We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,646)
Filter reviews
1,646 results
Traveller rating
1,084
396
103
39
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,084
396
103
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge day bed club package kids club lagoon view room pool area other hotels sunken bath tennis courts special thanks kids pool evening cocktails free shuttle main restaurant local town canal village laguna phuket
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,646 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the Outrigger Laguna Beach to have a nice relaxing night out of Patong before we left for our next stop in Thailand. The hotel, grounds, pool etc is stunning! It’s a truly beautiful hotel, right on the beach. The rooms are nice, the tiled floors make them look slightly dated but they are very clean and comfortable and spacious and the bathroom is excellent. We also had a balcony with a lovely view.
Check in was the most difficult we have ever had in a hotel worldwide... the staff at reception weren’t particularly friendly, and although we gave passports and they had our bookings on file they demanded they had to not just see, but have a copy of our online booking confirmation. They wanted us to email it but we didn’t have internet access, yet they didn’t want to give us wifi access until we checked in... eventually they gave us a password to login so we could send the email and we waited until they received it. We had all also received confirmation the day before that our booking agent had arranged room upgrades for all of us, yet the hotel didn’t have it on file so we had to argue that as well. It was a less than pleasant start, but we didn’t let it ruin our stay.
We spent the afternoon enjoying cocktails by the pool and let our inner kid out on the water slide. The staff at the pool were amazing! Much nicer than the front desk.
We then headed down Bang Tao beach right by the hotel to a local bar for dinner and drinks where we met the nicest local people. It was awesome!
We ordered room service for breakfast which was pretty good, and checked out at midday before heading to the airport.
All in all a great stay, but couldn’t give 5 stars.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank missaj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M, Resort Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review regarding your one night stay with us at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. We are most fortunate to be set amongst tropical and lush gardens between the Andaman Ocean and the Lagoon. All of our rooms feature beautiful views scattered around the resort.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused as a result of the less than satisfactory check in experience. I am disappointed to read of the poor performance of our Front Office team and please rest assure that I will personally address your feedback with the respective managers to alleviate this occurring again in the future. We do not tolerate poor performance and attitude. On a positive note, it was delightful to read that our pool staff delivered friendly and amazing service. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the Sport and Recreation team.

We do hope to welcome you for a longer stay next time you are holidaying in Laguna, Phuket.
Kindest Regards
Leah Matters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We were a family of 4 with 2 young children and had the Deluxe Lagoon view room. The lagoon was a sight to behold. The room was sizable with a king bed and a nice size bed for the kids. It had all the amenities one would want except for a microwave. The shower was powerful and provided plenty of hot water. We were on the ground floor, room 120 and it was a short walk to the main areas (reception, buffet, pools, and beach). Of course, being September, monsoon season, the ocean was not swimmable. However, the pools provided enough distraction.

The breakfast buffet was comped and we much enjoyed sitting in the veranda of the dining room. The view of the lagoon from this vantage point was awe-inspiring. Needless to say the attendants were very friendly and gracious. We felt so welcomed. Special mention to Karen and Tao who doted over our kids.

For lunch and supper we ate mostly at the strip of restaurants lining the beach just yards from the resort. We tried several but Black Pepper (Bangtao Beach) really stood out with their bbq tiger shrimp and lobster, at very good prices. The owner kept giving us discounts. Their waiters/waitresses were second to none in attending to us. The setting was atmospheric. We observed the sun setting below the ocean horizon while dining. The ocean breeze gave great relief to the heat. With the setting sun, the crashing of ocean waves on the beach, the moments seemed magical. We really savor these moments at Black Pepper. We tried lunch at Outrigger as well, at the main restaurant (Lacavore) and also Metzos. Great food tho at premium prices.

Outrigger has a very good Kids Club. There were many attendants there and they were very enthusiastic with kids. We left our children with them for a short time and felt secure.

Outrigger is situated about 30 minutes (by cab) from Patong Beach and Phuket Town. However, just outside the driveway (mile long) of the resort is a smaller town. Near the entrance were many shops and restaurants that catered to tourists. If you enjoy walks this could be a wonderful outting; otherwise, its a 300 baht cab ride one way.

Outrigger and surrounding lagoon resorts have arranged for free bus shuttles and boat shuttles for the lagoon area. We tried both and visited Canal village (a small shopping area) and another resort to see what it was like. Although we could have used this resort's facilities there would have been charges. So we declined.

The only cons I saw was that the pool water was a little murky (too much chlorine?) and being Canadian, I was miffed they did not exchange CAD. We had to go to Canal village by shuttle to get some bahts.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay. The resort is truly a 5 star establishment and I would not hesitate returning.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolpete101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M, Resort Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to spend your family vacation with us at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time enjoying our picturesque location.

Thank you kindly for highlighting Karen and Khun Tao for their service delivery and engagement. I am very proud of these individuals who go above and beyond to provide friendly and genuine Outrigger hospitality. Thank you also for highlighting our Locavore and Koh Kids teams. I am excited to share your glowing comments with them all. Our Outrigger hosts absolutely love showering our younger guests with lots of attention as you personally experienced.Thank you for the feedback offered to other readers of this forum, the team and I sincerely appreciate it.

Your feedback about our currency exchange service is welcomed and appreciated. Thank you kindly for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again when you are next travelling to Thailand!
Kindest Regards
Leah Matters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights and 5 days and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Staff are very willing and are always looking to make your stay comfortable.

Every staff member that we meet at the resort had a smile on their face when they greeted you.

Food was excellent and the location was excellent.

Housekeeping lady who cleaned our room was excellent. Unfortunately I do not remember her name but she was excellent. Knowk (Hope I spelled it correct) their executive housekeeper was very nice as well.

All in All thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M, Resort Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your time in writing and sharing your wonderful review on your 5 day stay with us at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. It was a pleasure to host you in our beautiful destination.

Our Outrigger hosts are committed to delivering distinctive Outrigger hospitality with a smile, allowing our guests to leave with fond holiday memories. Thank you for recognising our Housekeeping team who constantly strive to deliver high standards. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with them.

Nish, we hope to welcome you again soon to our piece of paradise here in Phuket.
Kindest Regards
Leah Matters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We could not fault this place, we were upgraded our room and provided cocktails, snacks, unlimited soft drinks all day for $35/day. Room was awesome. Activities soo comprehensive, facilities faultless, grounds amazing and the staff couldn’t do enough for us! Would definitely recommend hands down!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank DPayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M, Resort Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the glowing review regarding your recent Phuket holiday. We are absolutely honoured to read that your stay was perfect and we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and for highlighting our activities program, facilities, resort grounds and our amazing Outrigger hosts who truly make the difference. The team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Until then, safe travels and Sawasdee.
Kindest Regards
Leah Matters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Good Experience:
Lobby staff that check-in quick and got our luggage to the room immediately.
Housekeeping that was attentive to keeping to room in order n gave us new towels when needed.
Poolside team that was helpful to get pool towels ready.

Bad Experience:
We order Thai food at the poolside restaurant and found insects/bugs in basil chicken dish. We were so surprise as this is 5 star rated hotel. We would have thought FnB staff will be more diligent in cleaning vegi’s. We had told the manager but we felt it was going on deaf ears. He was not taking it seriously. He was more focus defending and giving us reasons. Asking what can he do like a statement rather then trying to manage the hotel guest comfort that ate bugs. This to us as advert traveller to hotels question the hotel management on guest experience.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sadish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M, Resort Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Sadish for taking the time to write and share constructive feedback relating to your stay. We do sincerely appreciated.

It was disappointing to read of your poor dining experience at Edgewater Restaurant. I have personally addressed your feedback with the Restaurant Manager to understand the interaction and subsequent outcomes. Please allow me to assure you that the Restaurant Manager, Khun Yai, did take your complaint and feedback seriously and was anxious to resolve to your satisfaction. Please allow me to apologise if the manner in which he dealt with your complaint gave you a difference perception. We have discussed this in great detail for his further development and training to ensure future outcomes are of a positive nature.

On a positive note, I am delighted to read that our Front Office, Housekeeping and Poolside teams delivered good service throughout your stay. It will give me great pleasure in sharing your comments with them for their recognition. Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Leah Matters


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews