopes and the kids enjoyed the ski school as well..
I cant speak highly enough about this group and their chalets.
I guess if you have traveled all the way from Australia 4 times in 5 years it says a lot about our experiences.Lets hope there is lots more trips in the future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing with the amazing food and matching wine!
Liked least: Nothing loved it all!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class ski holiday, dining and service!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We received a very warm welcome at this beautiful traditional (slightly rustic) chalet just at the back of the Argentiere village. A small trek up into the woods was well worth while to arrive at this secluded chalet set in stunning grounds.
The entire stay was great and the staff excelled in service with a big focus on fine dining, proving our chefs competence with every course. The whole team were very knowledgable about the local area as well as the skiing terrain and went out of their way to organise everything for us.
Our group was a mix of levels from beginners through to hard core off piesters and we used the instructors and guides supplied by marmotte mountain. We couldn't have hoped for a better service here either, with everyone showing great progress with their skiing. Of course the superb conditions
also aided this.
Overall an unforgettable experience. We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacha1617
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Marmotte Mountain Retreat is the BEST kind of retreat you could wish for.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If only you could live like this forever. You wake up to a table laden with breakfast goodies, then you're transported to anywhere in the valley for a morning of mountain fun, board or ski down to your reserved table in the best savoyard restaurants, more fun in the snow and then back to the chalet for afternoon tea (a cake straight from the oven waiting on the table), the jacuzzi and wood-fired sauna with incredible view (an arm's length from an ample and varied supply of beverages) and then aperitifs by the fireplace before sitting down to an exquisite 3-course meal prepared by your own private chef. And whether you feel like climbing or boarding down the Aiguille du Midi, going to Italy to eat suckling pig at the base of the Mont Blanc, or you'd like your kids to learn to ski from the best instructors in France; you need only ask and it shall be done. I want to live here:)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The entire experience.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing