We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,750)
Filter reviews
4,750 results
Traveller rating
2,728
1,220
441
207
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,728
1,220
441
207
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bite bar one bedroom suite villa group car ferry time share fast ferry zama restaurant all inclusive package murphy bed all inclusive plan full kitchen ferry to isla mujeres washer dryer per device timeshare presentation sushi hammock on the balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 4,750 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Upon arriving the place was beautiful! but we already knew the timeshare was about to come so we told them straight up we were not interested. They tried but we were firm and they let us go to our room. When we got to the room there were dirty cups and dishes by our entrance and when we walked to the balcony there were chips tossed everywhere...Not sure if they just cleaned in a hurry but it seemed like it. Our biggest complaint is there is absolutely no entertainment by the pool. No games, no music no nothing! It was so boring. I mean atleast some music. There was a speaker by the pool that some guest where trying to hook their phones up to play music but it was very low. They also said there would be entertainment at night. The two nights we went and sat outside it was 10 pm and the dance show never happened. The only cute thing they had a night was a small farmers market where they sold trinkets. This place is very nice. yes, very relaxing but sometimes you want to do other things since this hotel is very far from anything. Actually it is close to Isla mujueres. but if you want to relax to silence and just nothing. Come here. I do suggest to the hotel to add more things for the guest to do.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank franbu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest Franbu84,

We thank you for your review. What you describe is clearly not a reflection of the paramount value we place on cleanliness and we apologize.

We are committed to delivering excellence from the moment you arrive to your departure. For this reason, we have implemented having a manager stationed in the lobby so that our guests may have easy access should there be any need.

Our hope is to always deliver an excellent vacation for each and every guest.

We have added to our entertainment program, including Salsa lessons and bands that reflect local culture. We also have entertainment on our pool deck. We are disappointed that you missed many of the planned activities and music we have.

While we are not the "hotel zone", many of our guests enjoy both. They travel there and return here for the safety and tranquility they can count on.

Serving you and providing wonderful memories is our passion. It is always disheartening when we fail at this mission; but our resolve to deliver exceptional hospitality remains strong. We thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. It is always an honor.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Our family stayed in a two bedroom suite in Building One. The suite was extremely large with 2 bedroom and 3 bathrooms. (it had 4 beds-could easily sleep at least 8) It had a kitchenette, living and dining room and huge balconies with hammocks on each. Our 4th floor ocean view was perfect. From the moment of our arrival until we departed the service was fantastic. The upkeep and cleanliness of the room and entire resort was amazing. Staff service was excellent. Each staff we encountered was friendly and welcoming and catered to our every request promptly and with a smile. This resort is not in the 'hotel zone' and does not serve as one of the party spots that some hotels do in Cancun. It is quieter and very family friendly. It is further yet you do not feel far removed and there is no need to travel out of resort. If you choose to, its an easy boat ride or drive.There are 5 restaurants and the food was good in each. For specific dietary restrictions they were incredibly accommodating. There is entertainment each night and kids club available for kids to attend everyday for their socialization and parent alone time. All of the pools and Jacuzzis varied in temperature and interest for either kids or adults. Pool service was good. There were beach activities and outside tours readily available through the activities center. Even painting for all by the pool. The spa is very small and not so luxurious but was serene and the massage services were fantastic. Overall an excellent stay! I recommend highly.

Room Tip: third floor and up would be best for ocean view rooms-
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyl2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Ms. Nancy,

We are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed a excellent vacation with us. Your kind recognition of our many activities and amenities is appreciated.

Ms. Nancy, we hope to have you and your family return to soon. It would be rejuvenating to be "su casa" when you vacation in Cancun. It is our greatest pleasure to welcome back familiar faces again and again!

Your highest recommendation to others is an honor and you may rest assured that we are 100 percent committed to having every guest enjoy a vacation that is memorable and excellent in every way.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We spent 6 days/5 nights at this luxury resort in early January 2017. Our room accommodations were wonderful - a one bedroom suite with balcony. Very spacious for the two of us. The property is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The housekeeping staff is excellent and responsive. We had a small problem with our room and between my english and the housekeeper's spanished we managed to communicate and fix the problem. I enjoyed yoga every morning. Our trip was all-inclusive and overall the food was excellent. Breakfast is quite the spread with everything you can imagine. We really enjoyed the steakhouse and mediterranean restaurants. My only complaint about the food was the pepperoni pizza at the restaurant by the pool - order the chicken BBQ.

Unfortunately, our weather wasn't great. Most days was very cloudy. It also rained on two afternoons. Given the property was isolated, there wasn't much to do. We wished we were closer to the resorts area where there's more to do. We ended up drinking in the bar with other guests and watched NFL playoffs. It was fun....but I can do that at home. One rainy afternoon we went to the flea market, which has every imaginable tchotchke. We found a leather store and I purchased a pair of cute sandals.

Alycia gave us the "timeshare tour" and explain the planned development. Later we met with Lois to discuss buying a timeshare....but it just wasn't the right timing for us.

Despite the weather we had a great trip thanks to the attentive staff.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are spacious. Living area has a murphy bed plus sofa. Also a bathroom too.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoMary62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest ChicagoMary62,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations but regret that the weather did not cooperate during your stay. We enjoy being the perfect respite from a hectic busy lifestyle that many of our guest seek.

Many of our guests enjoy afternoons or evenings away to take in some of the local sights or participate in the activities the "hotel zone" has to offer. We are proud of the tranquility and security that we work diligently to preserve. Meanwhile, we continue to try and add to our activities and entertainment in a measure that also preserves the tranquility our guests come here seeking.

We hope to have you return again for the luxury, service and wonderful accommodations that you enjoyed the first time.

It would be an honor to be 'su casa' in Cancun. We also welcome any opportunity to enhance our guests' vacations. We have a manager stationed in the lobby and our colleagues are always delighted to assist our guest in making the perfect vacation.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed the resort. We stayed 4 nights, wish we stayed 7. Great food and service. Good selection of restaurants, had different choice daily for lunch and dinner. Pool area very nice, swim-up bar was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jodruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, Guest Relations Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest jodru,

It is always a pleasure to read that our guests wish they could stay longer! Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your stay with us and for your mark of excellence.

We are delighted that you enjoyed and excellent vacation with us. We hope to see you again soon. It would be an honor to be "su casa" when you vacation in Mexico. Familiar faces are always a joy to welcome back again and again.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela U. Galicia
Communications Manager
Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Since the moment we arrived they have been very deceiving. We had booked an ocean view king bed with all inclusive threw Hotwire. When we arrived they told me we had only booked our room no ocean view nor suite. I've had to pay for every meal on a 12 day stay. It has now become a very expensive vacation that I wasn't expecting. Hotwire was very deceiving on there site as to what was really included and that reflects on hotel. It was especially upsetting when they did nothing to accommodate this huge error. We then were forced and consistently called to our room to take a tour so that they could give us a discount card that they offer all guest. The tour turned into a hard sales tactic for me to pay $67,000 for some sort of time share. The tour was meant to last 60 minutes and after all there salesman tactics they wasted nearly half our day. Once they understood we weren't buy there attitude towards us completely changed. All in all I rate this resort a zero and warn all travelers to stay away. It was a very stressful vacation for my family and I.

4  Thank Carlos Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews