We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phuket holiday April 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Phuket holiday April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is amazing luxurious and well equiped accommodation, with friendly staff, many activities, exercise programs with help and supportive staff, lovely pools, close to Turtle Village Shopping Centre. Shuttle service to beach each way if required. Taxi services excellent to explore island at 400 baht and hour which will take you down to Patong (takes about 55 minutes each way) and will wait or take you sight seeing around the beach and up to Phang Nga to see sunset on the bridge and wait while you have dinner and return you to the Marriott. If wishing to go to other islands such as James Bond or Phi Phi Island or see the Fantasea Show mini buses will transport you, no problem. They have a baby elephant that comes by the pool twice a day and you can go and swim with the elephant at the beach also twice a day which is just great. Surf is flat some days with no waves and others days can be dangerous so on these days the pool is best option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    238
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
551
261
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for the fourth time and I will still say it is a great place to stay with the family. We were here for 10 days with our two daughters who absolutely loves this place. The kids club and their staff is great and there are tons of things to do every day so you don't need to be at the pool all the time.
The main pool is the best one if you have small kids since they have a shallow part, the north and south pools are better if you need a little more quiet pool time.
There is a number of restaurants on the resort and we ate at the Siam Deli, Cucina, Andaman Grill and had breakfast once at the Marriott Cafe. The quality of the food is good but it is not particularly cheap. The best food we had was at the Andaman Grill where I had a surprisingly good rib eye steak. The breakfast is not as good as it used to be, less things to choose from and misses the mimosas that was available before.
If you want options for food there is not so much to choose from and that has always been one of the downsides to staying here. Our kids don't mind but it would be nice with some more local places to eat around here. There is a British pub in the Turtle village which is ok and it at least feels like you get away from the resort.
The other downside is that the rooms are getting run down. They have newly renovated the rooms but I can't say that it made a big difference. Flat screen TVs and upgraded kitchen appliances was needed but the floors are still looking really scruffy and old.
Service is still ok although if you stay during Easter week you will notice that since the place is packed sometimes you have to wait or ask to get served.
As long as our kids like it we will come back but if I was traveling alone with my wife the chances would be slim that we would come here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Ok, let's get the negatives out the way so anyone considering the Phuket Beach Club gets the full picture:

Location: the Marriott complex is in a relatively isolated area - that means if you want to leave the resort, options in the immediate vicinity are very limited and a trip to other areas is at very least a 30 minute drive away.

Prices: I accept that the JW Marriott is a top end resort and prices are therefore always going to be high, but the costs of food are certainly comparable to UK restaurants. That's fine except with the hotel being isolated, they have a bit of a captive audience and options are distinctly limited.

Thai Experience - the resort is lovely and luxurious but has a very "Marriott" feel about it - this is Marriott's vision of Thailand and must be seen in the context of a hotel resort with several hundred rooms etc. Everything about this hotel is international so I wouldn't come here if you want even a glimpse of the real Thailand (although one could ask whether Phuket is the real Thailand anyway?)

Kids - this is a family resort (huge plus for us!) so do not come to this resort if you are seeking something romantic or intimate (the next door Anatara may be more suitable if that's what you are after?). That said, we were at the resort over Easter and we found the kids facilities somewhat stretched with too many kids around the place! Marriott will need to consider/address this if they want to retain their excellent reputation as a kid friendly resort.

Beach - the resort is on what is apparently the longest beach in Phuket, however while it may look great in photos, the Mai Khao beach is quite steep, the sand cores and the sea rough with quite a strong under tow. While the resort offers kayaks, boogie boads and hobiescats for use, I was not comfortable with my kids playing in the sea. Again, if you are after a beach holiday, there are better beaches in Phuket.

However... this is still a wonderful resort for a family holiday. The 2 bed apartments are fantastic, the facilities (pools, gym, spa) amazing and the restaurants (especially the Japanese restaurant) are good.

If you are looking for a holiday destination that will keep your kids happy (and therefore allow you a relaxing break), you won't be disppointed with this resort.

Post Script: while we were at the resort there was an earthquake in Indonesia and the whole area was put on Tsunami alert. While thankfully there was no Tsunami, we were very impressed with the way that the hotel dealt with the situation. While obviously very worried, the staff acted professionally at all times and made us feel comfortable and reassured in the circumstances...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It's our second time at a Marriott resort at Mai Khao, and our first time at the Marriott's Phuket Beach Club. We had the all familiar warmth and hospitality from the staff. They were always accommodating and quick to heed our requests. I managed to bungle up he electronic safe, and a staff was sent to open it. I got a swollen wrist and someone from their Loss Prevention team came over and gave me a balm for the pain. My friend took some time to finish her laundry and it was nearing check out time, the staff did the laundry at the hotel laundry service at no extra cost. The crib and bottle sterilizer were ready when we got into the villa. Everywhere we go we get smiles and greetings from the staff.
My kids totally enjoyed the trip. Especially playing at the beach and pool area, and seeing the elephants that visit the resort everyday. They have lots of activities for children. While we were at the playground there was a group of children dressed as pirates and going on a scavenger hunt.
The nearby Turtle Mart has most of what you will need, there's not even a need to go to the bigger Tesco stores.
What I love most is the quiet beach and the cheap massage by the local aunties by the beach.
My only complain is that they put us at the farthest end of the North complex where there was a construction going on 24/7. It was very noisy if you happen to sleep in one of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Thank you Marriot for such a wonderful stay. Just sit back, relax and enjoy the resort. The only quirks...the adjacent more expensive JW Marriott is the one sea-facing which is a hotel shuttle away. Also for the good and the bad, you are away from the "main" Patong and other shopping areas. But we really enjoyed the 2-bedroom villa with plunge pool and the authentic Thai dining at the seaside restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manish117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
21.0 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.9 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Address: 230, 232 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,183 - ₹ 95,752
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ostrovok so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing