We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Theva Residency
Nearby Hotels
US$ 68
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 35
US$ 25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 49
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Hills Kandy(Heerassagala)
US$ 197
US$ 132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 84
US$ 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
US$ 49
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
US$ 122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 54
US$ 52
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
405
218
60
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
218
60
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelinfinity poolsri lankaamazing viewsthe penthouseoverlooking kandysmall hotelset highbeautiful hotelsuperior roomour honeymoonsmall poolcurryamazing placesurrounding hillsthe hustle and bustlevisit kandy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This idyllic residence had all we could ever hope for at the beginning of our adventure in Sri Lanka. Situated high in the mountains on the outskirt of Kandy our room had views to die for, across the valley and overlooking mountains for miles. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing.A pool also for those who wish for a dip
Food was so delicious, perfectly presented and had the wow factor when it arrived, and dining on the terrace was perfect.
Staff were friendly, but professional and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. It is a true gem of a place and I would not hesitate to stay here again. A huge 'Thank You' to all the staff here for making the beginning of our holiday so special and memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms had excellant views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorcas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. Service by all staff was great. Room was very comfortable. Dining area was perfect with a view of the hills and mountains. Food was surprisingly fantastic for a small hotel like this. It was better than some more established restaurants in Colombo. Relatively close proximity to Kandy so if you’re looking for a tea plantation experience than this not what you’re after.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RKRSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay at Theva Residency.The staff were excellent as was the food.I would recommend this hotel.The views from the
balcony’s are stunning.It also has a small steam room and sauna heated on request.We used both and they were very good.
Craig and Leanne

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank craigieboy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Wonderful and beautiful hotel with fine views of the Kandy area. Very quiet.Super rooms. Excellent food, both Sri Lankan and Western dishes and very welcoming staff. Really top class. Away from the bustle of Kandy but still very close.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

The location of this hotel is just perfect - 20 min by tuktuk to the city centre, but far enough removed from the busyness of Kandy so that you can relax. The service is also really exceptional, some of the best we received while in Sri Lanka. Of particular note was the super friendly guy on reception; the head server who remembered my dietary restrictions and repeated them at each meal which reassured me I was not being overlooked or getting inappropriate food; and a lovely staff member by the pool who actually gave me suggestions on how to get the best photos of the pool area/view (which I thought really went above and beyond!). On our last morning we were leaving early to catch the train to Ella, and the staff were able to serve us the full breakfast at 6.45am, well before their usual breakfast hours, which was so appreciated. They also organised a half day tuktuk tour of Kandy for us, for a very reasonable price.

The food was excellent, primarily western cuisine, and the drinks were well made. However we did feel it was rather overpriced compared to other hotels we stayed at of a similar calibre. Dining atmosphere was nice out on the terrace in the evenings.

Unfortunately, as another reviewer mentioned, the hotel had a tired feel about it. It was very clean, but felt just a bit outdated and worn down. This was our most expensive hotel stay in two weeks in Sri Lanka, but the overall quality of accommodation was not up to par with many of the other hotels we stayed at in the slightly cheaper £100-125 per night range.

All the same, the view, the infinity pool, and the fantastic service, did make our stay at Theva enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SHynes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews