We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,240)
Filter reviews
2,240 results
Traveller rating
1,676
404
94
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,676
404
94
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesprivate beachpansea beachdeluxe cottagebeach barsell drinksbeach frontlocal vendorsperfect beachcloser to the beachsound of the wavesbeach vendorslittle touchesbeach bagwhite sandour honeymoonbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 2,240 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Surin for two days in July. Room and breakfast was very good but the stay was spoiled by the filthy private beach. There was plastic rubbish everywhere and as you can see on the pictures it was surrounding the sun beds. We had to always look where we walk not to cut our feet with the rubbish and get an infection. The staff of which there are many didn't seem to be bothered by it. They could have cleaned up but didn't. I was expecting more from a five star resort and for the price we paid.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Ronald,

Thank you for your visit and great to know that you were pleased by the quality of your accommodation and the breakfast.

You may have noticed that our sport team does clean the beach several times a day. It is true however that especially in the past days, with storm fronts all along Andaman sea, rough waves would overflow almost the entire beach and sun bed area. While I may ensure you that we try out utmost best to maintain the beach adjacent to our hotel as clean as possible it is sadly nearly impossible to keep up with the plastic particles every single wave washes ashore. Ocean pollution is a huge global issue and please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Best regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Resort Manager
The Surin Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We went at the end of June which is the rainy season but we were very lucky and it only rained for about 30 minutes each afternoon and overnight.
The weather was very comfortable in the low 30s and bright and sunny otherwise.
Lots of big waves in the sea so only a small section of the water was open for paddling and no water sports but The large pool more than makes up for it anyway.

The staff are amazing- friendly, proactive and very well trained.

We got a hotel transfer and we’re pleased to find out the hotel has stopped using the airport shortcut because of a bad accident on the road recently - the main route only adds 10 - 15 minutes to the journey but the safety is important for us.

The hotel is excellent - beautiful in an open design style, high wooden beam roof, and built on a hill side so the views looking down onto the beach were spectacular. We stayed on a hillside Villa which is an independent small villa built on stilts - be prepared to walk 3-4 minutes from one end of the resort to the other up a few steep steps.

It’s not a large hotel so has an exclusive boutique feel, very quiet and relaxing atmosphere and mainly European adults/ couples during our stay. Definitely romantic rather than family-oriented but very welcoming and I could imagine an intimate wedding would work well here.

A couple of special mentions:
- well done to the lifeguards who regularly cleaned the beach throughout the day. Keep it up and get guests involved. The perfect beach is a key selling point and we all have a responsibility

- nice job giving back to the local community. A couple of discreet locals sell drinks on the beach and do massages for guests. It’s so nice that the hotel staff are friendly to these local vendors and share in the tourist dollars. Make sure the vendors also stop giving out plastic straws though!

- thanks for the bug spraying across the Resort to keep mosquitoes down

- and thanks for the midnight arrival snack box

We will definitely be back !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Chloe,

Thank you for taking the time to share a feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are are happy to know you had a wonderful getaway at our little oasis. Your compliments in regards to our associates and their service level are much appreciated and have been shared with the entire team.

We have banned plastic straws at our hotel and are coordinating with the local vendors to follow shortly. Meanwhile we seek further opportunities to make our contribution towards a sustainable environment such as with biodegradable garbage bags, take away boxes and cutlery as well as recycling of plastic bottles, light bulb and batteries.

We look much forward to welcome you back! Please do contact our reservations team or myself directly for any possible help with your arrangements, we are pleased to assist.

All the best,

Manuel Mandaglio
Resort Manager
The Surin Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The Surin is a lovely hotel in a quiet and beautiful area. The beach at the hotel is private and therefore wonderful. The staff does everything to make you feel at ease. Food in the hotel is really good and priced very reasonable. At night there was no reason to leave the hotel as they have 2 restaurants with a beautiful view and good food. We had a beach suite with all comfort needed, would recommend this room. If I would return to Phuket there is no need to look for a different hotel, unless the Surin is fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank wvanzijderveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Wvanzijderveld,

Thank you for your recent visit and it was a great pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. It is a delight to learn that you had a wonderful and relaxing time. Your kind comments in regards to our team members and the quality of the culinary offer have been forwarded to our entire team. The Food & Beverage Departments combined consist of about 100 associates and your appreciation is surely a great motivation to all of them.

We look very much forward to welcome you back whenever your travels lead you to Phuket again. Please do contact me directly and I will be happy to look personally after your arrangements.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Resort Manager
The Surin Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Having run out of time to research and book our next holiday myself, I engaged a travel agent, provided him with my wish list and he suggested this place.
After reading many of the reviews, we decided on an ocean view cottage for our 12 night stay.
Firstly, when trying to decide whether to go for an ocean view or a hilltop cottage, if you can afford the extra, I strongly suggest that you go for the ocean view cottage. When we arrived and saw where some of the hilltop cottages were placed and the amount of stairs (very steep) to access them, I was very thankful that we did not opt for one of these. If you are only staying a couple of nights, it may not be an issue, however for longer stays it would be. If you have any mobility issues or hip/knee problems, this is not the place for you.
The ocean view cottages are much closer to the beach and the hotel facilities. The view is stunning and sound of the waves every night is pure bliss.
We opted for the hotel car (Camry) to collect us from the airport and there were no issues here. We were collected on time and it is about a 30min drive to the resort. We were greeted on arrival with flowers, drink and cold towel, shown to our cottage and our suitcases delivered shortly after.
The air conditioned cottage was spacious and bright with a comfortable king size bed, his and hers wardrobes, large shower, dual sinks and seperate toilet. There is a pillow selection menu and you can opt for an additional mattress overlay for sleep comfort.
On the deck there are two sunbeds although we spent most of our time on the sunbeds on the beach as many are shaded for the best part of the day under trees and unmbrellas.
The resort is beautifully located and the cottages are set amongst the rainforest with plenty of greenery as the backdrop. As the cottages are individual, they are really peaceful and we rarely heard any noise from other guests.
There is only one pool which did tend to be occupied mostly by children during our stay. We swam at the beach most days instead.
The beach is private and you can buy drinks and get a massage if u wish from local vendors that walk up and down daily. They are friendly and will offer you a drink or massage but do not hassle you.
Breakfast is a buffet with plenty to choose from and an additional al a carte menu. Everything was cooked beautifully and tasted amazing. We also ate lunch at the restaurant and had dinner at the beach restaurant. Although the prices are higher when compared to the local restaurants, the location, food and service is exceptional.
There are complimentary weekly activities on offer. I did the yoga classes, fruit carving, thai massage class and batik painting. We also went to the local market which we enjoyed. The market is mainly food however there are also vendors selling clothing, bags, sunglasses etc and is great for a look around.
I visited the spa for a royal thai massage and although the cost is comparable to what we pay at a spa in Australia, I have to say it was worth every cent! It was honestly one of the best massages I have ever had so I would highly recommend this.
There are many restaurant and bar options all within walking distance. When you exit the gate, if you walk along the road to the left, there are many beach bars and restaurants along Bang Tao Beach. If you turn right, there are a number of local restaurants along the main road.
I highly recommend a visit to the Catch Beach Club.
If you need any suits or tailoring, Aman Tailor (near Twin Palms) is superb.
If you require a taxi, reception will arrange this for you and advise you the cost. I would recommend that you do this because when we tried to get a taxi in Patong, the drivers there tried to charge an additional 100bht for the same journey.
All the staff are wonderful however I must make special mention to Few (spa) for her Thai massage class and the amazing massage, Dada who has the brightest smile in the room at breakfast and our housekeeper. She left extra teabags for my husband, offered to help peel open his fruit and many other little touches, always with a big smile which was just so sweet.
There are many little extras provided which are so thoughtful and really set this place apart from others we have stayed at. On our first night, we were left a bottle of complimentary sparkling wine ready to go in an ice bucket with 2 champagne glasses. Every night our room was turned down with fresh flowers left on the pillow and freshly made biscuits. The staff even came out in the worst torrential weather to do this which we certainly did not expect.
I would really be nitpicking to mention anything negative so I will simply say that we couldn't have picked a nicer place to spend the last 2 weeks. We have had a best holiday and would not hesitate to return here.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank jloPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear JloPerth,

Thank you very much indeed for the time you have taken to share such a detailed review with other travelers. Surely your insights about the resort as well as the neighboring area will be useful for follow readers to gain a better understanding of what to expect at our beachfront retreat.

We are thrilled to know you had such a fabulous time and your kind compliments have been shared with our all concerned and especially with the ones you mentioned by name. While I am not quite sure who was the Room Attendant in charge of your Cottage I have passed on your appreciation to our Executive Housekeeper to share with her entire team.

We look very much forward to welcome you back in the hopefully not too distant future. Please do contact me directly and I will be pleased to assist you with your arrangements.

All the best,

Manuel Mandaglio
Resort Manager
The Surin Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The Surin Hotel is located on top of a hill so there are different rooms from hillside to beachfront. I went with the beach studio but got a free upgrade to the beach deluxe suites! What a great start to the stay here!
The room was huge and everything in the room was in pristine condition. It was exactly the same as the pictures shown on their website. All stuff in the minibar fridge was free except for the alcohols. The bed was very comfortable and the bathtub was big. Waking up to an amazing sea view and listening to the waves was an excellent way to relax.
My partner and I spend our days watching the sea by the beach. The beach is an important highlight as it is sort of private since only guests of The Surin Hotel can have access to this beach. In constrast to Potong beach, this beach is quiet and the serenity was what attracted me to stay here. We also engaged in water sports, swimming in/chilling by the pool and playing pool in the library!
We had the candlelight dinner by the beach and it was a great experience dining and enjoying the sea breeze. The food was tasty and had a friendly personal waiter. The breakfast had a wide selection of different cuisines and most of the food was of high quality.
Hotel staff were all very nice and friendly, smiling and greeting guests in the resort. The hotel massage place has a very relaxing atmosphere and the masseurs were very friendly and skilful.
Taking the buggy down the hill and there are a few good restaurants and massage parlours where you can explore. Also, the resort is also located not too far away from Patong beach so those who crave a happening night life aren't too far away from that.
No doubts this is the most luxurious resort I have ever stayed in! Kudos to The Surin Hotel for making this a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs if you are staying at the hillside lodges!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libra84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Libra84,

Thank you for this detailed and wonderfully written review. We are thrilled to know you had such a fabulous time at our beachfront retreat. It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and your kind praises have been forwarded to our entire team.

The seaside location of our hotel, right adjacent to beautiful Pansea beach, is definitly hard to beat. Even many residents on the island don't know of the existence of this white power sand gem and since we are nestled within a small bay the access remains exclusive to hotel guests.

We invest a lot of efforts in our ongoing property maintenance program. While it can be challenging at times to find the right slots in order not to disturb our guests it is vital to keep our hotel in best possible shape given the extreme weather conditions year-round. Surely our maintenance team will be excited to learn that you experienced your accommodation in pristine condition.

We look much forward to host your stay again. Please do contact us directly at hotel@thesurinphuket.com and we will be pleased to assist you with all your arrangements including a "best rate guarantee".

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Resort Manager
The Surin Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews