We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice layout 2 bedroom apartment but with limited facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Great accommodation for family due to spacious apartment. Allocated apartment across road from reception, away from the lake overlooking golf course but not particularly inconvenient. Whilst resort did have a small provision shop, advisable to stock up before getting to the hotel. Free bus shuttle was useful to get around the laguna area although the boat transfers were more fun.

Breakfast buffet was limited but adequate. Beach is a bit of a distance away and the hotel has limited activities to keep the kids busy so its important to plan your days well as there is a lot to keep over active teenagers busy around Phuket

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 154 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2009

We booked a Junior Suite with Golf View. We wanted to have a separate bedroom so our child could go to sleep while we stay in the living room. The suite was quite comfortable. The bedroom was a little bit small, especially after the cot was put there, but we used it only to sleep. Kitchen was OK.
Since we had a Golf View room, it was very quiet : no car traffic, nobody, nothing.
I guess the Pool View rooms are quite noisy since there are always children there.
Breakfast buffet was OK.
The resort is next to 6-8 other resorts, so I guess it gets really busy during high season. When we were there, there were less than 10% occupancy.
I was disappointed that the beach was so far from the hotel. You need to walk to the reception area, wait for the shuttle boat to bring you to the other side of the laguna, then walk upstairs to the (small) beach. This is quite a lot of hassle with a little child. And we were lucky to be off season, so that we could always get into the boat. I can imagine it is really crowded otherwise.
The baby sitter charges quite a lot, not like on Langkawi in Malaysia where there was no commission for the hotel...
We had a problem with the bathroom : we came back at the end of the afternoon to find red brown water spilled everywhere on the floor of the bathroom and the bedroom. This was quite a hassle because it was the evening where we wanted to leave our child with the baby sitter, but obviously, you cannot have a child sleeping while the staff cleans up the mess and repairs the bathroom... They wanted us to move, but we were quite reluctant at colleting our stuff and walking in this water... So we finally got a second room just for our child and the baby sitter and only for this evening. We only needed to convince them not to charge us...
We tried the spa : really nice but very expensive. I noticed afterwards there are a lot of spas just outside of the resort. I am sure some can offer the same service for less money.
The golf driving range and course are really nice. Take your clubs with you!
We had an elephant ride in the resort with our child. Take the short one, the long one is not worth the money since you just ride through the resort. We had a short one and it was enough excitment for our child and to take some pictures.
I recommend the Black Cat to have dinner. They give you a complimentary pickup at and return trip to your hotel. Very cheap and excellent!
The Chaba was not so far but really expensive. Nice view and nice food.
You can rent a car in the resort at resort prices. Or just take the shuttle to the exit and walk a little bit to rent a car for less money. Be careful : you must leave an ID. My husband left his national ID, NOT his passport.
Do not take a taxi in the resort. They charge you a fortune! Take the shuttle to the exit and then bargain one of the taxi drivers outside. Always pay the exact amount, because they always pretend to have no change... This is a negative point on Phuket : everybody tries to make money out of the tourists, doesn't matter whether you are white or Thai (this happend to a Thai friend of us as well...)
We found a huge outlet village that had just opened and that I can only recommend. Nice quality, no fake, and real outlet prices, especially the brands produced in Thailand (eg Adidas, Guy Laroche, etc...) and the children clothes. And of course with GST refund service (you get a bill that you can show off at the airport. The GST is refunded cash, very useful to buy a snack at the airport when you have no baht left).
We had a very relaxing week, but only if you don't care about the "get the maximum out of the tourists" mentality. I would not recommend it during high season.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girafe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

What a dissapointment this hotel was ,I took a total of six guest . they are doing the place up, they really need to do something .our bathroom was a disgrace the first shower the walls run green with mold. HAd my mother inlaw booked on the ground floor no she was put on the second floor and she is in her eighties

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosiewigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed here in March with out two young children. This trip was about relaxation and getting away from work for us. We loved the hotel and have to force ourselves to travel other places in Asia to see the sights rather than go back here again. We were able to get two rooms and a large livingroom/kitchen for the same price as other hotels with only one room. The pool was simple, with no frills but it suited us perfectly, as our kids were 4 and 2. The hotel is part of the Laguna Resort so we were able to take the boat ferry around th Lagoon and see the other hotels. Our kids loved to ride the ferry and we had access to all the other hotel restuarants and facilities. The beach was a ferry ride away and there were tons of things to do. The hotel staff was very courteous and helped us plan an excursion to see the elephants. There were elephants on the premises and some good shopping. All in all we are anxious to go back and hope to do before we leave Korea.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviaryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel has offers on all the time you need to search various sites but booked a buy one night get one night free promotion and in fact have done the same and rebooked for October which when applied worked out at £40 per night - I think that is great value - but would not like to be paying full price of £80 - great resort location with free buses etc to other hotels in Laguana where you can charge back to you room etc etc - BUT the hotel prices for food and drink are expensive (breakfast was included) - the downer is the taxi mafia trying to charge extotionate prices even for short distances as the free transport only covers INSIDE the resort - my advice get free transport to closest hotel to the bars / restaraunts off site and walk the few yards to the longish road where you will find some very nice places to eat and drink - if you then need a taxi / tuktuk they will be a lot cheaper - although I ALWAYS have a car when in Phuket as the tuktuk prices are way over the top unlike BKK - but room great with living room - en suite bedroom with extra king size bed kitchenette balcony - ours was golf course view and swimming pool within 50 yards from balcony

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
2.5 km away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
584 reviews
4.0 km away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
343 reviews
2.6 km away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#30 of 36 in Choeng Thale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
0.4 km away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,086 reviews
0.9 km away
Cassia Phuket
Cassia Phuket
#1 of 14 in Bang Tao Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#22 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: ₹ 2,538 - ₹ 11,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Choeng Thale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing