We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 123
US$ 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
US$ 141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 252
US$ 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
US$ 118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 293
US$ 194
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Angsana Villas Resort Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
US$ 835
US$ 647
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
87
115
44
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
115
44
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaguna phuketservices apartmentmovenpick hotelshuttle busbang tao beachover christmas and new yearmicrowave ovendoor stepliving roomswimming poolbig fridgeown transportshower gelconvenience storedirect accesspatong areanice beach
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Hotel needs refurbishing to upgrade to acceptable standard - both facilities and staff.Constant noise from thousands of screaming birds keep guests awake throughout the night.Management is invisible here and has not solved the bird problem - perhaps they are not even aware of it !.Birds seemed to be valued more than guests.Beach area/reception/main pool/cafe area are all very scruffy and in poor condition.Staff seem overworked and demotivated.
Poor value in comparison with other Laguna Hotels - not to be recommended.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank laguna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Needed to stay within the Laguna complex, so booked 2 nights via Latestays. Great rates for this time of the year - and thus decided to stay at Allamanda (ordinary rooms, no kitchenette) and take a chance.

1) We checked in at 11:00pm - the room key wouldn't work. Takes 15 mts+, sweating in the heat to go back down 3 floors, cross the road, convince the guy that you really have a problem and wait for attention. The front desk had an attitude that the wrong key should be the guests problem. Anyway, they used the master key to let us in and told us to go get new keys the next AM.

2) Get in the room - settle in - to find out the drain plug was jammed in so essentially the only sink was unusuable - now close to midnight. One service tech showed up, but had to call for backup help. We fell asleep waiting for the next guy and then hung the Do not disturb sign. Called the next AM, a tech did show up and sort out the problem in 15 mts.

3) Front desk attitude is rather poor - maybe they are harried, desensitized with all the customer complaints about things that don't work. All told a downward spiral that needs to be arrested. A few dollars of grouting to spruce up the bathroom !

4) I believe we stayed in the Wing Run by Best Western (management can correct - if they read these - but it was above the Allamanda Mini Mart). Some units/buildings are owned by indvidual owners and serviced by CBRE....whereas others are serviced by Best Western. All check in is handled by Best Western. A bit more friendliness would go a long way.

Anyway, we were in/out for two nights - shame to see this aged and tired resort within Laguna being the flagbearer for declining standards - unfriendly faces - lower rates..... Laguna Holiday Club (sometimes in the same price range) - has a fantastic staff attitude. Go benchmark them, or rotate the staff.

Goodluck - don't waste your location, any goodwill you've built up by being part of Laguna...giving people affordable vacations. You'll be doing the staff a career favor by sharing guest feedback. Get the property up to snuff - (just read a Japanese tri-athletes review that all his bath water ended up under the floor - but since he was checking out anyway, it didn't become a issue).

Would not recommend to anyone looking for a quiet hassle free vacation.
Would recommend to anyone price conscious and needing to stay inside Laguna.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinationSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. The staff was friendly and brought towels quickly when requested. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was 2 rooms (one king, one with 2 twin beds) joined together by a living area. The living area consisted of a kitchenette which was basically stocked to get by ( a bigger pot to cook pasta would have been great). A table to eat at, and a step down living area with couch, love seat and tv. Balconies off each room. The rooms were very neat and although the beds were on the hard side, we all slept great. This living area gave us plenty of room to spread out in.
We had an issue with the drain in the kids shower. Mentioned it to the staff, but it never seemed to get fixed. We just had them shower in ours.
The pools at the resort are OK. The kids (ages 4, 8 and 10) enjoyed splashing around, but they enjoyed the neighboring hotels pools much more.
Apparently you can purchase a pass to let you use all of the Laguna hotels ammenities. We just jumped over and checked them out without the pass. We were never asked if we had one.
The Laguna Beach Resort and Holiday Club had water slides that my kids enjoyed.

The food in the restaurant was good. The breakfast was enjoyable each morning, as it was included in our price. We ate lunch and dinner there occasionally and the food was good.
The boat ride to the beach and other resorts was fun and quick. There is also a free shuttle to take you between resorts.
We would definitely stay here again. The price was good, the room was nice and the location was fun. The beach is gorgeous!! Clear water - white sand!
If you want to go into the town of Phuket frequently, this might not be the place for you as it is a quite far from the actual town.
I would recommend with younger children that you request to be lakeside, as you have to cross the street to get to the restaurant and lobby.
There are pools on both sides of the street, so we will request lakeside next time.

Make sure you check out Lucky, the baby elephant at the Sheraton! The kids love him

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

As mentioned in previous reviews the Allamanda is at the stage where it does need some serious work done on it to bring it up to date ... but as far as a place to have a great holiday in Phuket it offers a great experience.

My partner ,two very good friends and I stayed in an Allamanda suite right on the lagoon. The apartment is spread over 3 floors with a roof top balcony for relaxing. There was plenty of room for all of us and an adequate kitchen with limited cooking facilities if you wanted to stay in for a meal. But why would you!!! You're in the land of Thai food and with the village of Cherngtalay on your doorstep, the dining options are endless. We had breakfast everyday at the Allamanda ... and my waist line thanks you for the fine spread every morning.

We pretty much dined at the Black Cat every night. Good food at an excellent price and they offer free diner pick-up and delivery back to your resort. (I think most of the major restaurantsI couldn't speak highly enough of the Black Cat staff, service and dining experience.

The staff at the Allamanda were also a delight to deal with. Never any problems and pretty much instant attention to issues raised. Our only real problem was a jug that didn't work and that was replaced almost instantly with a big urn ... so plenty of constant hot water for cups of tea. The room was serviced daily and was always spotless on our return from our island explorations

The pool at the Allamanda was a beauty...and at the time of year we went; rarely was it crowded. In fact it would be a rare occasion when it wasn't just us enjoying the warm water and the spitting Thai style fountains.

The ferries too and from the beach run pretty much to time and there was never a huge wait. Bang Tao beach is a beautiful stretch of sand and was never crowded. Good swimming and plenty to do and see. A massage with the girls on the beach is a must. An every day treat if you have the budget.

It appears Best Western have now taken over the management of the Allamanda and hopefully they invest some time and money into doing up the rooms and the cosmetic work that desparately needs work. It wouldn't want to be left much longer.

I would return to the Allamanda as it is part of the wonderful Laguna complex and offers so much. I was a little concerned at the size of the whole place prior to travelling there as I'm much more into privacy and seclusion (last trip we stayed at the Chedi, but that is now out of my price range), but the layout of the whole resort means I never felt crowded or overwhelmed by people. I imagine peak season could be very busy though.

Learn some Thai, engage with the locals, embrace the culture and have fun. You'll thoroughly enjoy yourself ... and you could do a lot worse than basing your Phuket adventure at the Allamanda.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We are a family of 5 and find it very difficult to stay in places which are family friendly and have the right kind of accommodation for us. Allamanda was perfect. We had a two bedroom 'golf villa' which was really an apartment complete with kitchen, dining and lounge room. The resort is low key and the staff are friendly and relaxed. The menu is limited but has excellent selections for the kids. The Hotel is on beautiful Bang Tao beach and is linked to the other resorts at Laguna. The other resorts have terrific pools including one with a water slide. You are supposed to get a day pass to use the other facilities we never bought one and were never asked. Great place for a family holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUMOFTHREESYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews