We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
143
243
104
26
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
243
104
26
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs nice pool an early start breakfast and dinner beat the crowds archaeological site playa del carmen large bathroom tour buses arrive beds were very comfortable pool side the air conditioning coffee maker fresh fruit chichen ruins cancun
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We were very comfortable here in our thatched room. Pool was refreshing after a hot day exploring Mayan ruins. The room did not have a safe so we had to put our valuables in the office security which was a little inconvenient. The garden was stunning with very tall trees an many lawns and flowers. A refreshing stay. Quiet except for the peacocks in the day.

Room Tip: Check the room has a safe!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped in Piste and stayed in the hotel so as to get an early start to Chichen Itza otherwise wouldn't have stayed there.

The hotel is nice and has a nice pool to cool off in but even that unfortunately is like a warm bath in temperature.

The room was fine, clean comfortable and spacious with all the bits and pieces. The only comment I'd make is that the flyscreen in the large bathroom was torn so bugs could get in if you left the bathroom door open. You just had to deal with them in the bathroom.

The cost is too high for what you get relative to other places I've stayed at. And despite the high cost breakfast is not included and relatively high cost also. The onsite restaurant is nice but expensive. Problem being there's not a big selection in town but the Las Mestizas Restaurant up the street is good and better priced.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Alek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Overpriced at les than 49 USD a night? REALLY?
....Please! Where in the world do you get a hotel stay like ours for that price?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Very convenient location, staff very nice, easy check in after booking online. Clean and simple, all we need. nice pool. great cheap local restuarants nearby. wifi pretty good, which is a nice surprise. Mexico is getting it together while the US is falling apart. Viva Mexico!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank planetminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for your visit. Come back with more time to enjoy the many wonders that surround us !
Hasta la vista !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Chichen Itza for two nights. We had originally booked Stardust Inn for $22 a night. Upon arriving at Stardust Inn we did not feel safe at all. Not only was it abandoned but the mattresses were filthy and the windows could not lock. We looked up the hotel down the street which happened to be Hotel Chichen Itza for $40 a night. It was well worth it. I highly recommend anyone thinking about staying at Stardust Inn to spend the extra $18 and stay at Hotel Chichen Itza instead.

The main lobby is open and under a huge bungalow type roof. The front lobby is essentially outside. There is a fountain with a mariachi band made of metal standing in front of the fountain. An old carriage decorates a corner of the bungalow lobby. Plants climb up and down the walls. We even saw a kitten that wandered around the grounds. It was a huge relief seeing such a quaint hotel after looking at Stardust Inn. Not only did Hotel Chichen Itza have free wifi but it also had hot water and a friendly staff. We had no problem checking in after booking the reservation on my cell phone.

The backyard was like a hidden oasis in Piste. It had a nice pool with lounge chairs and tables. The pool area was clean and next to the hotel's restaurant which had delicious food. Plants and flowers made the grounds look lush. The service was good and our waiters were very friendly with suggestions on local cuisine. My boyfriend and I both ate the Yucatan specials. They were savory and the meal was cheap!

The location of the hotel was good. It was about a five-minute drive to Chichen-Itza and located in Piste so we could walk around the town and look at souvenirs. One thing to note about this area though is the number of bugs and insects you will see. There is a lot of plant life and the area has a jungle-like feel. There are insects everywhere including the restaurant in the hotel.

The room was comfortable and cool. The A.C worked wonderfully. The room was large and the bed was soft. We had a room on the second floor facing the street. There was more noise due to being next to the street but we didn't mind. The water pressure in the bathroom was good and the hot water worked fine. We also loved their oatmeal soap. It smelled so good. We even used it for the rest of our trip after leaving Piste.

One thing I do want to say about the bathroom is it smells terrible. It smells like jungle mixed with sewage, but hey, for $40 a night in a prime location with a good restaurant, and a comfortable bed, we didn't mind. The wifi is also spotty but will work if there are not a lot of guests in the hotel. We essentially only needed a safe and comfortable place to sleep and rest and that's exactly what we got at Hotel Chichen Itza. Overall it was a positive experience and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor facing the backyard to have a quiet room. Traffic can be quite loud if you get a room facing the street!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mariaying1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thanks for your visit and your informative comments. They help visitors to Chichen Itza analyze their best options.
We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We were stopping in Chichen Itza on our way to Merida from Cancun and didn't want to cram it all into one afternoon. We stayed here the night before our trip to the ruins. The rooms are clean, the place is quiet, and the service is excellent. It is a quick trip to the entrance and obtaining transportation was not difficult. The hotel even arranged our transportation to Merida once we finished at the ruins. I would definitely stay here again - completely exceeded our expectations and was a terrific value!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thanks for your visit and your GREAT comments on your stay
We look forward to your return. Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews