We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,712)
Filter reviews
4,712 results
Traveller rating
2,700
1,215
438
205
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,700
1,215
438
205
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbite barone bedroom suitevilla groupcar ferrytime sharefast ferryzama restaurantall inclusive packagemurphy bedall inclusive planfull kitchenferry to isla mujereswasher dryerper devicetimeshare presentationsushihammock on the balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 4,712 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This is a lovely resort property out of the downtown area. It's family friendly. The restaurants offer imaginative menus with specialized cocktails. There are plenty of pools and Jacuzzis. The best part is the service -- everyone from check-in through wait staff through entertainers were wonderful.

The dance band was wonderful as were the strolling Cuban musicians who played for guests around the pool and in restaurants.

We had spectacular service from all of the staff -- can't remember everyone, but I can remember Jorge who taught a dance lesson; Danielle, the concierge who helped with our room arrangements; and Carlos, night manager who helped with some business needs at 2 am and 4 am!

It's a family friendly resort which has pros and cons. You don't find rowdy crowds of young singles -- which is nice. And there are pools and Jacuzzis designated for kids' use. There were only a handful of infractions. And the kids (at least when we were there) were well-behaved.

We chose the all-inclusive option. If you do, make sure you understand exactly what is included -- for example most mixed drinks (cocktails) are, but only a glass of the "house" wine is included.

If you go, keep in mind this is to a large extent a time-share property. Many folks come there on a very cheap rate for the all inclusive experience with the commitment they will take a tour of the property and listen to a sales presentation. Personally, I think if they don't have some intention of buying they shouldn't take advantage of the offer. So you will see little groups of people trudging up and down on the sales tour from morning to night. Also, they will offer you "free" stuff if you will listen to the sales pitch. Again, if you have some interest in buying a time-share then it might be worth your while.

If you happen to have business needs while you are on vacation don't expect the type of understanding or accommodation you would normally get at a hotel -- this is a vacation resort. The "hospitality suite" does have a couple of computers and a printer, but also has a pool table and showers so there is no privacy or the typical business-oriented amenities. Again--it's a resort. So what do you expect?

We spent 4 nights/5 days in January 2107 and booked the trip through Costco Travel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for an ocean view room with a balcony and hammock! It's lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alice I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest Ms Alice I.,


Thank you for the excellent review and most gracious praise of our facilities and how much you enjoyed being here. Your kind recognition of the spectacular service you received from so many of our colleagues is greatly appreciated. Your generous praise will be shared.

We are honored to have served you so well and thank you for so generously recognizing activities that added to the enjoyment of your vacation with us.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again. We remain 100 percent committed to excellence and appreciate the praise and if need be, any opportunity to train or improve.

Kind regards,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Smooth, quick check-in. We arrived early and our 1 bedroom suite was ready. Room was spacious, modern and clean....We especially enjoyed the hammock on the balcony! We did the all-inclusive and felt it was well worth it. The restaurants were all fantastic, especially the steak restaurant. Make sure to get the guacamole made table side at Zama! The waiters on the beach were so attentive - we never had to wait for a drink. We ordered room service for breakfast every morning and couldn't believe how fast it arrived - usually within 15-20 mins. EVERY staff member at the resort were extremely friendly and happy....made us feel welcome at all times.
One day it was raining off and on...they had placed umbrellas by the elevator to use....small detail, but greatly appreciated.
Highly recommended.....we can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hagaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest Hagaphus,

Warm Greetings from Cancun! We appreciate you choosing us as your vacation destination and are delighted with your excellent review.

It will be my honor to share with our dedicated colleagues that contributed to the excellence of your stay; your generous praise of their service. Your kind words and gracious praise are rejuvenating.

Thank you for so graciously sharing your enjoyment of our beach, pools, and your room.

We look forward to having you return to "su casa". It will be our pleasure to welcome you back and serve you again.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Upon arriving the place was beautiful! but we already knew the timeshare was about to come so we told them straight up we were not interested. They tried but we were firm and they let us go to our room. When we got to the room there were dirty cups and dishes by our entrance and when we walked to the balcony there were chips tossed everywhere...Not sure if they just cleaned in a hurry but it seemed like it. Our biggest complaint is there is absolutely no entertainment by the pool. No games, no music no nothing! It was so boring. I mean atleast some music. There was a speaker by the pool that some guest where trying to hook their phones up to play music but it was very low. They also said there would be entertainment at night. The two nights we went and sat outside it was 10 pm and the dance show never happened. The only cute thing they had a night was a small farmers market where they sold trinkets. This place is very nice. yes, very relaxing but sometimes you want to do other things since this hotel is very far from anything. Actually it is close to Isla mujueres. but if you want to relax to silence and just nothing. Come here. I do suggest to the hotel to add more things for the guest to do.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank franbu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest Franbu84,

We thank you for your review. What you describe is clearly not a reflection of the paramount value we place on cleanliness and we apologize.

We are committed to delivering excellence from the moment you arrive to your departure. For this reason, we have implemented having a manager stationed in the lobby so that our guests may have easy access should there be any need.

Our hope is to always deliver an excellent vacation for each and every guest.

We have added to our entertainment program, including Salsa lessons and bands that reflect local culture. We also have entertainment on our pool deck. We are disappointed that you missed many of the planned activities and music we have.

While we are not the "hotel zone", many of our guests enjoy both. They travel there and return here for the safety and tranquility they can count on.

Serving you and providing wonderful memories is our passion. It is always disheartening when we fail at this mission; but our resolve to deliver exceptional hospitality remains strong. We thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. It is always an honor.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Our family stayed in a two bedroom suite in Building One. The suite was extremely large with 2 bedroom and 3 bathrooms. (it had 4 beds-could easily sleep at least 8) It had a kitchenette, living and dining room and huge balconies with hammocks on each. Our 4th floor ocean view was perfect. From the moment of our arrival until we departed the service was fantastic. The upkeep and cleanliness of the room and entire resort was amazing. Staff service was excellent. Each staff we encountered was friendly and welcoming and catered to our every request promptly and with a smile. This resort is not in the 'hotel zone' and does not serve as one of the party spots that some hotels do in Cancun. It is quieter and very family friendly. It is further yet you do not feel far removed and there is no need to travel out of resort. If you choose to, its an easy boat ride or drive.There are 5 restaurants and the food was good in each. For specific dietary restrictions they were incredibly accommodating. There is entertainment each night and kids club available for kids to attend everyday for their socialization and parent alone time. All of the pools and Jacuzzis varied in temperature and interest for either kids or adults. Pool service was good. There were beach activities and outside tours readily available through the activities center. Even painting for all by the pool. The spa is very small and not so luxurious but was serene and the massage services were fantastic. Overall an excellent stay! I recommend highly.

Room Tip: third floor and up would be best for ocean view rooms-
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyl2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Ms. Nancy,

We are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed a excellent vacation with us. Your kind recognition of our many activities and amenities is appreciated.

Ms. Nancy, we hope to have you and your family return to soon. It would be rejuvenating to be "su casa" when you vacation in Cancun. It is our greatest pleasure to welcome back familiar faces again and again!

Your highest recommendation to others is an honor and you may rest assured that we are 100 percent committed to having every guest enjoy a vacation that is memorable and excellent in every way.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We spent 6 days/5 nights at this luxury resort in early January 2017. Our room accommodations were wonderful - a one bedroom suite with balcony. Very spacious for the two of us. The property is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The housekeeping staff is excellent and responsive. We had a small problem with our room and between my english and the housekeeper's spanished we managed to communicate and fix the problem. I enjoyed yoga every morning. Our trip was all-inclusive and overall the food was excellent. Breakfast is quite the spread with everything you can imagine. We really enjoyed the steakhouse and mediterranean restaurants. My only complaint about the food was the pepperoni pizza at the restaurant by the pool - order the chicken BBQ.

Unfortunately, our weather wasn't great. Most days was very cloudy. It also rained on two afternoons. Given the property was isolated, there wasn't much to do. We wished we were closer to the resorts area where there's more to do. We ended up drinking in the bar with other guests and watched NFL playoffs. It was fun....but I can do that at home. One rainy afternoon we went to the flea market, which has every imaginable tchotchke. We found a leather store and I purchased a pair of cute sandals.

Alycia gave us the "timeshare tour" and explain the planned development. Later we met with Lois to discuss buying a timeshare....but it just wasn't the right timing for us.

Despite the weather we had a great trip thanks to the attentive staff.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are spacious. Living area has a murphy bed plus sofa. Also a bathroom too.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoMary62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest ChicagoMary62,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations but regret that the weather did not cooperate during your stay. We enjoy being the perfect respite from a hectic busy lifestyle that many of our guest seek.

Many of our guests enjoy afternoons or evenings away to take in some of the local sights or participate in the activities the "hotel zone" has to offer. We are proud of the tranquility and security that we work diligently to preserve. Meanwhile, we continue to try and add to our activities and entertainment in a measure that also preserves the tranquility our guests come here seeking.

We hope to have you return again for the luxury, service and wonderful accommodations that you enjoyed the first time.

It would be an honor to be 'su casa' in Cancun. We also welcome any opportunity to enhance our guests' vacations. We have a manager stationed in the lobby and our colleagues are always delighted to assist our guest in making the perfect vacation.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews