We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise”
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We've been there for our honeymoon, we started our stay when the limo came to the airport for us. Then the boat took us to the island. All the hotel is very romantic, nice, food at the restaurants is wonderful, the swimming-pool, massages, etc....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 491 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

It was a great vacation at the Racha. I and husband stayed there for 7 nights, the wonderful beach and white sands, nice pool and drinks, the spacious and comfortable room, excellent SPA made our stay so memorable. the downside is the beach a bit too crowded during peak season, at times there were electricity breakdowns.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the resorts are quieter with more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuchu7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

How great it was to return back once again to the racha!This was our fifth stay and we were not dissapointed,the racha is The Place to truly unwind and re-charge your batteries(mind,body and spirit)How nice it is to wake in the mornings and sit on your private villa terrace with a coffee looking out at the peacefull and serene Batok bay.We stayed in room 309,(deluxe villa very nice) and with a fantastic all round view, the villa's are as they say (deluxe)each night when your bed is turned down there is a very nice token gift ,the wooden elephants are very sweet and are a lovely reminder of your stay at the racha after your return home,along with a different verse card (every night).

What better way than to start the day snorkelling in the perfect clear water's(the fish are amazing) followed by a gentle stroll along the beach before breakfast.Yes there are several boat trippers between the hour's of (10 am and 3 pm) every day but we remember that 5year's ago we too were one of those day tripper's, fell in love with the island, vowed to return and are now hooked on the place, personally we find these day visitors can make good (people watching). If you wish to escape from this for a few hour's there is the lovely garden pool area to relax in for a peaceful afternoon, but please remember that before they come and after they depart you have this wonderfull island paradise all to yourself,and how nice to sit in the lobby bar with a cocktail to watch the sun go down in the evening.

The manager's cocktail party is a( must do)where you get to meet Gerard the Gm (what a guy) also Bandid(a truly all round nice bloke) and the rest of the managment team,along with some great canape's curtious of Mark the head chef washed down with a glass or two of wine , so if you do have any issue's these are the people to talk too to put thing's right, they do there upmost to make your stay a truly wonderful experience. It is also very nice to meet other guests from around the world to! we have met some lovely people over the years and still remian good freinds.

So keep up the great work you do Gerard and the team and we hope to see you next year (or before if we win the lotto let's hope)

.Mr&Mrs T Cook Lincolnshire England.

Room Tip: Room 309 wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank flower33125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I enjoyed the Racha experience. We were met by the limo at another hotel and delivered to the check-in area at the port, where we had time to look around. The speedboat trip was comfortable and fun and arrival on the island was seamless.
The villa was beautiful, quite minimalist inside, private plunge pool and indoor/outdoor showers. Good entertainment, espresso machine and well-stocked bar.
The infinity pool is gorgeous, with lovely views across the beach and the bay. From there you can watch the daytrippers come and go. We found that to be more entertaining than nuisance.
The beach is really incredible - understandable that it attracts daytrippers. The sand is like icing sugar, and the snorkelling is nice. After 4pm you will have it all to yourself. Siam Bay beach is also pretty and only 10 minute walk away, with nice views north to Phuket.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wee_dkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for four nights at The Racha, and upon arrival there was a big "WOW!!" as our first impression!
HOWEVER - to start.... upon our arrival, it was very disorganised, we were going to have to wait for our room for nearly three hours for it to be ready, but then it did get sorted out unlike other arriving guests.
Arriving at the room - these were very, very impressive, we loved the room!!!! (And a special thanks to Billy for giving us the inside info on the hotel and really made an effort to make us feel welcome!!!) The room was fantastic, very spacious, all modern and white as per the website, an outdoor shower, big bathroom, great air-cond and amenities, everything had been thought of... inc Wifi, Inhouse movies ( 120 to choose from), and 24 hour room service, etc, etc. The rooms had everything covered! We loved the room, and certainly returning to the beautiful villa... it was a fantastic to return to after a day on the beach and could not be faulted!!!
The elements of our stay that let The Racha Hotel down were as follows:-
1) there was no outside restaurant that had any ambience - there is one outside restaurant that had 12 tables or thereabouts near the beach, but it was either quiet or completely booked out at nights. The one night that we did dine there,, we felt it was overpriced, with a restrictive and poor selection on the menu. It didn't have any ambience, lighting, quiet music, (except for the annoying roving band playing to guests looking for tips). This restaurant was not an enjoyable experience.
2) there is another dining area - a restaurant that's inside a big bunker-style building in the centre of the resort..... it's a stark white concrete building, fully lit up inside, with air-conditioning and no atmosphere inside what so ever... we refused to dine here - we haven't travelled all the way to Thailand to sit inside a concrete bunker and eat dinner - we wanted to sit in an atmosphere that took on board some evening lighting, the waves washing in, some quiet music, and some great Thai food. We felt that this was a big let-down to the resort and because we were stuck here - there weren't many other options to eat dinner other than nearby cheaper resort over at The Raya, which at least had tables set up over the water and Thai food. We were very disappointed with this main restaurant and felt it let down our experience at nights and for dinner.
We also found another restaurant at Siam beach which was very romantic with white-linen flowing against a backdrop of the waves, whilst seated on the sand, and candlelight. This restaurant was happy to pick us up and drop us off by car at the Racha for our dinner booking as walking may take 20 mins and may be a big difficult for some in the darkened track.
3) Breakfast - see point two above - we were also forced to have breakfast in this bunker building - we had no choice other than to attend the "Bunker building" where breakfast felt very confined, with a limited buffet and tables that were far too close to other guests, with only six outside tables, and the remainder inside the air-conditioned building. Due to the close confines of this area, most guests remained quiet throughout breakfast, and there was definitely a stale atmosphere. We weren't impressed with the limited buffet breakfast options and felt that the breakfast was mainly catering to the asian cuisine with very few options other than eggs.
Also, it should be noted that most of the guests were of Japanese, Chinese and Korean decent and so the breakfast offer/selection of foods seemed to mainly catered to that majority.
4) The pretty beach outside of the hotel is a public beach, which we approve of because all beaches in thailand are amazing and should be shared....HOWEVER - there are over 30 boats of 'daytrippers" arriving, with each boat holding more than 30 people per boat, that arrive between 12noon and 4pm each day flooding the beach daily, leaving their rubbish behind. We should mention that these boats wait whilst the daytrippers venture off, so they fill the little bay, and most days we could count more than 30 boats... and they also block the swimming area, making it unsafe for snorkelling and swimming too far from shore. Please note that we spent the afternoons picking up their left-behind water bottles, plastic bags and hotel staff were blind to this fact!!! If this is to continue happening, the Racha hotel should take more responsibility and place rubbins bins around the entrances to the beach, particularly at the end of the floating pier as the daytrippers leave to board their boats again.
This influx of daytrippers every day is exhausting and ruins the ambience of the beach, as there are just too many "cruise companies" cashing in on this particular tiny island. To avoid this influx of hundreds of people daily - try walking 15 minutes to the boatless SIAM BEACH behind the Racha Hotel and you'll find a pristine paradise with white sand, turquoise warm water and less people filling up the beach!!! ( And less rubbish!).
5) Our departure was pretty empty, as no-one seemed to care that we had stayed, let alone wish us goodbye or even to enquire as to how our stay was... we paid up, and that was that.... we didn't feel any hospitality from the staff when checking in or when checking out. It was a sad way to end our stay, but we were happy to be continuing our holiday elsewhere.

The main criticism is the lack of personalbility and ambience with this hotel. A truly beautiful hotel, with great rooms/villas and grounds, and an amazing view of a sunset (and we had been recommended and referred to stay there by friends).... but to our dissappointment, The Racha Hotel lacked something, and the hotel can't rest on its beauty and appearance alone!!

Room Tip: Check out Siam beach on the other side of the island - 15 minute - it's PARADISE!!! There is ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
61.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
42.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
933 reviews
22.2 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.8 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
32.4 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,014 reviews
42.8 km away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range: ₹ 14,529 - ₹ 44,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the world’s most stunning destinations can be found 12 nautical miles south of Phuket, on the Andaman island of Racha Yai. An expansive white-sand crescent bay with azure waters creates the postcard-perfect backdrop for the five-star luxury island resort, The Racha. With eco-chic luxury living, guests choose to ‘get-way from-it-all’ without taking anything away from the environment. Experience the exquisite Racha resort – a sanctuary for mind, body and spirit. Spread over 20 acres of verdant tropical grounds and built in low-rise harmony with the environment, 85 villas of eight category types provide for every creature comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing