We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My fiancée' and I decided on Allamanda as it was in the Laguna area and reasonably priced. (This was our first trip to Phuket, 6 nights)

Allamanda exceeded our expectations for the price we paid.

The resort stuff are very friendly and always willing to help & answer any questions.
Our room was an approximate 100 meter walk from the lobby however the resort offer little buggy’s to take guests to and from their rooms. This is awesome especially on those really warm days.

Buffet breakfast there was a good variety and staff are happy to cook eggs how you like on request 

A quick 10 minute ferry from the resort jetty to the beach but with the beautiful views it only feels like 5 minutes.

Laundry is quite highly priced in the resort. We took our laundry out of the Laguna to pay 100baht for an entire laundry bag filled

Also make the most of the free shuttle which come to the lobby every 20 minutes or on request as you are allowed to use all other 5 Laguna resorts facilities

I would recommend having massages on the beach as on average they are 300baht compared to 1600 baht for two in the resort.

Our first time to Phuket and we really enjoyed staying at Allamanda.

EXCELLENT value for your dollar!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahuika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

Hotel needs refurbishing to upgrade to acceptable standard - both facilities and staff.Constant noise from thousands of screaming birds keep guests awake throughout the night.Management is invisible here and has not solved the bird problem - perhaps they are not even aware of it !.Birds seemed to be valued more than guests.Beach area/reception/main pool/cafe area are all very scruffy and in poor condition.Staff seem overworked and demotivated.
Poor value in comparison with other Laguna Hotels - not to be recommended.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank laguna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Needed to stay within the Laguna complex, so booked 2 nights via Latestays. Great rates for this time of the year - and thus decided to stay at Allamanda (ordinary rooms, no kitchenette) and take a chance.

1) We checked in at 11:00pm - the room key wouldn't work. Takes 15 mts+, sweating in the heat to go back down 3 floors, cross the road, convince the guy that you really have a problem and wait for attention. The front desk had an attitude that the wrong key should be the guests problem. Anyway, they used the master key to let us in and told us to go get new keys the next AM.

2) Get in the room - settle in - to find out the drain plug was jammed in so essentially the only sink was unusuable - now close to midnight. One service tech showed up, but had to call for backup help. We fell asleep waiting for the next guy and then hung the Do not disturb sign. Called the next AM, a tech did show up and sort out the problem in 15 mts.

3) Front desk attitude is rather poor - maybe they are harried, desensitized with all the customer complaints about things that don't work. All told a downward spiral that needs to be arrested. A few dollars of grouting to spruce up the bathroom !

4) I believe we stayed in the Wing Run by Best Western (management can correct - if they read these - but it was above the Allamanda Mini Mart). Some units/buildings are owned by indvidual owners and serviced by CBRE....whereas others are serviced by Best Western. All check in is handled by Best Western. A bit more friendliness would go a long way.

Anyway, we were in/out for two nights - shame to see this aged and tired resort within Laguna being the flagbearer for declining standards - unfriendly faces - lower rates..... Laguna Holiday Club (sometimes in the same price range) - has a fantastic staff attitude. Go benchmark them, or rotate the staff.

Goodluck - don't waste your location, any goodwill you've built up by being part of Laguna...giving people affordable vacations. You'll be doing the staff a career favor by sharing guest feedback. Get the property up to snuff - (just read a Japanese tri-athletes review that all his bath water ended up under the floor - but since he was checking out anyway, it didn't become a issue).

Would not recommend to anyone looking for a quiet hassle free vacation.
Would recommend to anyone price conscious and needing to stay inside Laguna.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinationSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. The staff was friendly and brought towels quickly when requested. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was 2 rooms (one king, one with 2 twin beds) joined together by a living area. The living area consisted of a kitchenette which was basically stocked to get by ( a bigger pot to cook pasta would have been great). A table to eat at, and a step down living area with couch, love seat and tv. Balconies off each room. The rooms were very neat and although the beds were on the hard side, we all slept great. This living area gave us plenty of room to spread out in.
We had an issue with the drain in the kids shower. Mentioned it to the staff, but it never seemed to get fixed. We just had them shower in ours.
The pools at the resort are OK. The kids (ages 4, 8 and 10) enjoyed splashing around, but they enjoyed the neighboring hotels pools much more.
Apparently you can purchase a pass to let you use all of the Laguna hotels ammenities. We just jumped over and checked them out without the pass. We were never asked if we had one.
The Laguna Beach Resort and Holiday Club had water slides that my kids enjoyed.

The food in the restaurant was good. The breakfast was enjoyable each morning, as it was included in our price. We ate lunch and dinner there occasionally and the food was good.
The boat ride to the beach and other resorts was fun and quick. There is also a free shuttle to take you between resorts.
We would definitely stay here again. The price was good, the room was nice and the location was fun. The beach is gorgeous!! Clear water - white sand!
If you want to go into the town of Phuket frequently, this might not be the place for you as it is a quite far from the actual town.
I would recommend with younger children that you request to be lakeside, as you have to cross the street to get to the restaurant and lobby.
There are pools on both sides of the street, so we will request lakeside next time.

Make sure you check out Lucky, the baby elephant at the Sheraton! The kids love him

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

As mentioned in previous reviews the Allamanda is at the stage where it does need some serious work done on it to bring it up to date ... but as far as a place to have a great holiday in Phuket it offers a great experience.

My partner ,two very good friends and I stayed in an Allamanda suite right on the lagoon. The apartment is spread over 3 floors with a roof top balcony for relaxing. There was plenty of room for all of us and an adequate kitchen with limited cooking facilities if you wanted to stay in for a meal. But why would you!!! You're in the land of Thai food and with the village of Cherngtalay on your doorstep, the dining options are endless. We had breakfast everyday at the Allamanda ... and my waist line thanks you for the fine spread every morning.

We pretty much dined at the Black Cat every night. Good food at an excellent price and they offer free diner pick-up and delivery back to your resort. (I think most of the major restaurantsI couldn't speak highly enough of the Black Cat staff, service and dining experience.

The staff at the Allamanda were also a delight to deal with. Never any problems and pretty much instant attention to issues raised. Our only real problem was a jug that didn't work and that was replaced almost instantly with a big urn ... so plenty of constant hot water for cups of tea. The room was serviced daily and was always spotless on our return from our island explorations

The pool at the Allamanda was a beauty...and at the time of year we went; rarely was it crowded. In fact it would be a rare occasion when it wasn't just us enjoying the warm water and the spitting Thai style fountains.

The ferries too and from the beach run pretty much to time and there was never a huge wait. Bang Tao beach is a beautiful stretch of sand and was never crowded. Good swimming and plenty to do and see. A massage with the girls on the beach is a must. An every day treat if you have the budget.

It appears Best Western have now taken over the management of the Allamanda and hopefully they invest some time and money into doing up the rooms and the cosmetic work that desparately needs work. It wouldn't want to be left much longer.

I would return to the Allamanda as it is part of the wonderful Laguna complex and offers so much. I was a little concerned at the size of the whole place prior to travelling there as I'm much more into privacy and seclusion (last trip we stayed at the Chedi, but that is now out of my price range), but the layout of the whole resort means I never felt crowded or overwhelmed by people. I imagine peak season could be very busy though.

Learn some Thai, engage with the locals, embrace the culture and have fun. You'll thoroughly enjoy yourself ... and you could do a lot worse than basing your Phuket adventure at the Allamanda.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
2.6 km away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#30 of 36 in Choeng Thale
69 reviews
2.5 km away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
586 reviews
3.8 km away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
0.4 km away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,090 reviews
2.8 km away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#22 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: ₹ 2,736 - ₹ 12,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Choeng Thale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing