We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cookery course”
Review of Rita's Gourmet Goa

Rita's Gourmet Goa
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Dabolim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Goa a well known tourist destination for its golden sand, charming people, heritage monuments is also popular for scrumptious food. So if you are interested in cooking and would like to learn more on culinary delight and taste of Indian & Goan Cuisine, then join us at Rita’s Gourmet Goa and unravel how an Indian kitchen comes out with such a varied nature of delectable spiced curries and delicious dishes. Enjoy a fun filled cooking session and savouring the delicious dishes in an outdoor garden kitchen. Rita's Gourmet offers a number of culinary workshops and food tours. To name a few : (1) The popular Five hours Cooking Class with Local Farmer’s Market tour (2) Three & Five days Comprehensive Cookery Workshop in Indian Cuisine and in exclusive Goan Cuisine (3) Shore Culinary tour for Cruise line Passengers (4) Three days Culinary & Heritage tour. Add value to your Goan holiday by joining us at Rita's Gourmet Goa and we will not only teach you all about Masalas, Curries, Chutneys, flavorful Indian delicacies but will also take you around on a rich culinary tour showcasing the spice plantation, local farmer's market tour, heritage museums showcasing culinary and agrarian artifacts and many more culinary experiences.
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Would definitely recommend Rita's! I did a two day comprehensive course which included a trip to the local farmer's market. We learned a fantastic array of dishes and Rita was more than happy to take requests for dishes to learn. Her knowledge of Goan and Indian food was amazing and I felt very welcomed and comfortable.

Take a big appetite! Breakfast and lunch will be what you make through the day - and there's a lot of it! Rita even packaged up leftovers to take away.

Try to take cash with you to pay for the course (a bit tricky with the current money situation in India), or pay in advance if travelling from abroad, as international transfers will come with a slightly hefty additional fee. Still great value for money though and would book again!

Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita S, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Abby,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for being part our Comprehensive Cookery Class of two days. We also appreciate your taking time out to review us and recommending the class with fruitful tips. We are so glad to know that you loved the cooking class and the local farmer's market tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our best wishes to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Kind regards,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2016

My wife and I attended a course at Rita's Gourmet in November. This involved cooking breakfast of dosas, puris and their accompaniments. We then went shopping for our lunch ingredients in the market at Vasco da Gama. We then cooked lunch consisting of characteristic Goan fish dishes, which were all delicious. I forget the names of the dishes, but have the recipes squirrelled away in our recipes folder for future enjoyment. Rita's warmth and hospitality all made for a very enjoyable and instructive half-days course.

1  Thank Tarakan1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita S, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear friends,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us and recommending the class. We are so glad to know that you loved the cooking class and the local farmer's market tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our best wishes to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Kind regards,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

How else do you get to spend a day in the home of a local, have a meal together, shop her local farmer's market when you are in a foreign country and a strange city? Rita is the best. From her first responsive email to her transfer instructions off our cruise ship this week, she was professional, patient (with all my questions), kind and helpful. This is a woman who can cook! We enjoyed the welcome marsala chai she prepared in her beautiful courtyard commercial kitchen, covered from the hot sun and surrounded by her palms and gardens, explaining all the spices as they were freshly pounded. We then ate an authentic Indian hot breakfast, several sweet cakes (hubby loved having cake for breakfast!) and tasted some fruits we didn't know. After a tour of her garden and home, we set to work chopping, stirring, cooking, baking, kneading, tasting.... then sat to eat a feast! Fish. Chicken. Curry. Vegetables. Rice. Hot shrimp appies. It was the best Indian food we have ever eaten served by the most gracious of hostesses. I can't think of a better way to experience India, or Goa, then by spending a day with Rita who kindly answered all our questions and gave us a day where two worlds coincided. Way better than a day visiting yet another temple, mosque or tourist trap. It will be the day we will remember the best India has to offer!

2  Thank JDarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita S, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear friends,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us extensively and recommending the class. We are so glad to know that you loved every part of the cooking class and the local farmer's market tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our best wishes to you. We wish you a Bon Voyage and Good health!

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Kind regards,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My husband and I spent 5 days in Goa and Rita's cooking class was our favorite part! Rita is so friendly and informative. She took us to the farmer's market and explained every piece of produce and fish that we didn't recognize. The cooking part was fast paced and exciting, and Rita and her helpers were amazing every step of the way. We would definitely go back!

1  Thank Stefanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita S, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear friends,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us. We are so glad to know that you loved the cooking class and the local farmer's market tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our best wishes to you. And of course will look forward to your next visit to Goa.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Kind regards,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Treat yourself and sign up for a course with Rita. The recipes we made were delicious and authentic. From the start of the time together through to shopping at the day market for ingredients to cooking the meal and ending with fond farewells (and aprons) we felt taken care of by a knowledgeable master of the culture and the cooking.

Thank jteaTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita S, Owner at Rita's Gourmet Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear friends,

Greetings from Rita's Gourmet Goa.

Thank you for taking time out to review us and recommending the class. We are so glad to know that you loved the cooking class and the local farmer's market tour experience. We also hope you will recreate the dishes learnt back in your kitchen. I along with my staff extend our best wishes to you.

Celebrate the joy of Cooking!

Kind regards,

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rita's Gourmet Goa also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Vasco da Gama, South Goa District
 

Been to Rita's Gourmet Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing