We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Closure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Life Alcudia Pins
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“October Closure”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We recently returned from a one week all inclusive. Started well, then towards the end of the week hotel facilities (restaurants,bars,Pool Lifeguard !) began closing around us. Thomson reps disappeared for full day as well and entertainment programme had no basis in reality. Even local staff commented that it must not be pleasant as the hotel began shutting around us.We complained to reps about this at time and have since tried to engage Thomsons in discourse but no response after several attempts to contact them. October half term week ? Its so quiet even the hotel management will wish you werent there !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    603
    331
    135
    81
See reviews for
1,259
111
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed for a week in mid-Oct in Scandinavian half term week (live in DK). Hotel facilities are all well maintained, pool area is kept v clean and tidy. By this time in the season it wasn't crowded and there were plenty of seats and sunbeds everywhere. The highlight was definitely the Thomson kids club - great staff, good facilities, great fun and the kids wanted to go every day. Our 2 bed apartment in Block C was fine - room enough for 5 of us and our luggage, cleaned daily, good sea view, UK TV channels, a kitchenette etc. Noise wasn't a problem - at this time of year the evening entertainment had moved indoors so couldn't be heard from our room. We were not all inclusive - we ate a few times in the hotel restaurants: a la carte in the restaurants was not expensive, but it wasn't particularly good food - not actively bad, but just rather bland. Better to either self cater or venture out for meals - there are a few restaurants within walking distance, or some really good ones in the centre of Alcudia. Worth getting out and exploring - went to Alcudia a few times, to the Drach caves, and to a waterpark. Given that we weren't on a package, we worked out that airport transfers cost almost the same as a week's car hire! So we hired the car from the airport and it was v handy to have, even if we didn't use it every day. The hotel is well maintained but the decor and architecture look a bit out of date. But you get what you pay for - there were other better looking hotels nearby but all cost a lot more. Overall this was fine - kids were really happy, kids clubs were great, we parents could relax a bit. And the weather in Oct was still warm enough to give us a dose of good weather before cold Scandinavian winter sets in....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We had a really good holiday here which came as a suprise due to it being the last week of the season!
The was only about 400 guests in the hotel but apparently this was as high as 2500 in the peak months! I could only imagine how chaotic it would have been!
We were self catering as usual but ate occasionaly at the hotel. The food was not the best your going to have, and I heard a few complaints from the all inclusives. Some nice restaraunts up the road though so we were ok!
The pool was really cold as expected in late October, and the sea was actually much warmer!

Thomsons Entertainment team were good as usual and great for the kids. The bar staff were mostly polite with the odd exception.
The rooms were cleaned daily and our only real complaint was the size. We had a cot which was in the living area, that combined with the pull out bed and the high chair was just to cramped! Maybe worth paying the extra for a 2 bedroom apartment? However we did get a room which couldnt be closer to the sea, and it was on the ground floor so great for our little ones! Downside to that was the noise of moving furniture from above us (not at night luckily).

If your self catering, bare in mind that the main bar and restaraunt strip is quite a walk away, and if your not fit and able then you will be paying for a few taxis!
The is also a bus stop right outside but they can get really busy in the day time!

All in all, it was a good holiday for us but as I say - Read the appropriate reviews for the time of year you expect to travel!

Tip- The 'market day' is not really worth the visit unless you like leather bags and cheap jewelry!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grantrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here in Sept 2011, and were a little worried after reading some of the reviews of which after going there and having such a lovely holiday we could not understand, think there is just no pleasing some people! we have a 3yr old daughter and another daughter who was 10mnths at the time, and we had such a lovely time we are planning to return next year, the beach was beautiful and right on the doorstep meaning you can take drinks down there, the pools were brill especially the big pool, we also had a day at the splash pool for our daughter to play but she preffered the bigger pool with slide, the food was fresh with clean areas, yes could be a little repetative but was always something for everyone to eat we never went hungry, preffered the smaller outside buffet bar on the beach and the trattorria was lovely, they did lovely pizza slices 4pm - 6pm which were lovely if we didnt want to always eat in the main parts and we were never limited on how many drinks or food etc could take away, the pool bar did lovely coffees with whipped cream yum, if all inclusive all house drinks were included just had to pay for named brands which is normal, only downfall was the cocktails were the box syrup type mixtures which is why we clicked on were made out the back and not very nice so mainly stuck to lager, but if had of been made fresh would of been much nicer and had those, my daughter loved the kids club and thomson the dog and the park and bouncy castle, and cried the day we came home, reception staff were great especially having your own thomson reception, we had the menorca apartment which was lovely and clean, liked having a cooker and fridge if needed bedroom was small but adequate, and we never kept awake by the entertainment which was very good i might add, alcudia itself is lovely especially the old town and recommend the big market on a sunday, we had a lovely time and would almost def recommend this hotel especially for familys as thats what it is, its a family hotel, it rained one day but we took salvage in the wifi bar and they brought thomson the dog down and crayons and colouring books for the kids which was lovely, we could not of asked for anymore and the beach on this hotel is one of the most beautiful beaches have ever seen, also we noticed that for people who have later flights on the day they come home if yve had to leave your room, there is a locker and shower area, so you can enjoy your last day in the pool or on the beach if want to : )

Room Tip: Ask for a groundfloor one if have pushchairs as they will give you if asked for at least 5wks before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank York21Swadlincote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Went to this hotel for a weeks stay with my partner and my parents, i couldnt fault the hotel or staff.

Room- we had a 2 bedroom apartment and although we were all inclusive we still had fridge and kettle (unlike in some hotels) the rooms were a good size, your only sleeping in it. The rooms were cleaned daily apart from a Sunday.

Food- there was a choice of food in the self service restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner (although pork seemed to be there alot) you could eat at the BBQ and La Trattoria once on your stay whick was good.

Entertainment- Only down side was the fact the adult entertainment finished early, sometimes even at 10pm!

Hotel and Staff- The hotel in itself was very looked after, the pool area was cleaned twice a day, once in the morning then again on a night (they did it all with a mop and bucket!) the bar staff were great entertainment themselves! Two of the funniest were leaving that week.

Overall this hotel was one of the best we stayed in, entertainment to go on a bit longer for adults then it would be great!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cand-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
2.1 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,030 reviews
0.1 km away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
504 reviews
0.2 km away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,017 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,426 reviews
1.1 km away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Alcudia Pins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Alcudia Pins

Property: Family Life Alcudia Pins
Address: C/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#19 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Life Alcudia Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this unique setting, between the white sand dunes of Platges de Muro and the spectacular Parc Natural de s’Albufera, Alcudia Pins reflects our way of understanding tourism: an offering of variety, happiness and well-being for your entire family.Thanks to personalised treatment, all of our personnel will be attentive to your every need. Our objective is for you to have a good time and leave your cares behind.Designed to provide you with everything you need for your holidays, Alcudia Pins awaits you with a pleasant atmosphere where you can enjoy your favourite activities worry-free in comfortable and safe lodgings that cater to the relaxation and well-being of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alcudia Pins Hotel
Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro
Alcudia Pins Majorca
Family Life Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing