We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
117
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Rowan Cottage is a unique opportunity to stay on a remote part of the island and experience Isle of Skye off the beaten path. Note no pubs or restaurants nearby but Christine provides excellent meals to come home to after a long day of touring. A very enjoyable and comfortable stay and a chance to see unspoiled beauty in a part of Ske you may not have visited otherwise. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LosAngelesAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Forloppin, Owner at Rowan Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you so much for the great review and for your recommendation. Your description of the cottage, its location, facilities and services provided will be extremely helpful to future visitors. For me, it is most rewarding to learn of the enjoyment of guests, especially when you have come so far from a place so different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Christine is a fantastic hostess sharing her knowledge about Skye, Glasnakille and the Cuillins. Hiking from the cottage took us to two hidden coves and Bonnie Prince Charles cave. A 10 min drive back to Elgol and the boats to us to Loch Coruisk. A 45 min drive to Talisker for a wee taste was well worth the time. We would have liked to stayed longer and enjoyed the ever changing, but surprisingly sunny weather. The birds and deer outside the window were a welcome sight. Thank you Christine for gracefully handling our early wake up plinking.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Forloppin, Owner at Rowan Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hi Bryan, A belated thank you for the super review about your experience of staying at Rowan Cottage. It is much appreciated. Thank you also for the photographs which you posted - very useful for future travellers. It was a pleasue to have you visit especially the fun of the unusual wake up call! Best wishes to all, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

My partner, younger daughter, and I spent a lovely three days at Rowan Cottage near the end of August 2017. I cannot say enough good about the area or the people. Christine was wonderful, and really went out of her way. We were able to explore nearby Spar Cave as well. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

A truly fantastic, first class bed and breakfast experience. We stayed for one night, myself, wife and 2 children aged 15 and 18. The rooms were spotlessly clean with spectacular views of the Loch. Christine is a wonderful hostess ensuring that we were comfortable and well fed. The weather was dubious and she gave regular updates checking with the local boat trip company to keep us informed. We left the following morning for a boat trip to Canna with Bella Jane. The B&B is perfect as a base for the boat trips as Elgol is just 5 minutes away. Prior to the visit, I was worried about the 40 minute drive on a single track road from Broadford to Glasnakille but thoroughly enjoyed the drive stopping along the way for the cows and sheep that carelessly wander along the tracks, oblivious to the cars. I loved Skye and loved Rowan Cottage.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank O3988DRdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Forloppin, Owner at Rowan Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Many thanks David for your wonderful review, it is much appreciated and good to know that you enjoyed your visit, although brief. I hope you enjoyed the boat trip and the family's piggy banks were replenished! All best to you and the the family for the remainder of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We had a wonderful couple of nights staying with Christine at Rowan Cottage.
the cottage is tucked away in a very quiet and unspoilt area of the island with the most wonderful views and wildlife.
The rooms were really comfortable and well-equipped and Christine made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
She was very knowledgeable about the local area and helped with suggestions of places to visit. the food was wonderful and as well as probably the best porridge we have eaten the evening meal was fantastic - Christine is a great host.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Forloppin, Owner at Rowan Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. I am very grateful. It is reassuring to know that I was able to make your visit both enjoyable and a little bit memorable. I hope you continue to enjoy the summer days. Best wishes, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews