We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife & I stayed at Excellence PM the week of 4/07-4/14/2012 for our 25th anniversary. We opted for the Excellence Club 2-story roof-top terrace suite with ocean view. What can you say about this place other than, "wow"? The staff were friendly & responsive, the rooms were beautiful, clean & comfortable and the food was excellent. Any request we made was handled promptly & with a smile. The upgrade to Excellence Club level was worth it to us. The rooms face the ocean, the private pools & beach area have upgraded lounge amenities, private bars, exclusive concirege services and wait staff. The rooms feature Bulgari bath products (awesome) and top shelf beverages. (Special requests are accepted with no extra charge.) You also have an exclusive executive lounge area with computer access, staffed bar, hot & cold food service and room concierge services. (I would choose Excellence club level again.) Security was very good and we never felt uneasy about our safety. I've heard raves about the other Excellence resorts as well. We are making plans for Oyster Bay, Jamaica when it opens. If you're considering an all-inclusive, this is the one to try. You will not be disappointed. Go, enjoy...

Room Tip: Excellence Club 2-Story Rooftop Terrace suites are the best resort experience. Ocean view, privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (12,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,327 - 9,331 of 12,108 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I've just returned from a 5 day stay at the Excellence and I have to say it was marvelous! This was my 3rd stay there and I'm already planning my next trip. Let me say this; the grounds are fabulous and the rooms spectacular (my sister and I had an ocean view) the Excellence Club and upgrades were over the top BUT it is the people, those wonderful folks with the accommodating smiles and caring attitudes that make the Excellence a place where you want to return over and over again. In an attempt to find the secret of the resorts success I questioned some employees about their treatment and they said that the Excellence takes good care of them, providing transportation, laundry and meals. Well, that made perfect sense b/c this type of sincerity can't be a pretense. Thanks Andrea, Antonia, Jose, and the spicy hostess at the morning Buffet with the 21 year old boyfriend! :-) For a girl whose vacations can make or break her year, you did it again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, but if you can pull off an upgrade, DO IT! The ocean view made me feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chat-towngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I have just spent 4 days at Excellence Playa Mujeres. We arrived around 6:00am in the morning after about 24hrs of flying and the moment we walked through the door the whole experience was outstanding. We had a junior suite with a spa bath in the corner, and our own balcony overlooking one of the pools. The service from all staff was exceptional. The biggest decision we had each day was where to eat our breakfast, lunch and dinner. All restaurants were fantastic and the food was incredible. We had a very enjoyable dinner at Chez Isabelle (French Restaurant) and was lucky enough to be waited on by Christen who was outstanding. We also enjoyed the poolside service with many cocktails had. Each night they had something to entertain us with from a cocktail evening to a casino night and even a Madonna impersonator.

All the activities on offer were great. In particular Edwin was outstanding with beach volleyball and bike riding. We also enjoyed sailing.

The hotel assisted us with our tour to Chichen Itza, which picked us up from the hotel and then dropped us back.

We would love to return someday and would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank enjoylife4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My Husband & I stayed at this hotel 14th/24th March 2012 as Execellence Club members, in an Ocean Front Junior Suite. The service and attention to detail is exceptional from the moment you arrive to the very sad moment that you have to check out!
The rooms are spotless and well appointed, as Club members we were totally spoilt from the premium drinks in the room to the daily arrival of petit fours it was well worth the upgrade.
The Excellence pool area was well maintained and Daniella kept us refreshed.
There are 9 restaurants: Barcelona, twice as the food was so good, especially the paella.
Toscana, The Grill, The Lobster House (maybe larger portions),
Spice, as good as any sushi we've had from our Japanes restaurant.
Chez Isabelle, lovely wine & ambiance.
We didn't have the chance to try the Flavour Market, Basmati or Agave but no doubt the food would have been of good quality. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, with everything you could wish for and more in plentiful supply.The food was always well presented and the staff attentive.
The drinks at the bars were premium brands and great service.
An extra special thank you to Saul @ Spice restaurant, Louis @ Lobster House, Daniel @ Toscana, Daniella @ Excellence Club Pool, Nancy @ Toscana Breakfast...please try her omelettes.
The theatre shows were varied and there was a full daytime activities programme.
It is the attention to detail and little things which make this hotel stand out from the other 5* hotels we've stayed at ie: the daily information sheet, the club concierge, even the daily weather cards left on the bed at turn down service.
The beds are very comfortable, although a little high :-)
We did not try the Spa, it's a bit pricey compared to other Spa's we have been to.
We were very sad to leave and will be returning asap and after viewing the Imperial Suites wih Efron we will be upgrading to 1 of them.

The following is relating to the diabolical treatment from Thomson and their lies! We booked Premier Flight Seating both ways, we were informed outbound that there would be 1 bar service! It's a 10 hour 30 minutes flight!! The flight attendants never collected the rubbish and sat at the front of the plane reading the Hello magazines with the curtain pulled across, we felt as though we'd spoilt their day by asking for another drink. Inbound was just as bad and the excuse was that people wanted to sleep, except we were all on Mexican time NOT the UK.
My husband & I were assured at the time of booking that we would be sat together which was not the case on the return flight as seats together were not avaliable as priority was given to families or parties of 4 or more.
The BIG LIE was our trip to Chitchen Itza when we sat in the lobby area from 7am as arranged and were not collected. We booked the excursion to concide with the equinox. My Husband rang Thomson 24 hour line and was informed that the excursion had been cancelled due to health & safety issues due the high volume of people expected at the equinox....the reason for booking!He was informed that we would be collected the following day....which was when the Thomson representative on our arrival at Chitchen Itza said "It's better than yesterday, it was packed" I later discovered that the excursion had been over booked, Thomson representative was very red faced when I told him that we had been left in the lobby area for nearly an hour.
LIES, LIES, LIES.
Virgin Atlantic are flying directly to Mexico from July 2012 and after flying both 1st class & Premium with them I know the outstanding customer service from this airline.

Room Tip: Excellence Club Ocean Front Junior Suite, Rooftop Terrace or Imperial Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Annette10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were staying at the Excellence resort and one morning we stopped in the clubhouse while we were out for a run and set up a tee time for 12:30 (twilight) and arranged for transportation through the course. We went to the front entrance of our resort at the agreed upon time and waited until about 20 mins later. We were trying to take into account that everything moves a little slower down there, but we also didn’t want to go much further past our tee time, so we asked the guys at the front door what was going on. They got in touch with the Golf Course and they assured us they were on our way. Sure enough, they arrived about 5 mins later to pick us up… in a golf cart! It made for a fun adventure. The golf course is beautiful and they were fine with allowing me to just “ride along” for just $35, compared to the $125 greens fee.

Two times throughout our game, some men came out of the bushes and tried to sell us golf balls. They didn't push at all when we declined, but it was still a little unsettling the first time someone came out of the bushes and came towards us.

We brought some beer from our resort, but since we weren't really sure if you were allowed to do that, we also purchased some beer from the clubhouse. There are trashcans at every hole for cans and there is a cooler on the cart that they will fill up with ice if you ask them to when you buy beer. I can't imagine they would have cared if they knew we had brought some of our own.

Thank malorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.2 km away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,437 reviews
0.2 km away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,683 reviews
14.1 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
15.8 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.5 km away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: ₹ 25,691 - ₹ 51,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing