We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting cooking course!”
Review of Rita's Gourmet Goa

Rita's Gourmet Goa
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Dabolim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Goa a well known tourist destination for its golden sand, charming people, heritage monuments is also popular for scrumptious food. So if you are interested in cooking and would like to learn more on culinary delight and taste of Indian & Goan Cuisine, then join us at Rita’s Gourmet Goa and unravel how an Indian kitchen comes out with such a varied nature of delectable spiced curries and delicious dishes. Enjoy a fun filled cooking session and savouring the delicious dishes in an outdoor garden kitchen. Rita's Gourmet offers a number of culinary workshops and food tours. To name a few : (1) The popular Five hours Cooking Class with Local Farmer’s Market tour (2) Three & Five days Comprehensive Cookery Workshop in Indian Cuisine and in exclusive Goan Cuisine (3) Shore Culinary tour for Cruise line Passengers (4) Three days Culinary & Heritage tour. Add value to your Goan holiday by joining us at Rita's Gourmet Goa and we will not only teach you all about Masalas, Curries, Chutneys, flavorful Indian delicacies but will also take you around on a rich culinary tour showcasing the spice plantation, local farmer's market tour, heritage museums showcasing culinary and agrarian artifacts and many more culinary experiences.
Reviewed 6 January 2017

First time writing a review, that says a little how great the experience was. I knew about this through Tripadvisor, and the advices are very true. Rita is very responsive to emails. The pace of the 5 hour course was just right, starting with making a delicious dosa breakfast, then a market tour (and Rita brought us to a place to buy spices), and then back to the house to cook lunch. She had some helpers who did some prep work so that we can focus on the cooking. She also helped take photos of our experience and emailed to us after the class, which was a nice touch and a memory to keep. The course is also suitable for beginners. Thanks Rita for the wonderful time!

- Vivian, from Singapore

Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita_Shinde, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear Vivian,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us at length. Appreciate! We are so glad to know that you loved the entire culinary tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our best wishes to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Best wishes for the New Year,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cooking class"
in 50 reviews
"local market"
in 32 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 18 reviews
"her husband"
in 29 reviews
"fish market"
in 14 reviews
"indian food"
in 13 reviews
"delicious dishes"
in 7 reviews
"learning how"
in 6 reviews
"cooking course"
in 13 reviews
"chai"
in 7 reviews
"learn how"
in 5 reviews
"amazing teacher"
in 3 reviews
"prawns"
in 6 reviews
"feel at home"
in 3 reviews
"the real deal"
in 3 reviews
"lovely lunch"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
Filter

79 - 83 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

It was really an amazing experience and the best thing to do in Goa where you can see the really locals living there daily life and see the culture behind the market after that the good food will be serve with the amazing rita.

Thank SuLaiman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita_Shinde, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear friend,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for reviewing us. We are so glad to know that you loved the entire culinary tour experience and moreover fascinated with the rich Indian culture. I along with my staff extend our regards to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Best wishes for the New Year,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Went with three of my children for a 5 hour class
We all enjoyed a visit to the market picking up fish and materials for the day then Spent the rest of morning making a starter and three main courses as well as a sweet - great fun and learned a lot about Goan cooking
Rita and her staff made it very enjoyable - would recommend

Thank youni32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita_Shinde, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear Youni,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us and recommendation. Appreciate! It was such a nice feeling to enjoy cooking with the entire family and equally so glad to know that you loved the entire culinary tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our regards to all.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Best wishes for the New Year,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent day with Rita.
Breakfast on arrival followed by a tour of the local farmers market which was fascinating and informative (we have stocked up ready for our return to the UK).
Then cooking, 3 kinds of bread, a prawn starter, 3 mains and a desert. All great and cooked by us under Rita's watchful eye.
We learnt lots, ate too much and came away with some great memories.
I would recommend!

Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita_Shinde, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear Richard,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us and recommendation. Appreciate! We are so glad to know that you loved the cooking experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our regards to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Best wishes for the New Year,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Many thanks Rita & staff for the market tour & cooking instruction. Brilliant day, wonderful quality food & insight into Goan culture. Rita is passionate about cooking which is reflected in her professional high quality classes. Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita_Shinde, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear Jill,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us. Appreciate! We are so glad to know that you loved the shore culinary tour experience organised for the Cruise ship guests. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our regards to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Best wishes for the New Year,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rita's Gourmet Goa also viewed

Vasco da Gama, South Goa District
Vasco da Gama, South Goa District
 
Mormugao, North Goa District
 

Been to Rita's Gourmet Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing