We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Felt like paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived after midnight after a grueling total 19 hours of flying. The grounds were so beautiful, even in the middle of the night. The staff seemed as if they were waiting just for us to arrive. Great service. Our room was lovely, large, with every convenience we could want. My birthday fell during our stay here, and one afternoon there was a birthday cake left for me. What a nice gesture - having someone give me a birthday cake while I was so far away from home. There is a wonderful sunset dance performed every evening at the infinity pool. The flavor of Thai traditions is everywhere, and there are quite a few programs to participate in. My husband treated me to a his and hers spa treatment for my birthday and it was wonderful and luxurious. I just cannot say enough about this beautiful and exceptional hotel. But then, it is Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pafw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,832
    740
    175
    65
    31
See reviews for
1,566
1,237
116
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury WA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at the beautiful foyer, we were made to feel welcome and started to kick back. Travelling as a family group with two teenagers, the rooms and facilities were perfect for all us. Plenty of activities if we wanted to be busy, plenty of pools and day beds if we wished to relax! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly but never intrusive. The breakfast buffet is the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: The Garden view rooms were more than adequate - large, great decor, deep bath etc - although they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodview103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We first stayed in this hotel to meet friends who had already booked there. I was definitely reluctant at first, as we do not normally opt for large resort style hotels. We have now lost count of the number of times that we have visited the JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa because it seems to get the balance between providing things for children and adults just right. Our children are always asking when we will next stay there.

There are enough restaurants to offer variety for a one week holiday. Our favourites for family dining are the Japanese and Thai restaurants. The buffet breakfast is superb, especially if you can beat the rush. The Siam Deli is a nice casual alternative if you just want to grab a snack. All of the restaurants seem really stretched when the hotel is near full capacity though. Long waits and regular errors are the order of the day. If you arrive at peak periods like Christmas or Chinese New Year, I would definitely recommend making all of your dining reservations as soon as you arrive an be prepared for slow service once you get to the restaurants.

The activities programme is excellent and offers plenty of diversions for children who need to get in out of get sun to do some batik painting, arts and crafts etc. There is also a wide variety of DVDs, games etc. that can be used. One caveat about the children's play area is that there is no way that I would allow my children to stay there if we were not around to supervise. The staff appear to be incapable of keeping track of the number of children that are signed in at any given time.

The beach is usually too rough for children to swim in but there are plenty of pool options. The family pool with the slide is obviously a major hit and there is an adult pool at the far end of the resort for those who want a bit more peace and quiet. THere is never any shortage of loungers although that does not stop some guests from 'bagging' their favourites with towels etc. in the morning and never returning until much later in the day. The massages and hair braiding by the beach are very popular with adults and children alike and represent excellent value. The hotel spa is pleasant but obviously massages there are much more expensive than those offered by hawkers near the beach.

It can be a little too easy to never venture out of the resort for the duration of your stay, but I think that to get the most from your holiday, it is worth hiring a car and heading out for a couple of side trips. There are wonderful boat trips that can be taken off the east coast, there are still fabulous little beach shacks that serve fresh seafood dotted along the coast. There is a water park a few minutes' drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our second visit to the hotel did not disappoint. The pool was still gorgeous, the grounds still as beautiful and the staff still as lovely as the first time. It was great to recognise the same pool guys who still bring you complimentary iced water and fresh fruit and a friendly chat but also peace when you are relaxing. The rooms are stunning, kept beautifully clean and we had a turn down service which was also very nice. Yes it is expensive (compared to other places in Thailand) and you are a captive market due to the remote nature of the hotel (this remoteness, I feel is a plus). However, there are ways to compensate for this. For example take advantage of the free 2 hour bicycle hire (go to the gym) you can also kayak for free in the stunning Andaman ocean. Get a local taxi (at Turtle village) to the nearby beach of Nai Yang where there are lots of cheap tasty beachside restaurants if you are not a fan of hotel food (I preferred to eat here, the food really was delicious and cheap). The Siam Deli at the hotel does huge breakfasts which lasted me through to the evening and the portion sizes are generally huge. So being English guests of moderate appetite we did not have to spend too much on food. We took advantage of 'happy hour' at the Blue Bar most nights. (Not cheap but this was a cheaper way of treating ourselves!)
We visited in October last time and found the resort to be quieter but it was impossible to swim in the sea due to a strong current. This time we visited in the Easter holidays and it was a lot busier. We were able to swim in the ocean however, this was fantastic particularly because we found that in order to have any chance of using the sunloungers by the pool we had to reluctantly join in with the process of basically 'reserving' them at breakfast time. Between a family of 4 we saved 2 loungers and as soon as we left the pool we left the loungers free for others to use. Other families/guests were less considerate and had reserved loungers for toddlers aswell as adults and would go off for hours leaving their belongings on the chairs whilst other families had nowhere to sit. This was the only downside to our stay (inconsiderate 'spoilt' guests) We were at the hotel during the tsunami threat and for several hours people were evacuated from ground and first floor rooms. It must have been a worrying time for the staff, in particular, who had lived through the real experience in 2004. Most stayed at the hotel but understandably a lot had to go and take care of their families. During the evening we witnessed an Indian guest shouting at a member of staff over a trifling matter which we found absolutely disgusting, considering the extraordinary circumstances we had just been through. The staff did an amazing job of reassuring the guests and trying to make sure everyone stayed calm (which we did, as a result of their calm professionalism). The staff work very long hours but never fail to smile and make your stay pleasant. I disagree with the comments that the customer service is 'fake'. The staff are amongst the best I have ever come across, they are friendly and one of the best things about this lovely hotel. I was very sad to leave when we departed for the airport...

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 3rd floor and found it to be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLEWIS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Everything in the hotel is great, staff is very nice.Very comfortable rooms, clean and spacious.Buitiful garden.What nobody says is that there is no beach chairs and umbrellas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
21.0 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
24.5 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,189 reviews
9.4 km away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
14.7 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Talang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,895 - ₹ 19,655
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing