We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on a busy Isand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Located next to a JW Marriott resort just a few miles from the airport, the Anantara is the perfect spot in Phuket. The villas are all the same with your own private plunge pool just outside your bedroom. You can literally step from your room into the pool. The service and hotel are great. If you know Thailand, than you know the people are lovely and so the staff here is what you would expect. Some of the villas are a long walk from the lobby or beach but a call to the desk brings a golf buggy/cart or you can use a bicycle. The hotel has a good feel to it, but could be considered remote from some places. I would stay there again. The pool was fantastic with beds in the shallow water and great pool service at the bar and various restaurants.

Room Tip: Save money and skip the Lagoon rooms. Every room is the same with your own private pool and it set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighTimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,102 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

This resort was unbelievable. I stayed in a Sala Pool Villa for the alst few nights of my honeymoon and can say the setting was gorgeous. The outdoor tub was part of the pool which came with a complimentary bath with rose petals and bath salts set up by your personal villa asst. The same with afternoon tea and the ceremonial Thai candle lighting ceremony. The over lagoon Sala was a great touch. The Salas are separated enough in the lagoon so that you feel like you are alone in your own private oasis.
The complimentary breakfast buffet options at La Sala were plentiful. Plenty of local fruits, pastries, cereals, thai breakfast dishes, meats, and cooks on hand for signature La Sala specialties like cinnamon crusted pancakes with apple compote and vanilla cream or smoked salmon eggs benedict. Sea.Fire.Salt is set by the pool by the beach and is a great setting for drinks or dinner. Since their specialty is artisan salts from across the globe, it is imperative that you try something cooked on heated salt slab. I also enjoyed the tableside charcoal skewers where you control the final cooking as they are presented rare but you can leave them on the skewers to your desired cooking. 4100 baht got us 4 cocktails, the sushi sashimi app, the charcoal skewer main and sea bass salt slab main. All meals and drinks include additional 10% service and 7% vat. It was well worth it as the food was very good with a beautiful setting. The Treetops Lounge was an excellent place to have a drink and have some tapas. They have daily happy hour specials as did the Infinity bar by the pool with each having different drink options. As a whole, i found wine and champagne in Thailand to be extremely pricey unless you you local thai wines which were pretty good. I stuck to cocktails with fresh local ingredients instead as I found many of them to be delicious.
Mai Khao beach where the Anantara sits is 5+ miles of unspoiled bliss. This is where you stay in Phuket if you want to get away from it all. It is definitely far from the hustle of Patong and some of the other Phuket beahces. There are no chairs and umbrellas on the beach and the resort provides sea kayaks, wind surfing, and hobie cats if you want to be a little more adventurous. Not sure but the absence of the beach chairs you see on Patong or Surin Beach may have to do with the protected sea turtles that lay their eggs on the beach and that the area is considered a national park. Not positive but don't feel like fact checking.
I must say that the I had high expectations for this resort and it far and away exceeded them. I enjoyed it so much I signed up for the Anantara Vacation Club so I have a reason to frequent their resorts each year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Coming from QLD, we have a lot here that competes with most places for relaxing destinations for ones holiday. Yes we are passionate about Sunny Qld, But ... we have definitely fallen in love with Phuket too.

Out time in Mai Khao Beach is something that we look forward to each year because it offers so many different options, at such a different paces depending on your mood and such a lovely relaxed time, that our next holiday is usually co-ordinated even before we leave.

Anantara Phuket Villas in Mai Khao Beach just makes it that much more enjoyable. Some holidays we want to "be busy", others we want to do little. Our midyear get away, is one where we just want to relax and enjoy doing "nothing". That's if you can call doing Pilates first up in the morning, chilling by the pool with a great drink (happy hour goes on forever), having a daily Thai massage on the beach with the sound of the waves in the background, or eating spectacular food at restaurants like Sea Fire Salt doing nothing! (Love the hot rock seafood !)

There is something nice about being totally absorbed into an environment where people just want to see YOU smile cos they made you happy or did something small - like make miniature animals out of the hand towels. It has to be one of the happiest relaxed places to go.

Yeah we went along to the “Sales Preso” to have a look (and to get the “free gift” of course) – having no intention of buying into the deal! But the persuasive reasoning wasn’t in the good sales skills that convinced me to buy – it is the idea that having 3-4 weeks a year in places like this one for the rest of my life makes me SMILE. Life's too short to worry about what the accommodation is going to be like – and places like this its a given!
Thanks guys at Anantara.

2012 ... will be a memorable one... Anantara Maldives, Anantara Koh Samui AND Anantara Phuket!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We received a promotion to stay at Anantara Phuket Villas at a fraction of the rack price, and booked a Pool Villa for 3 nights. The villa was absolutely beautiful, and as mentioned by many previous reviewers, there'd been paid great attention to even the smallest details. Service was at all times outstanding; we were given a baby cot, a baby bath as well as a steam steriliser for our baby bottles. Breakfast buffet was just right - enough to give a varied selection, but not too overwhelming, and very good quality. We used the bicycles available a few times, as our villa was a short walk from the beach and restaurants. The resort also provides a buggy service, which was perfect for when our baby was asleep. Restaurants weren't cheap, but the food was excellent and of high quality, so worth the price. I think our favourite spot was the Treehouse bar - fantastic little oasis within an oasis.

But, and it's a big but - there really is no such thing as a free lunch. As part of the promotion, we had to attend a 'presentation', basically a sales pitch to become a member of the Anantara Vacation Club. We fully expected to be given the hard sell, but never anticipated the antagonistic tone, belittling remarks and thinly veiled contempt we encountered from our sales rep, Tommy. He started out fine, but that quickly changed when he told us we were 'cheap' as we don't normally tend to spend much more than $150 pr night for accommodation. Things went from bad to worse when I dared say that we usually preferred to stay in hotels smaller than the Anantara with its 86 villas. Tommy nearly exploded, and made it very clear that I was obviously not the 'type of person' who should be staying at the Anantara. He continued to be rude and aggressive (perhaps desperate for sales) - I supposed it could've been a part of a very misguided sales strategy. I did complain to the sales manager before leaving the presentation, who just offered a few words along the lines of "he does tend to get a bit carried away". Understatement of the year!!

My husband and I were in shock over the treatment we had received and it made what was supposed to be a lovely weekend away into a very negative experience. I so wanted to give a 5 star review as the villa, the grounds, the restaurants, the service etc were all fantastic, but as the sales presentation was part and parcel of our offer to stay at the resort, I can only give 3 stars in this review. How the Anantara allows someone like that to represent them is beyond me. It ruined our holiday, and has made it hard for us to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank TinyHappyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleJ1977, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Dear Travellingwithinfant,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Anantara Phuket Villas and please accept our apologies for any disruption caused by the Vacation Club team during your stay.

We were very concerned to learn of your experiences with the voluntary vacation club presentation that is offered at the hotel. Rest assured this matter has been addressed directly with the sales member in question and the wider vacation club team and I am confident of their renewed understanding of appropriate conduct.

I wish to assure you that these incidences certainly do not reflect the high quality of services, products and experiences we strive to provide at the Anantara Phuket Villas and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disruption of your holiday.

In closing thank you for your feedback and we hope that your travels return you to beautiful Phuket Island and the Anantara Phuket Villas very soon,

Yours Sincerely,

Justin
Anantara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I am a Travel Agent in Brisbane and have stayed in 242 Hotels, in 105 Cities, in 39 Countries. So I feel I am in a position to know the difference between a good and not so good Hotel or Resort.

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of October, in a Lagoon Villa.

Staying at any property for more than 5 nights usually gives one a well rounded impression of the place as a whole, providing long enough time to see if a place is consistantly good, or if cracks appear.

I won't bother to go into the physical aspects of the resort, as this has been done many times in previous Trip Advisor reports. Only to say the whole place, the Villas, Common Areas, Restaurants, and Gardens were all, if not more, that one would expect of a 5 Star property.

Upon check-in we were warmly greeted, and once formalities were completed, were escorted to our Villa. What made check-in not so perfect was that we then had to wait half an hour for our luggage to be brought to our Villa. And this was only after a phone call to reception enquiring as to the whereabouts of our luggage. We couldn't understand why they just didn't put our luggage on the same Golf Buggy as we were in when they took us to our Villa? Anyway, a small point, I guess we were just itching to get out of the clothes we had been travelling in for the previous 12 hours!

The two restaurants, La Sala and Sea Fire Salt, generally speaking were of very high quality, in every area. The quality of the food, the quantity of the servings, the comfort, and the quality of the service provided by the staff were all exceptional.

The daily breakfast buffet in La Sala provided a huge choice of breakfast items. Added to that was an a-la-carte menu of "specials". We thought the best thing about the breakfasts was the coffee! Every cup individually made. Not someone walking around topping up people's cups with luke warm and "stale" coffee. The breakfast staff provided exemplary service. By day two they knew what we wanted, and we didn't even need to go to the buffet. We arrive, sit down, and everything was brought to us!

We only had the one disappointment in La Sala, and that was on our last night. We ordered a Stir Fried Seafood main course, that we had previously had on our first night, and it was terrible. Basically a bowl full of crab shells and cartilage. And just two prawns! We had ordered it a second time because it was just so good on our first night. So one disappointing meal, out of about nine eaten in this restaurant, is not bad.

Sea Fire Salt was fabulous. Again mainly because of the staff. The wine we had was always remembered, and the fact that we love "spicy hot" was also always remembered. Yes expensive, but you get what you pay for.

I'm always amazed by people who stay in resorts such as this, and complain about the price of food and beverages in the restaurants. In Thailand the government applies a huge tax on wine. This is not the hotel's fault. We went next door to the Turtle Village Supermarket to buy our wine, and the prices there were not that much cheaper than the hotel prices. Sure the food in these two restaurants was expensive, but in a Five Star asian resort, when isn't it? I don't think people realise what has to go on "behind the scenes" to consistantly produce high quality food, with high quality staff.

The best thing about staying in a resort where every villa has their own pool, is that the main pool doesn't get crowded. Our thanks go out to Mun and the rest of the staff pool-side. The service was outstanding. Every morning at Breakfast in La Sala, Mun would come by and ask us if we were going to be pool-side that morning, and he would have our lounges all set up and ready for our arrival. By day two he had worked out our drinking habits, first beers at 10.00am, and then to check with us every hour after that.

I would go as far to say that pool-side, this has been the best we have experienced. And this is after staying at resorts such as Mom Tri's in Phuket, the Phuket Yacht Club, Sala Samui, and Tongsai Bay Cottages in Koh Samui, The Datai in Langkawi, Pangkor Laut in Malaysia, and Banyon Tree Bintan in Indonesia.

In previous Trip Advisor reports, some people have complained about the distances that one needs to walk within the resort. We never once entertained the thought of calling for a Golf Buggy. I timed the walk from the furthest most villa to the beach pool, oh gee, it took a whole four minutes! Yes, the push-bikes provided are a bit delapidated, but we don't see the need for them in the first place!

The gardens and lagoon, not to mention the ducks, create an air of peace and serenity. As mentioned in previous reports, the location of this resort is not the best if one is looking for a hectic night life, and wishing to have lots to do. This really is a "couples" resort, who just wish to chill out, read books, lie by the pool, and receive great service. In high season, it may not be so peaceful, probably being dependent upon the number of people staying with young children. For couples with young children, and a nanny, you can put the nanny and the children next door at the Marriott, and you stay at Anantara. Perfect!

Finally, we have never stayed in a resort that we would have described as perfect in every way. My wife and I both being Travel Agents, are quite picky, and as you can see by my above criticisms, they being quite minor.

We would highly recommend this property, especially to couples, who are looking for a peaceful and high quality holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank John5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
3.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
19.8 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
849 reviews
4.9 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
10.7 km away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Address: 888 Moo 3 Thepkrasattri Rd. | Anantara Maikhao Phuket Villas, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: ₹ 16,892 - ₹ 1,29,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing