We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
88
119
45
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
119
45
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laguna phuket services apartment movenpick hotel shuttle bus huge room sitting room small kitchen bang tao beach over christmas and new year microwave oven door step swimming pool own transport shower gel convenience store direct access patong area
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The rooms are fine and this was a second stay. The first was in Jan 2010. Our first stay was pleasant and the terms were as agreed in advance.
Our Jan 2011 month long stay was a shambles to begin with. Doors did not work broken chairs and after three weeks still the same broken chairs.
When ask the first day about internet we were told it was not included. The first year we had a DVD player and assumed that we would in 2011, however they would provide one for 10 pounds per day. We asked three months in advance if we took a side trip for a week if they could rent the unit. They said yes but on arrival said they would not. We were given a total quote and requested to pay in advance however they would not take credit cards and wanted a wire. We did do this but on the first day they also asked for a damage deposit that was not mentioned previously. They would take it on a credit card in Phuket but would only return cash. We gave them sterling rather than get Bhat returned on our last day. Lastly when we notified them we were going to leave and the date they informed us that we had to pay utilities water and electricity and possibly cleaning service.
Breakfast is expensive and they are frequently run out of mainstay foods.
Mu wife has been to the Alamada several times in the past and this is the second time for me. If you like the Laguna area it seems to be a good bargain but all of the hassles and extra add on costs means that we will not return nor recommended to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Londoners8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The Allamnda Laguna Phuket is one of a number of hotels sitauated around the Phuket Laguna (actually several small lakes) near Bang Tao Beach just south of Phuket Airport and north of Surin Beach. The Allamanda is probably the cheapest of the hotels here (the Sheraton and Dusit are more expensive) and although the amenities are not so good it is perfectly adequate : However the rates semm to vary considerably. Bang Tao beach is reached by a shuttle boat from the hotel. There is also a Hotel shuttle bus to the local tourist shopping village (incl. a Jim Thompson outlet). However there are few local shops /mini markets in the vicinity. Staff are friendly and rooms are fine and quiet. Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rawai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I've been going to Allamanda for 10 years now and I've never had such a bad experience - guess thats what corporate ownership does to places. Had to battle with the cock roaches in the room, terrible delays in housekeeping requests and what about the breakfast??

guaranteed you will get sick. - just try to pick up the lettuce or something like that and you will see a swarm of bugs. If you don't see the swarm of bugs then they may have passed through with their electric bug zapper - but anyway, the food you are eating has been attacked by the bugs - totally disgusting. We tried our best to stay "clean" but my wife and I had a bad stomach for a few days after Allamanda.

It's too bad, I used to like the place, don't go by other recommendations - this place is to be avoided.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Well on the surface it looks like good value, two bedroom apartments great for families reasonably priced. Well that's the surface let me give you the reality.
Our situation seemed to be complicated because some of the resort is managed seperately by CBRE so whilst the front desk provided some help they were not overly interested. First even though we had in writing free WIFI this apparently didn't apply to the CBRE units. This took 30 minutes to sort out and much tension at the beginnig of the stay. We were then shown to our rooms. We travelled with friends and both of us had a two bedroom appartment booked. Well ours looked well in need of a refurb, and theirs for exactly the same money had a fully new kitchen, decor etc. Nice for them but at the end of the day not really fair. Well anyway it didn't take long for the veneer of their unit to wear off litterally as the kitchen cupboards and doors started falling off. Our unit had the electrician there when we got there and then one more call was needed to fix hot water that didn't work. The room got cleaned occasionally while we stayed but on not one occasion were all the towells and sheets replaced at once. It took two days for the first cleen because housekeeping didn't have a key! Food in the resort is at best marginal, the beach poor and the general standard of service poor.
The whole Luguna complex is actually a strange place to stay. A collection of resorts arranged around a manmade lake, next to a crappy beach, and a long way from anywhere of interest on the Island. We got out of the complex everyday and there were many better parts of the island. In summary give Allamanda and the whole Luguna complex a big miss.
The only bright light was that we got very lucky with the van driver ( taxi) that we got on the first day. He almost became our private cheuffeur for the week and for a whole day of about 5 to 6 hours charged 3000 Baht. He was a lovely man and can be contacted on 08 3508 7567 - his name is O.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nugsdad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We booked 3 nights at the Allamanda because we needed to be within the Laguna Phuket Compound, and because it was a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette. We paid over 200 USD for a total dump and on top of that we received poor customer service. Where do I begin?

1. The night before our arrival date, I called the hotel to confirm our reservation and to ensure we would have a baby cot /crib waiting in our room....no problem, see you tomorrow is what I was told. Upon arrival, our room was not ready, so they let us use another room for the time being, so that our little one can take a nap. This is why they received 2 stars for service and not one. It just gets worse from here....

2. Our reserved room was NEVER going to be ready, because the owner who was occupying it refused to leave, even though the room was on the rental market and had been booked out, and the hotel could not do anything about it, since it was the owner. Basically at this point we are S.O.L.?

3. They put us in another room (lagoon view, which was supposedly better than our garden view) a few hours later. The room was dated, and had a hole in the ceiling above the living area. Within the first 5 minutes of arriving in the room, our child pulled out a DEAD COCKROACH from under the kitchenette cabinet. Yes, I realize we are in a tropical climate in SE Asia but not what I would have expected from a $200+ night accommodation. Especially since the room had just been cleaned for arriving guests.

4. Our room did not have any amenities such as coffee/tea as stated in the hotel catalog.

5. After the first night there, one of the rooms started to smell of SEWAGE. We pointed this out to the housekeeping staff, and they were nice enough to bring a fan/air purifier for the room. In theory this would have helped, but because the power in the room does not work unless you put your room key in the slot, the air purifier can only work when you are in the room. This is not effective in removing sewage odors in the room. You need to be able to run the purifier when you are not there, so when you return to the room, the sewage smell is gone. Basically we had to put up with the sewage smell for the rest of our stay- which is not pleasant whatsoever!

6. Some of our friends who were traveling with us also stayed at this hotel and we had breakfast together. The staff was accommodating to our group, and provided high chairs for the little ones. One morning the yogurt ran out (of the breakfast buffet) and when my friend notified the staff, they told him "yes, called manager already, he said NO MORE UNTIL TOMORROW". Are you kidding me?

7. The rooms were supposed to have high speed internet, but when we tried to connect on the first day, the internet was down. We called the front desk and they confirmed it was not working, but we were welcome to use the computer in the lobby, which was very nice of them. We checked every day to see if it was back up, and it never was. By the last day, we didn't even see a wireless signal.

8. Upon checking out, they tried to charge me for the mini bar (which we had never touched!) from the first temporary room they put us in.

Bottom line: stay somewhere else! We have stayed in other areas within Laguna and have been very pleased- such as The Outrigger, Dusit Thani, Marriott, and other reasonable hotels along Surin Beach.
The positives for this place: location within Laguna Phuket Area and good accommodation layout for families, but we will not be staying at the Allamanda ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SQ38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews