We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here just for one night in one of the pool villa in May 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was tastefully designed and comes with a king-sized bed that was so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of. The bathroom was spacious. Since we have a pool inside our villa we didn't manage to spend any time at the pool by the beach, although it looks very nice indeed. The highlight must be the breakfast. Arguably the largest spread with great quality of any hotel breakfast around. Another great thing about the Renaissance Phuket must be its location on Maikhao beach with its wide beach that goes on for miles and miles with hardly anybody around. 2 thumbs up for this hotel.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    495
    97
    28
    10
See reviews for
677
1,282
102
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Renaissance for 4 nights as part of a wedding group. We stayed in a deluxe room. The rooms are great!! They are spacious, modern style, very clean, the king size bed was SO comfortable! The pools are great!! One smaller one and a large infinity pool down by the beach which is stunning, also by the pool there is a bar/restaurant which offers bar food and also does great cocktails, they do a happy hour every night around 5pm. Above the bar is a Thai restaurant and the food is amazing!! The buffet breakfast is the best, soo much variety and choice, you can choose your eggs every day (I had eggs benedict YUM!!) fresh made juices and smoothies, and even a selection of local icecream! Absolute 10 out of 10 for the breakfast! Make sure you check out the Marriott resort down the road from renaissance (sister hotel - the renaissance provide free shuttle to Marriott) it is a much bigger resort and they have more restaurants to choose from and they also do shows daily down by the beach. Ask reception at renaissance for info. The ONLY downside of this resort is the location, the only thing close by is a strip of 5 star resorts. I think it is about a 45 minute drive to patong beach. But if you want to just chill out and relax in a beautiful resort then this is the place!!! Beautiful resort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyandJosh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

It was in June 2012 when my husband and I booked this retreat from our busy daily live to Phuket. We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights. We were invited to have a look at the rooms before me made our decision whether we wanted to stay there at all. But fear not: as soon as I saw the room, I was sold! This 1 bedroom with a glass front to the bath and the unique view over the hotel area just made it for me. We secured our booking immediately.

You have to know that June is part of their rainy season. We were lucky to have enjoyed true bliss with sunshine and we did not mind at all that the rain occasionally wet the air for us.

The highlight of our stay here was without a doubt the friendliness of the staff. They endeavoured and succeeded in nearly reading all our wished right from our lips and entertained us perfectly. All staff members always had a moment to chat, share their insights where we should go and what we 'had' to see. They even introduced my husband to the secret of having a coconut filled with icecream for breakfast - it was delicious I have to add! The breakfast buffet was out of this world: freshly prepared omletts, endless choices of freshly made juices - but the friendliness of the staff just simply topped our experience.
Even after my little accident (I slipped while not watching where I was walking on the beach - NOT near the hotel...) the entire staff (including the manager) endeavoured again to make our stay memorable - the fresh flowers and the hand-crafted little animals made out of towels simply washed away any little pain I felt in my knee.

And then there was the food... Well: if you don't like to eat Thai Food, then don't go there anyway! But if you must know: Enjoy some delicious small bites in the 'Sandbox' BUT... take your time to truly and entirely indulge in the unique deliciousness at the restaurant ABOVE the 'Sandbox'... And remember: say that you don't like it hot... you will thank me for this later...

So in summary: if you are tossing whether to stay at this hotel or not: JUST DO IT! GO FOR IT! They will make you feel like home - at least this is what we felt like for our entire stay.

Kop Kun Kah! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: go for the top level rooms - better view...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel locates in the tranquil spot which is hard to find in Phuket. Mai Khao beach is long and beautiful, although the time I visited the waves were very strong, and swimming in the ocean was encouraged. The swimming pool on the beach is a good replacement. The hotel architecture is modern, but good taste blending with the nature and surrounding atmosphere. The breakfast is superp and having it on the terrace in front of a small water fall is like being in a paradise. The service is excellent and people who work there are friendly with good attitude. The place is far from entertainment venue and going to Patong Beach or Phuket town is not easy, unless you have a car or renting one. However, if you do not care for those social activities, this place is already perfect for body and mind. It gives a sense of slow, peaceful vibe, which is what I need for a holiday.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

On arrival everything was ready for us and it must have been less than 5 minutes before we were shown to the villa. The villa had a problem with the air conditioning, we moved within minutes to a new villa and were told due to the inconvenience(!) breakfast was complimentary and we were also provided free drinks and snacks, what a start !
The service at the beach bar was excellent, free ice cream, constant attention to detail.
The villa is luxurious, the restaurant superb and the breakfast one of the best I have seen.

The staff were genuinely friendly all the time.
Overall a fantastic experience.

Only tip i will give is to get the local taxis, 700 baht for a minbus , there were 5 of us in a 10 seater , modern and clean.

Room Tip: if you can afford it go for the villas which have own private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigeckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
19.8 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
23.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
33.3 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
29.9 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,129 - ₹ 20,795
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport, it is adjacent to Sirinath Marine National Park.The resort offers 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool. Golf is available nearby. For your gastronomical journey the hotel offers an all day dining restaurant with fresh ingredient at Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant, The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Prestigia so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing