We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay clear in the low season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This resort needs a complete management overhaul.

The room we had was fantastic. Huge living area, connecting bedroom to the kids etc, but there are a lot of negatives.

1. The whole resort felt like it was closed. It practically was, due to renovations in another wing.

2. The restaurant was running on a bare minimum and almost everything we ordered on the menu was out of stock.

Only one bottle of wine was available on the whole wine list

They only had one desert left. Fried banana.
We asked for gelato from the gelato bar.... 2 chocolate and 2 mango please.
They only had 1 scoop of chocolate left in the whole resort...

3. The minimart didn't even stock milk that was in date. We waited 3 days for fresh milk to be delivered.

4. We ran out of tea bags in our room, so we called Housekeeping to bring some up.

45 mins later, after a second call there was a knock on the door with a waiter and 4
tea bags asking us to sign a bill for 54 baht !!

Its due to the restaurant being managed separately by another company not owned by the resort. But we called housekeeping...not the restaurant.

It shouldn't have mattered where we called. You don't get charged for tea bags that have run out in your room.

5. The front desk staff are thick.
We asked to be taken down to the nearby Canal village area so the kids could ride an elephant. When the bus arrives, we hop on and the driver starts driving out of the Laguna area to take us on a jungle trek with elephants. Not what we asked for and not ideal for a 3 & 5 year old.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JetsetterinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just enjoyed an amazing holiday with friends where we stayed at the Allamanda for 13 nights. The accommodation was fantastic. We had a 2 bedroom suite with bathroom facilities in both rooms. Our teenage boys had plenty of room and the rooms were immaculate and serviced every day. The staff were just wonderful and nothing was a problem. Everyone at the resort were so friendly, professional and welcoming. Having security guards around the resort was also very reassuring. The surrounding were very quiet which mean't for a great nights sleep. The gardens and grounds were beautifully maintained and the entire area around the resort was just so clean. While we ere there they were re-tiling and upgrading other rooms in the complex as well. The restaurant was good however a little pricey however we did dine at a small restaurant that catered for all of our fussy teenage kids not far from the resort. "The Black Cat" offered free shuttle to and from the restaurant. The staff at reception were always happy to ring and arrange this for us. We used the laundry facility at the resort but did find this a little pricey as well. But we did find a laundry service that was part of the huge accommodation complex at Laguna Beach Resort who would do the laundry considerably cheaper. So use the free ferry shuttles and the shuttle bus to access all the Accommodation facilities around "The Laguna". It's amazing what you can find and the facilities that are on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tannanboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My wife and I traveled to Bang Tao for the 4th time and the 3rd time at Allamanda. I was really impressed by the friendly nature of all the staff. They were more than happy to have a friendly joke and even helped me to learn some Thai words.

After ten days of intense Thai food, mainly purchased from the beach restaurants, my body went into close down mode resulting in me not feeling to well. I didn't show for breakfast and all of the staff inquired where I was and showed concern for my health. The same concern was shown by the house keeping staff. It was like staying with a good family friend.

We got a one bedroom appt that was fantastic, overlooking the golf course. The pool was quiet and for us, no kids club meant we had a very peaceful trip. My wife and I are over the busy nature of Patong so Bang Tao provides us with a wonderful sanctuary. There are wonderful restaurants and bars all around and although quiet due to low season meant not everything was open, we still had a great time.

The free wireless internet was fast and we have had no problems with it.

Taxis in the area will provide a fair price if you challenge them.

Not impressed with the Sales approach of the Laguna holiday club but we will get over it.
We have stayed at other Laguna properties and Allamanda is for us.

we will be back in 2 years.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddyatpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Unclean, out of date, too expensive, poor service, not much happening in Laguna (overpriced, no atmosphere, could have been anywhere in the world)
Choose another beach and you will be much happier!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is the 3rd time the wife and I have stayed at the Allamanda - and again we have had a relaxing and highly enjoyable stay. A lot has happened in the 3 years since we were here last and the whole Laguna area is now showing its age. Best Western are now managing 2 of the 3 Allamanda apartment buildings while the other is managed by CBRE. We were upgraded from a junior suite to a one-bedroom apartment and the room was very spacious with several recent improvements. Special mention goes to the refurbished bathroom. Which is now as good as any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. The laguna complex is getting a little tired but some recent improvements (I assume since Best Western started) have helped. I am writing this review using their free wireless broadband and have not had a problem in several days of use. We love the privacy and low key environs of Bangtao / Laguna, which adds greatly to our highly relaxed state once we leave. Staff are very friendly and responsive to our requests. Breakfast was the usual buffet fare and of average standard. We cannot comment on dinner as there are many fabulous restaurants (ranging from cheap to expensive) on the beach or within suitable travelling distance. Our major issue was with the bed - while massive, it was way too hard and I did not really get a good sleep. This is not what I would expect of a modern hotel and really needs some work. We were surprised with some of the earlier unfavourable reviews and after talking to some long term guests, it appears that Best Western and CBRE are now managing different parts of the complex. My assessment is that the major factor in whether a review was favourable or unfavourable is the building (and therefore which managing company) people stay in. It seems our stay benefitted by booking via Best Western.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GandM_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
2.6 km away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#30 of 36 in Choeng Thale
69 reviews
2.5 km away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
586 reviews
3.8 km away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
0.4 km away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#8 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,090 reviews
2.8 km away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#22 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: ₹ 2,724 - ₹ 12,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Choeng Thale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing