We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 weeks of magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayurveda Yoga Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayurveda Yoga Villa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kalpetta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 weeks of magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Place from fairy tale. Every day I couldn't believe that it happens with me. Team of Ayurvedayogavilla have made everything for my happiness there. 1,5-3 hours per day massage with 4 hands, shower with special herbs, oil applications, amazing food, correct youga moning and evening  and tantric fire ceremonies at the beginning and at the end of a day. I envy myself because of luck to be there.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    41
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
41
237
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I was searching for a 3 days yoga training in the french Alps and I ended it up in Kerala for 2 weeks!
I organized my trip in 10 days and I didn't really know where I was heading to!
From the first minute I knew I was at the right place.
All the team is here for you. It's a quiet place with serious body and health treatment. I insist on serious because I have been to a lot of thermal places 5 stars or less and what I noticed at Ayurveda Yoga Villa is that the focus is on real medical Ayurveda treatment with doctors that sees you every day. Yoga courses twice a day, ayurveda cooking, medecine and body tratment. In 2 weeks time my insomnia and my arthrisis were cured. It's now more than a month that I came back and the improvement are still going on.
I follow what they told me to and trully my life is much better and much more confortable. My aim, is to go there every year. Hope I'll be able to do it!

Room Tip: the one near the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serraggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I spent a month at AYV in June, choosing the monsoon package which includes 3 hours of treatment instead of the usual 1 hour. I knew I wanted to do the panchakarma detox before I arrived and had been considering going to a yoga ashram in Kerala that I had been to a couple of times before. However, I opted for AYV as I wanted a more personal experience, rather than being one in a crowd of a hundred and AYV did not disappoint. Monsoon period is typically quieter than the rest of the year, although there were a couple of weeks in June where there were at least 20 people there. The atmosphere when quiet is very different to when there are a number of people residing, so if it is important for you to have some solitude, you might want to consider the hill top location as an alternative which is much more secluded and is ideal for meditation. It’s about 25 km from the main villa but I was lucky enough to be able to visit it along with the owner Ajith who kindly took me there. Being monsoon season meant it was much cooler than other times of the year which was very nice, however, the mosquitoes were out in force so bring plenty of repellent.

I went with a pinched nerve in my neck, and was in desperate need of some de-stressing. After a month in the AYV, I was much more relaxed, with fewer aches and pains. The doctors were great and would take the time to listen to any concerns and to explain any treatments that they prescribed. The treatment girls are fantastic – very professional and kind and always looking out to ensure you get the best possible treatment to suit your needs. The staff at AYV will do their utmost to address any issues you may have and will adapt rooms/meals/treatments to suit your preferences. I particularly enjoyed the daily poojas and the twice weekly bajan (chanting) sessions which became more and more meaningful as the month progressed.

Do your research about panchakarma before you go as it can be tough at times, especially the first week when you are not allowed to do any activities and drink ghee and eat nothing but rice water soup! The week drags, I warn you – take plenty of books to read!

Organisation and communication could at times be improved but I found that the longer I was at the villa, the less this bothered me and by the time my month was over, I was feeling very sad at the thought of having to leave. Will def plan to come back again, and would again choose the monsoon period.

Room Tip: Number 10/saraswati room is a river front cottage and is very peaceful as it is at the end of a row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank KAWJuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Let's say that I know a bit about Ayurveda & have gone to quite a few retreats. If you are wondering whether this could be the right place for you in terms of; authenticity, knowledge of the staff, kindness of the staff, understanding of the staff, organization as a whole, the food, the treatments, the location – and most importantly the care & love of every single of them – then don’t look any further – Ayurveda Yoga Villa is the place for you. When I left I completely unexpectedly cried for about 2 hours, because they all touched my heart so much. All of it was real, you can’t do more real than that and you want a real Ayurveda experience to let go of the past and embrace the future by being in the present. I am planning to return next year. Try it and see for yourself! If you are committed it is guaranteed to change your life for the better! It has mine :-) :-) :-) :-):-):-):-):-) Sonia

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SoniaDevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I did 21 days of Panchakarma and 10 days of Rejuvenation at Ayurveda Yoga Villa in February to March 2012. I found it to be an incredible experience, it felt as if the process removed a huge amount of long-held-onto emotional and physical toxins from deep inside of me. I felt quite a strong personal transformation, and learnt a lot about myself, yoga, and meditation.
The staff are all incredibly caring and heartfelt, particularly the yoga teacher Shakti, and Dr Suhas. Such a nurturing and loving environment is a rarity. There is a lot of personal attention, and spiritual and lifestyle guidance.
The countryside location is very peaceful, and you can walk and meditate beside the river. 
I would recommend that if you are doing the Panchakarma, to try and fit in some time to do the Rejuvenation phase afterwards, as that was when I personally felt a huge amount of happiness, lightness and positivity.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tigertiger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
24.1 km away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
23.1 km away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
12.3 km away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
24.0 km away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#5 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
29.6 km away
Coffea Aroma Resort - Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayurveda Yoga Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayurveda Yoga Villa

Property: Ayurveda Yoga Villa
Address: Bavali PO Ayurveda Yoga Villa Kartikulam | Kuruva Island, Kalpetta 673121, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,809 - ₹ 21,246
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayurveda yoga holistic research centre for Detoxification and rejuvenation programme designed to get optimum result by treating body,mind prana.The process primarily seeks to restore the vital strength of the body by eliminating the accumulated toxins and making the tissues pure.Our practices and exercises in the lessons at Yoga Spirit are developed by including self-acupressure, meditative or breathing exercises in order of the different sections of the lesson enables you to relax and purify your body through Ayurveda as well and we practise daily Asana, Pranayama and including Dharma and chanting in 90 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayurveda Yoga Villa Hotel Kalpetta
Ayurveda Yoga Villa Kalpetta, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing