We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, nice room”
Review of The Ragged Cot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ragged Cot Inn
Twickenham, London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice room”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights in April. Ate in the restaurant both nights, food was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful, though a bit rushed off their feet in the early evening - they could have done with another staff member on duty. The room we were first allocated smelled of blocked drains - it was coming up from the shower drain. However, when we complained, we were moved to another room which had no problem (it had a bath - perhaps the u-bend stopped the smell coming up). So in the end all was well, though they do need to check out the plumbing, as I'm not sure what would have happened if the place had been fully booked and they didn't have a spare room available to move us to, there was no way we could have stayed in the first room.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cdd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    92
    50
    22
    15
See reviews for
48
147
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Welcome was great, everthing else just got better, Michelin star standard food at reasonable prices, boutique bedroom and bathroom, friendy staff, management/owners and a wonderful atmosphere, tempted not to send review as I would like to keep this gem a secret.

Room Tip: I have now stayed twice, different rooms, both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a great pub with rooms and is exceptionally dog friendly right down to the "borrow me" dog baskets, good walks on the door, great food, good cask beer and friendly owners and staff. (I'm being mean docking one star for location as its on a fairly busy B road but there are public foot paths 150 yards in each direction that take you the half mile to 'the common').

The food and wine list are exemplary and the staff couldn't be friendlier....as for the price its excellent especially if you go mid week (I'm guessing the people who say this place is overpriced must be used to paying Youth Hostel rates!). Our pup was supremely well treated right down to lamb bone he got on our second night stay. He slept blissfully under the table, dreaming of all his long walks, whilst we ate a great dinner.

So good we've booked again....see you in a few weeks folks!

Room Tip: They're all pretty nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night at the Ragged Cot. The room stank of blocked drain, the toilet roll holder was coming off the wall and one of the bedside lamp had no bulb. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the staff helpful. On the whole, I still think that it is overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinemUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had an excellent time over New Year in the Ragged Cot. The place is a kind of gastro pub with dining area and bar with tables. Then there are the bedrooms at the back which are quiet. The room we stayed in was cosy and warm with twin beds. The linen was fresh and clean, the pillows soft and the beds very comfy.The bathroom had a great shower and was tiled and clean and there was free White Company soaps etc all very lovely. The food was delicious, excellent evening dinner with lots of meat choices, great fabulous breakfasts with heaps of smoked salmon and eggs. We celebrated with bottles of Cava which they sell by the glass. I would definately recommend the Ragged Cot if you want very good food and comfy bedrooms. The Ragged Cot is not in the actual village of Minchinhampton but is situated on a busy road about 15 minutes walk away. This might not suit everyone. The pub is completely dog friendly and they give the dogs baskets to lie in next to the table whilst the owners are dining. Amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
9.6 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
3.6 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.2 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
11.5 km away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
165 reviews
11.0 km away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ragged Cot Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Property: The Ragged Cot Inn
Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Minchinhampton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,295 - ₹ 16,209
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 AA GOLD STAR 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN ,OFFERING 9 EN SUITE CONTEMPORARY BEDROOMS , RESTAURANT OPEN 7 DAYS ,LARGE CAR PARK AND PRIVATE GARDENS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing