We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & so kind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful & so kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Has spent 4 days there as a stop by between Shanghai & Paris. Single. Hotel is really beautiful somewhere lost in the trees and with water all around. It starts with the reception opened with no walls and a beautiful view on a water fall (fake but nice) Even at 2:30 am in the morning, hotel crew is so kind and gentle. Deluxe bedroom is not so big but everything is there. Breakfast is quite good but I was disapointed not finding any fresh orange juice in such an amazing place (seems to be difficult in Phuket...) Thai restaurant is real good but you can find same quality of food outside for a better price. Swimming pool is marvelous and the beach is amazing (apparently you have to cross the road in numerous hotels in Phuket to go to the beach - here you don't...) if you want to play / learn golf, ask the reception to book some time with Blake Ellison from Blue Canyon Country Club. Just the best coach to learn this sport in a beautiful ground...looking forward to come back there next year..a very nice stop by close to the aiport (30' max)

Room Tip: Deluxe bedrooms are all quite the same and close to the restaurant. Seems that villas near the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    494
    97
    28
    10
See reviews for
675
1,276
102
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent a few days here with a group of friends on the tail end of a school trip to Vietnam. The accommodations were breathtaking and the service excellent. We stayed in the three room private villa which overlooked the beach and included three private pools, and came back to fresh drinks and treats every afternoon! The beach is private and offers a nice, secluded spot for relaxation. Getting around the rest of the island was easy but did require a bit of a drive and there is only one real local restaurant in the area. However if you are looking for a beautiful, quite beachfront resort outside of the business of south Phuket, this resort is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My partner and I depart today after six nights at the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, and because we left the property only a few times, it's been our home all week, and we hate to leave it. We were in Phuket for a week in 2009 at another Marriott property, and, while we enjoyed our time then, our experience here at the Renaissance far exceeded our expectations in every way.

I'm a Platinum Rewards member of Marriott because of all the business travel I do, so I've stayed in many properties over the last several years. This property really is amazing. We stayed in a beachfront pool villa where Thai architectural influences meet ultra modern. Six star quality is everywhere from the the stone and wood floors to the glass shower and the huge stone tub, all surrounded with glass walls--then there is the beautiful private infinity pool surrounded by lush foliage. The villas are completely high tech too with every detail well thought out from the various lighting options to the wardrobe area to the bathroom door that opens right into the steps down into the pool. It's no wonder we rarely left the resort!

The grounds are beautiful with flowers everywhere, tall pines on the expansive lawn, two infinity pools and ocean views and the sound of the crashing surf against the wonderful beach. Every sunrise and sunset were moments we wanted to capture with our camera.

The customer service is top notch. So many smiling faces and greetings by every Renaissance associate. It's clear that they enjoy their work and are completely focused on taking care of the guests. It's true that the English language isn't always easily understood, but it gave us a chance to attempt to use our limited Thai to communicate. And in every encounter, the staff were gracious and worked hard to understand us. The language issue makes the resort feel even more authentically Thai.

We could list so many names of the staff who were so wonderful to us during our stay, but I'm sure we'd be leaving someone out. The General Manager, Jason, seems to have the secret to creating a great guest experience that is "comfortably cool" and always welcoming.

We enjoyed the Quan Spa, also, some architect's small masterpiece. The spa staff are truly amazing. We highly recommend the Thai massage. I had one there and one from a local on the beach. Both were great, but the spa provides the correct massage table so that the face and neck are in the right position for all of the wonderful moves that the therapist provides.

We spoke with the executive chef of the resort and told him how impressed that he has managed to create a wide range of local Thai favorites plus other Asian and Western options, all fresh and delicious. We had the same corner table almost every night at Takient, the resort's Thai restaurant. Superb! And the breakfast buffet? Not your typical resort buffet--the juice bar is fantastic as is the omelet station. Really the best breakfast buffet we've experienced anywhere in our travels.

The second pool set apart from the main pool in designated a children's pool with a children's play area. While there were some children at the resort this week, and they seemed quite happy with their parents, they did not in any way detract from the peace and solitude of this amazing resort.

We rely on TripAdvisor for real reviews by real people. If you are reading this review and trying to decide between the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa and some other place, you won't be disappointed with this place. In fact, like us, you're likely to have your expectations exceeded at every turn!

Room Tip: The pool villas are well worth the additional expense. And because this is a new property, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelerGuys2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I went for a total de-stress and it certainly provided that. If you were looking for bright lights, activity and action, this is not the place. The Hotel is part of a string of resorts in Mai Khao in an isolated strip, which means that if you wanted to escape the resorts you needed to pay exorbitant fees to local taxis (THB500 return for 3kms up the road to the Kin Dee restaurant, THB900 to Patong one way, THB500 one way to the airport).
Very little I could fault the hotel on; really, the only negative comment I could make was the inattentive service by the beach. The rooms were clean and well maintained; the housekeeping was excellent, the staff were extremely polite and friendly, and the facilities excellent.
As for the food - the breakfast was very good, with a very large selection to suit all tastes. I had one meal, a Pad Thai, at the Sand bar, and it was possibly the worst I had had. I did have room service, and the food arrived hot and was delicious. I ate most evenings at the local restaurants just past the adjoining Sala resort, which was all of a 5 minute walk along the beach. Great food!
There is a spa in the hotel complex, but prices were pushing the limit of what I considered reasonable. There is a small hut on the left of the resort on the beach where you can get massages for THB500, (again, every resort along this strip has these), but I couldn't rave about each of mine. You get what you pay for, and it helps support the locals, so was happy to subject myself to them on a regular basis.
I would be happy to return, but only if I wanted to relax and de-stress; if I wanted activity and interaction with a local town or community, or the opportunity of shopping and greater restaurant selection, then I would choose another location.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms don't have a lot of privacy - request a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurplePink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for two nights after being at Kamala Beach for two weeks. It is Paradise. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was amazing, I have never seem such choice and variety. The Beach is golden, clean and unspoilt. There is nothing much to do outside the hotel, but it suited us as it was the end of our holiday. Food was expensive compared to "real Thailand" but still value for money compared to the UK. The staff at the hotel are exceptional, helpful and always smiling. We will definitely return, although next time I will pre book a rate that includes dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
23.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
19.8 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
33.3 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 km away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#5 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.2 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,732 - ₹ 19,379
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport, it is adjacent to Sirinath Marine National Park.The resort offers 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool. Golf is available nearby. For your gastronomical journey the hotel offers an all day dining restaurant with fresh ingredient at Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant, The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing