We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rippon Mount Resorts
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kalpetta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great on Location”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I went to Rippon Mount last year. The resort is located in best possible surrounding. Approach to the resort is little narrow but the scenic view was just amazing. Maintenance could be definitely be better. Staff their were courteous but service was very slow. After ordering food, you need to wait for an hour and half to get it ready.
There is a small waterfall nearby (within 3 Kms).
Also there is a small stream inside the property for which you have to walk down around 500 mtrs.

You need to be a good driver to explore these places as roads and not very easy to glide on.
No activities for kids to keep them engage. Tree house needs to be cleaned and sanitized properly as we could see some insects in the room.

Room Tip: Tree house is special, but there is only one. If you are lucky, you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikrant v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    48
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
69
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived on 29th December to be told that we weren't expected until the next day, despite us having written confirmation of our dates. When traveling with 3 children (age 8,6,1) this is not a good start. They found a room for us where there was literally no floor space once they'd crammed an extra bed in for the kids. Then they moved us to another room which was adjoining another even though we had booked and paid for a standalone bungalow. The walls were paper thin and our neighbours watched tv on full volume until the early hours so we had zero sleep. The rooms were stained and filthy and hadn't been maintained in years. The restaurant had a huge menu but in reality almost none of the dishes were available. We were told that it would take 1-1.5 hours to prepare all but the most basic food. We needed up eating scrambled eggs for both dinner and breakfast as there's no way you can wait with three children for that long. None of the staff warned us about this even though it was obvious we needed to feed a family. The place is in the middle of nowhere so there are no other options. There is nothing to do in the resort itself and the staff had no recommendations on where to go or what to visit in the area. Literally none - they couldn't tell us a single place we should try to see. They couldn't answer any questions about where to visit coffee plantations (even though rippon is a coffee estate) or nature reserves. They treated our driver like dirt and didn't offer him access to washrooms.

We stayed for one night having paid for three. They refunded us 25% after we complained to their faceless administrator who claimed we had lost them money by trying to leave early. . Even though they had got our dates wrong, put us in rooms we hadn't booked and frankly deceived us completely at the time of booking. There were no apologies - just a claim that they have hundreds of satisfied international guests - this cannot possibly be true. We are not fussy people, we don't expect luxury of any kind but we do expect to get the room we paid for on the dates we paid for it + a decent meal and some vague sense that the hosts can tell you something about what to see in the area.

A truly appalling hotel in a beautiful part of the world.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Zelony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I had stayed in the Rippon Mount resorts when we went for a team outing from bangalore.Its a good place with breathtaking view of valley from very next to your room .Rooms are neat and well maintained .There are pretty other good resorts all over wayanad than this one but u need to shell out a nice amount to stay there.Its affordable compared to other resorts and i felt this resort is a value for money.The only issue we faced was the road it was in a little bad condition when we visited but hope now its better.Recenty my friend was able to make it there without any issues with his car.They have a swimming pool which is fair enough and food was also good the manager is a nice person and helpfull ,they even have a private waterfall if your paln your visit right after the rainy season like june or july you will able to enjoy the maximum there.Dont miss to visit the sunrise valley which is near by :) its worth the visit in the early morning.

Stayed June 2016
Helpful?
Thank murali k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2016

the major challenge is the road drive from city to resort, first you should be able to locate the right entrance road and if you found that then second challenge is to drive that major road stretch of few kms and pray that your car does not breaks down and you reach hotel safely!!!

If you manage this major challenge to reach the resort then the bliss will commence for you in real way as the road journey will shake you up and take some time for you to settle down ....

Resort has excellent location with ten cottages along with their own 'suicide' point and private water falls in resort itself and plenty of valley and plantation views to make your stay very pleasant and memoirs....

both the front office and restaurant staff are very helpful and their customer service is par excellence

Food was very delicious and chef prepared the food according to our taste buds and their breakfast also is very good and good variety .

A special mention for the restaurant staff person name Shabbir who served and his service was very good, hope we remember his name correctly? and also for Dilkar ( hope right spelling) at front office to help you to make your stay very comfy.

So enjoy the road challenge with blissful and serene stay at resort !!!!!


.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mansi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed with friends, two cabins with two people in each. Needed to ask for hot water to be switched on and wait 20mins for it to heat, then it ran out very quickly. Beds very very hard. The worst nights sleep any of us had had in our 28 nights in India. Food takes ages (well over an hour from time of ordering) to prepare and although an extensive menu, only a few items were available. No facility for paying by card, this caused us some hassles. Wifi only in reception area.
Beautiful setting but very poor road to reach hotel.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
26.4 km away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 23 in Kalpetta
847 reviews
25.7 km away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#6 of 23 in Kalpetta
846 reviews
0.0 km away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 23 in Kalpetta
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Vistara Resort
Vistara Resort
#3 of 5 in Ambalavayal
71 reviews
24.0 km away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 23 in Kalpetta
168 reviews
9.8 km away
The Wave Wayanad
The Wave Wayanad
#2 of 5 in Ambalavayal
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippon Mount Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippon Mount Resorts

Property: Rippon Mount Resorts
Address: Valathur, Rippon P.O., Kalpetta 670732, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,137 - ₹ 11,558
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with nature. "Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." Here's Rippon Mount, nestled in a widespread canvas of nature in all its sublime details and splendid beauties. Well above a height of 2500 ft., here you will fall in love with the pristine nature. And words cannot describe the mesmeric wide view of the Soochipara waterfalls from Rippon. Explore this wild world here in Wayanad, one of the must-see destinations in god's own country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rippon Mount Resorts Kalpetta, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing