We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Angsana Villas Resort Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 445
US$ 300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chava Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 376
US$ 359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 307
US$ 257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 264
US$ 215
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 206
US$ 120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
US$ 824
US$ 770
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
751
120
35
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
120
35
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation clubplantation restaurantprivate poolspa roomour honeymoondegree barlayan beachocean view villaroom serviceliving roomtotal privacygolf buggyspa servicesfoot massagethe penthousethe general managerromantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have been thrilled by this beautiful hotel from the beginning to the end. Pavilions have exceeded all our expectations in every respect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cometta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of Jan. We ended up booking an ocean view pool villa as we wanted to have the view and were very pleased we did - while the villa was perhaps not as modern as the plantation ones, it was still beautifully done up and more than big enough for two people, with a ridiculously large pool you could do laps in ! But the best bit was being able to watch amazing sunsets each night from the privacy of your own villa terrace. You could go up to the 360 bar but we found it was quite busy and preferred to have drinks and snacks delivered to our villa to have our own private cocktail sunset experience !

The food was superb - we ate at both the Aman and the Trisarsa whilst there and have to say that The Pavilions was in the same league quality wise but at a (slightly) more affordable level.

The service was interesting - some of the staff went out of their way to try and help and really did exceed our expectations whilst others unfortunately were not so good and let things slip. There were a few incidents which could have turned our holiday into a one out of five star experience but I have to point out that the exceptional service and skilled management by JC meant that this was turned around and we instead walked away with a very positive view of the Pavilions.

My husband and I have been lucky enough to stay in some beautiful hotels that usually pride themselves on excellent management such as the Datai, the Aman hotels, the W hotels, Banyan Tree etc but none of them come even close to meeting the standard of GM we witnessed with JC. He is by far and away the best GM we have met and it is largely down to him that we will return to the Pavilions again.

Room Tip: book an ocean view room for the views and sunset - its worth it
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The moment we arrived we knew that it was going to be a fantastic trip. The private shuttle was waiting for us at the airport and the friendly driver took us on the 20 minute drive to the resort. The property is not located on the beach, which is a bonus because it is very secluded and private. We saw and heard no one when we were in our villa. Our Ocean View Villa was as promised. The views were gorgeous and the accommodations were very nice. Everything was comfortable, clean and well maintained. We enjoyed a wonderful massage and then spent most of our time relaxing in the villa. The food was good and we especially liked the daily tea and snacks. I would recommend this for anyone looking for some serious R&R.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Villas are worth it to watch the sunset over the ocean every night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My fiancé and I have just returned to Hong Kong after spending 6 nights at The Pavilions, Phuket and we're finding it difficult to re-adjust!

We had left our Chinese New Year holiday plans until the very last minute, so the only option open to us via our travel agent was a Pool & Spa Pavilion; however, my fiancé inspected an Ocean View Pool Villa (in case we wanted to upgrade) and agreed with some of the reviewers' opinions that they were more dated than the Pool & Spa villas and were possibly not worth the additional cost.

The Pool & Spa Pavilion is incredibly private, spacious and well-appointed - inside and out! The pool is the largest we've experienced in a pool villa to date and of a reasonable depth (meaning when you get into the pool to cool off, it is a refreshing temperature, not a tepid bath). The villas are all very private, meaning you can wear as much or as little as you like without fear of being caught unawares. I loved the high ceilings and generously proportioned rooms inside the villa. The couch in the living room is really like a second bed, with enormous, comfortable cushions (which made watching the Australian Open a very enjoyable experience!) As music lovers, we also appreciated the sound system which can be connected to your iPod and has inbuilt ceiling speakers in each room. The romantic four-poster bed was very comfortable, the rainshower was heaven and we really liked the double vanity in the bathroom.

The only occasion we used the spa services (in the private spa room attached to our villa) was for the complimentary welcome foot massage - which we paid to extend from 15 minutes to 45 minutes because my fiancé loves a good foot massage! It didn't disappoint - the therapists were very talented and gave us a simultaneously firm yet relaxing massage (without causing us any discomfort or pain) which put us in a very relaxed state straight away! We were keen to try a massage during our stay but unfortunately ran out of time.

Food at Pavilions is of a high standard and made with good quality ingredients which is paramount. Breakfast at the Plantation Club each morning is a buffet whereby fresh fruit, cereals, breads, cakes and pastries are displayed for perusal while an additional menu comprising Thai and Western options is available from which you order as many items as you wish. My fiancé ordered the Thai-style stir-fried egg noodles with vegetable every day and thoroughly enjoyed it. He also tried the Thai omelette and Western-style omelette. I am usually a poached egg aficionado but didn't enjoy them at Pavilions as they were too hard and tasted strongly of vinegar. On the other hand, the scrambled eggs are literally the best I've EVER had at a hotel, and I ordered them every day with delight. They were consistently perfect. The french toast and banana pancakes are also incredible. The croissants were also delicious, and we delighted in the fresh passionfruit on the fruit platter. The staff also kindly brought my fiancé slices of avocado each morning (which he loves on toast).

We were usually so full from breakfast that lunch was unnecessary, but on the first day we ventured to the Plantation Club around 3:30pm for the complimentary afternoon tea (as we arrived after lunch). On display were some 'escargot' pastries, mini scones and the most delectable chocolate brownies I've ever had! I was hoping for something savoury but unfortunately no sandwiches were displayed that day (I'm not sure if this is de rigeur, as the in-room description mentioned tea sandwiches). Good selection of teas also.

Dinner at Plantation Club was consistently good. Admittedly, as mentioned by previous reviewers, the portion sizes are certainly not large; however we found them to be perfectly adequate. We really appreciated the quality ingredients (such as Wagyu beef or Australian beef, giant tiger prawns, etc) and thought the quality rightly trumps quantity. Our favourite dishes included a Wagyu beef stirfry dish and Pad Thai for entrée, followed by panang beef curry and prawn with cashew nut stirfry (adapted from the lunch dish with chicken) for main, all of which were the best versions of these dishes we'd had in a long time. We didn't try the mediterranean offerings because we were so thrilled by the Thai options, but I am confident they would also have been excellent.

We were at 360 Bar every evening, taking advantage of the happy hour and the beautiful sunset! The cocktails are well worth trying and the wine list is surprisingly extensive. We had dinner here one night and ordered the Spanish meatballs, Wagyu beef sliders and calamari. The sliders were outstanding, but the other dishes were also pleasant.

In terms of service, it was predominantly very good. Francois, the General Manager, was very lovely and accommodating, Ann at breakfast was so friendly and welcoming, and Jean at the bar was also great. However, the trainee staff (whom we understand are on rotation experience via a hotel school) were devoid of personality and did not do themselves (or Pavilions) any favours. We found them to be very stiff and unhelpful, and they undermined the pleasure of our dining experiences somewhat.Their English language skills were lacking and they appeared almost hostile when communicating at times. It might be worth encouraging the trainee staff to smile and appear more courteous of their guests, as luxury hotels depend upon their staff to 'cinch' the experience.

All in all, we had a lovely, romantic holiday and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hedonism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Located 6 klm out of Laguna, Pavilions is exceptional. On a par with the more expensive Trisara (too isolated) and Banyan Tree (in the thick of the Laguna hotel precinct - Pavilions has been our preferred Phuket option since opening. We have stayed in all the best. Pavilions is a short taxi or car rental drive into Laguna and nearby Surin. Not on the beach, but your private pools are huge, completely private, and your villa is large and comfortable. The breakfasts are fine - with a very good choice of options. We were offered whatever we would like if not on the menu. (Not as elaborate as Banyan Tree who have the best breakfast buffet on the island.) The Ocean View Pool Villas are the best option. A memebr of the Relais and Chateux group assures you of a level of quality and luxury. Negative reviewers don't quite get it. By no means perfect, Pavilions is a great option.No spa but they have excellent room options with massage tables in the villas - full spa ropoms in some of the villas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews