We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious beach hotel, very nice bay”
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Luxurious beach hotel, very nice bay”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed with gf in April 2012. This hotel is not cheap, but worth every single dollar.
Stunning beach/bay area. Fills up with day tourists between 11am-3pm, bay gets full of boats, but that's the time you should avoid direct sunshine (and the beach) anyways.

Theres only a few bungalows, another small resort and a horse-riding ranch on the island, not much more. Check out Siam beach behing the hotel during high-tide and you find a pristine beach with almost no tourist (or people) at all...

Room Tip: individual vilas (rather than shared ones) are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markie_independent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    207
    59
    35
    13
See reviews for
168
625
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here a little over a year ago for our honeymoon, in the low season. Our Grand Pool suite was huge and exquisite. The service was also excellent in every regard.

We stayed here for eight days and found plenty to do - we borrowed bikes and enjoyed exploring the island and all its little beaches and snorkeling spots. The spa was outstanding, and we particularly enjoyed the complimentary yoga classes. Food was fantastic, although I would recommend sticking to the Thai menu - western options were not as good. The restaurant at the end of the beach (not part of the Racha) is also terrific and much cheaper. John at Club Del Mar does the best cocktails in the resort, we ended up spending most afternoons there. The main beach during the low season had no day trippers and was very peaceful - I can't imagine what it must be like in the high season.

Overall an excellent stay. I feel bad giving it four stars, as the only letdown is not the Racha's fault. During the low season the currents wash an enormous amount of rubbish from elsewhere in Thailand onto the main beach. The hotel does try and stay on top of this with daily cleanups (guests are welcome to help out with this, which we did), but by the end of the day it is covered in debris again. I don't know what they can really do about this - maybe two cleanups a day? In spite of this, I would still visit in the low season to avoid the day trippers.

We would stay again, I haven't had a better experience anywhere else in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eloise_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollymook, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have travelled a lot and the Racha has something other resorts don't have and that is an amazing manager. Gerrard Tan not only makes it his mission to welcome and speak to every guest but he also went above and beyond to make sure our stay in Thailand was incredible. The Racha is exactly as the web site depicts stunning aqua water with white sand, beautiful gardens, pools, luxurious villas catering for your every need. Staff are excellent with their service, polite and friendly. Total relaxation is definitley achievable here, you do not have to lift a finger. Meals are delicious and day spas incredible. We will definitley keep The Racha on our "Bucket List" We will return.

Room Tip: The Racha is designed so each room is private and peaceful pools are placed to cater for every guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerrie q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is our second time at the racha and we love it!
We've been there for our Honeymoon ( 2010 ) and had the most romantic days in this beautiful resort.
We were well received and during the entire stay, we were well taken care of the staff and the manager, a wonderful man.
This place has all the facilities and they are good at making sure that you have what you need at any time.

The Racha is beautiful all over..not only for the location and the beautiful weather but the staff are so nice and loving;)

I can recommend this place. It is truly a paradise on earth!!
.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maritmeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Last week we spend again a week at The Racha! it was good to be back! Again we had a very good experience! The resort is a amazing place with very friendly staff! We have been here now twice but we will be back next year! Its like family for us, our second home! We can't wait to be back and spend another week at the Racha! We can highly recommend the Racha to everybody! If you like to have a relaxing time, with good service go to the Racha and you will be suprised! Normaly we never visit a resort or hotel twice for holiday but this is the feeling off HOME SWEET HOME! Thank you again Gerard, Koy, Luen, and all the staff of the Racha for again a amazing time! see you all soon! Greetings to everybody!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GEJhorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
61.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
42.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
906 reviews
22.2 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.8 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
42.8 km away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,874 reviews
32.4 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,778 - ₹ 45,361
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing