We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Convent Hotel(Woodchester)
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
173
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful houseafternoon teahome made cakesperfect stayb and bhome from homeprivate bathroomrelaxing breakbig selectionthe blue rooman evening mealfull englishhighest qualitybreakfast was deliciousperfect hostsshort breakoriginal features
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Bought as a gift by our daughter & would highly recommend, beautiful house with all original features, large & beautiful bedrooms & the owners couldn’t have been friendlier, and a full English breakfast to die for. Well worth a stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawnsmgbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you very much. We have have tried hard not to change any of the original features in Woodchester Lodge, so the House is as it always was and as the architect designed.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast; it is always good when someone else does the cooking, I think! We hope you returned home feeling relaxed after your break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Thankyou to Anne and Nigel for the most perfect short getaway. We loved your beautiful period home and attention to detail. We cannot fault you as hosts. Delicious lamb meal and your chocolate trifle was 'to die for'. Loved how you offered us tea (which came with cake :-D ) as soon as we got back from an unintentionally very long walk at Woodchester park. Very kind.

Room Tip: I'm sure you couldn't go wrong
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MBHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay; tea and cakes is a bit of an institution at Woodchester Lodge, as well as full afternoon teas and deluxe birthday teas. Long may the tradition last.
Pleased you were impressed with the lamb and triffle and that you sampled the beauties of Woodchester Park; we certainly have some lovely countryside for walking near our village.
We hope you returned feeling refreshed and relaxed after your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Just returned from here from staying in the Blue Room for a couple of nights. What a lovely quiet place to stay in, warmly greeted by Anne and Nigel. Everywhere was so spotlessly clean and very very well presented. Breakfast was great with fresh breads, juice, cereals and a number of cooked breakfasts available at an extra cost. Rooms were very comfortable, with all tea and coffee making facilities, bath robes, basically everything you need to make your stay outstanding. Thank you so much Anne and Nigel you made our stay in the Cotswolds perfect. We shall definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank matthew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. We do appreciate your effort on our behalf.
We are glad you liked the blue room/bathroom. We had the tiles made in Ironbridge in the Victorian tile factory there, so they look authentic and were made in the same way the Victorians made them with pooled colouring and crazed glazing.
We hope you returned feeling rested and will be able to visit again next year some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This place is amazing. The owners have covered every possible detail. It is spotlessly clean and in keeping with the Victorian era. We had a delicious Victorian afternoon tea served by Anne dressed as a Victorian housemaid. It's is a beautiful location and is very peaceful. We would certainly go again.

Room Tip: The green room. Lovely views and an en-suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JBrook2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your tea here; everything is always fresh and homemade and the menu changes regularly.
We have tried hard to maintain all the original Victorian features in the house and apart from redecoration, do not wish to change any aspect.
We hope you may be able to visit again some time in the future; you will be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We were immediately given a pot of tea with freshly baked short bread and rock cakes (still warm).
Our room and the house in general were immaculate. Anne & Nigel really think of absolutely everything in order to make your stay special.
We had an evening meal and breakfast. The food was truly exceptional and was all served with a real touch of class. The choice at breakfast was phenomenal.
Thank you both, we wish it had been longer. Look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for writing a review of Woodchester Lodge. It was very kind of you.
We are so pleased you liked our B&B, the house and the food. We try our best to keep everything soick and span. We hope you will be able to return at some stage and see a little more of all our area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews