We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here at the end of our 20 day Thailand vacation. Excellent way to wind down and relax. Staff, grounds, food, laundry all excellent. Wedding one night which kind of took over, but we just enoyed listening to their band while having a drink on the beach. Spa was booked, so enjoyed massage in hut on beach next door. Actually ended up being one of the best we had - nice listening to the ocean while getting massage! Would defiantely stay here again. Upgraded to resort view and free breakfast for Marriott Elite status.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dindelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,077 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Booked this hotel using Marriott points for our last night in Phuket area as it was so close to the airport. I wish we would have booked earlier and stayed longer! The staff and grounds made such a wonderful impression on my friends and me.

Check in was a fantastic experience. I had a few additional friends with me as they had an evening flight out and were going to wait at our hotel for a few hours before going to the airport. The staff took their bags, offered them drinks as if they were guests. The lobby was beautiful, wide open space and large couches where guests sit comfortably during check-in. I had Gold status with Marriott at that point, and as we were there during the off-season, we were upgraded from a double bed room to a private villa at no additional cost - AWESOME! The villa wasn't ready at the time we checked in, so we left our bags with the bellman and were taken by golf cart to the pool to wait.

The pool is wonderful, infinity style and overlooks the ocean. There's a small bar nearby with a sand floor that serves lounge food and drinks - the Siam Sunray the bartender whipped up for me was by far my favorite drink of the entire Thailand trip! The pool is a short walk to the beach, which had choppy waters and was a bit windy.

Our villa was wonderful - lots of windows and natural light, yet it felt private and secluded. The king bed overlooked our private pool and patio. One could open the sliding door from the living room and hop right into the pool. The bathroom was large with jacuzzi tub and had lots of sink space.

Breakfast in the morning was AWESOME. There were so many options to choose from, and something for everyone. We sat outside to eat overlooking the waterfall pond.

If you are looking for a few nights of luxurious seclusion, this is the hotel for you!! I do wish we had skipped the tourist trap of Phuket town and stayed here a few additional nights. I would definitely stay at this resort again if I were to venture back to the area.

I should mention - another hotel guest shared with me that she was walking alone a bit further down the beach and turned around to find a man watching her and touching himself. I never once felt unsafe during my stay here, as there are security guards positioned around the hotel at various spots, including overlooking the beach adjacent to the hotel. But as the hotel is on open grounds, I think the lesson here is that guests should be wary of walking too far away from the hotel unescorted.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas for a week. Very nice rooms, spacious, very clean. AMAZING breakfast and great pool and beach. It is out of the way so nothing much around if you are looking for activities but it is a perfect place for relaxation. The staff is great. If you need a rental car to go aroud the island ask the reception - they got me a great deal and car was delivered to the front of the lobby

Room Tip: Ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The hotel is amazing; the construction and decoration details make it lovely simple and comfortable. The service is unpreceless and the crew makes you feel at home and willing to come back.
The breakfast is maybe the best I had!!
The pool is excellent and the beach in front, although not a paradise, is good and quiet!!
The hotel is a bit alone and the nearest village is far but a few very good restaurants can be found at a 10 min walk serving excellent typical thai food.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fbrumsilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Me and my boyfriend instantly fell love with Renaissance. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed.

Renaissance is located at Mai Khao beach. Its about 15-20mins from the airport. We came from Patong as we stayed one night in Patong so that we can experience the hustle and bustle of the place. It's about 40mins away but it took us an hour as we took a tuk tuk. It's quite a fun journey, very scenic. You can ask the driver to stop if you want to take some photos. The tuk tuk ride was 900bhat. We really bargained a lot. Same price if you take a taxi. There's a shuttle bus service from Courtyard by Marriott Patong as well if you prefer a cheaper alternative (around 300bhat per person). From the main road, its around 10mins more? Or maybe it felt like 10mins because you'll pass by 4-5 more resorts before you reach the hotel. So you will really have that feeling that you're far away from the rest of the world!

The entrance and reception of the hotel is very inviting. It's very scenic and it has that relaxing feel to it.

The rooms are amazing. The design is very contemporary and tastefully decorated, not much Thai touch to it if you're looking for something with local design. We stayed at the pool villa and moved to the deluxe room for the last night as we needed to have a late check-out the next day and it will be quite costly if it's in the villa. Both the deluxe room and villa are big and spacious. All the furnishings and lighting is what you expect from a luxury resort.
The bed and all the beddings are very comfortable. We had a great sleep!
The one-bedroom villa was just gorgeous. You have privacy. High ceilings, very spacious. There's a plunge pool and loungers. The bathroom was huge. The bathtub was huge. Its just a very inviting place to relax and just be lazy.
The deluxe room was comfortable as well. There's a balcony with chairs where you can smoke or just relax. Big bathroom and bathtub. Impeccably clean. No complains!

They provide a lot of free water bottles. Their toiletries are Pecksniff's. I love that they have a ready beach bag in the room with towels. The villas has slippers too so you just grab the beach bag and head to the beach.

The service, two thumbs up! From the moment we arrived till we checked-out, the service was just impeccable. When we arrived, a welcome drink was awaiting for us and a cool towel. The staff greeted us and even made the effort to start a casual conversation while we were waiting for the check-in process to finish. We inquired if we can check the Pool Villa as my boyfriend was interested to upgrade and the staff was very helpful. We did upgrade in the end just seeing the villa it was a no brainer. Staff can communicate well which is always very important. Everyone is extremely friendly! They will always greet you. Even the gardener will greet you. Room service is prompt. If you request a buggy from the villa to take you elsewhere, they will be there within 10mins. When you want the room to be done, they will promptly tidy it up for you.

We tried all of their F&B establishment as we do not have any choice. We wanted to try to dine at the nearby JW Marriott but it often rained at night so we find it too troublesome. The Sandbox was so so. The western foods in the menu were good. Skip any local food. The Takieng (above Sandbox) had a few good dishes. The Green curry was great! Chicken and salad dishes were okay. Skip the desserts. We ordered a calamari dish, it was horrible. The fish was good. Service at Takieng is great. They are attentive and they know how to recommend dishes. Loca Vore is were the breakfast is served. The breakfast is delicious and I was always looking forward for the breakfast! But the variety I find was too little. The eggs were good and they have a lot of pastries and fruit selection. Doppio is more of a coffee shop, wasn't able to try. The drinks at THE LOUNGE (near the reception) ARE HORRIBLE. Skip the cocktails.

The pool was great, it had a whirlpool, the pool attendant is very helpful and attentive. They only have one pool though. The other pool near the Kids World are meant for children. There were slides and something of tree house? That part of the hotel is really child friendly. The children can play in the pool while parents can sun bathe in the loungers.
The pool is near Sandbox so if you're hungry from all that sun tanning, you can get a quick fix from there. I have to comment about the juices. They are made fresh so it really good. Sandbox has day beds as well if you prefer a much comfortable place to chill. There's a massage hut nearby Sandbox and the beach. Its only 400bhat for 1 hour you can choose a few massages. Its fairly good. Wasn't able to try Quan Spa. Only had a glimpse of the gym. It's open till late somehow and there's a trainer. They have classes as well for a fee like yoga on the beach stuff like that.

They have bikes you can rent (for free). I love the vintage pink bikes (they have it in blue too don't worry guys). We went to cycle till Turtle Village. It's a must activity, very fun.

The only nearby establishments are the other resorts, Turtle Village (nothing to see, things are expensive and there's Swensens in Singapore totally not for us). There are a few seaside cottages after Sala Resort. There's a souvenir shop and restaurants you might wanna try.

The beach is amazing. It's the opposite of Patong beach. It's one long stretch of peaceful white sandy beach. The hotel has loungers that you can push to the beach area. The water was quite rough so only experienced swimmers are advised to go in. It's the beach for you to relax maybe go meditate or soul-searching.

If you wanna go out of the hotel, you can take their shuttle bus. There are a few going to Phuket Town and Patong (i posted a picture of the rates). There are taxis outside as well you can just ask the reception to get one for you, be prepared to fork out 1000bhat 1-way to Patong or Phuket Town. They have a limousine service but of course it comes with a price. If you're comfortable driving, its the best transportation mode is to rent a car. They will bring it to the hotel and you can leave the keys at the reception once you need to return the car. It cost us 1200bhat for the car. 200bhat for the GPS (very helpful) and full tank will cost you 900bhat but if you're only gonna drive for 2 days, just pump 400-500bhat. It's quite easy to drive around in terms of direction. Peak hour in Patong is around 6pm try to avoid heading back around that time. It'll take you 1 hour plus maybe 2 hours! The traffic on the road facing Patong beach is horrible! It took us maybe 30mins or more to get to the highway. Driving at Phuket Town is quite tricky especially if you didn't research on where to go. Roads are quite hilly as well some are steep so non-experienced drivers, stick to the shuttle bus or taxi.

I only have praises for Renaissance. You really get the value for your money. Great hotel!

Room Tip: lower floors tend to have more families (with children) not all high floor have ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinkheadband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.3 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
23.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
933 reviews
19.8 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
1.2 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
29.9 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: ₹ 8,470 - ₹ 33,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing