We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Better Stay the Second Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Certificate of Excellence
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Better Stay the Second Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

This was our second stay at the Marriott. We are owners of property in Maui and traded for a week here. This stay was much better than our last but I think that was due to the amends Marriott's VOA (Vacation Ownership Advisors) program had to make to us because they really messed up our plans for this trip (too long a story to get into). We dealt specifically with one person and a few supervisors to get our plans arranged and Marriott knew we were not happy. So this was an apology to us of sorts.

Our past visit a few years ago was fine except for the fact that our air conditioner went out in our villa for two days and maintenance could not seem to fix it. We had poor communication with the staff and asked to be moved but to no avail. This time our villa was air conditioned well and we were in a quiet area of "Giverny" looking out over the stream and golf course. We did request this area because this is the area we had stayed in previously. We have grown daughters so we did not need to be by the pool nor did we want to be near a lot of noise. From what we could tell there was noone staying in our adjoining villas because we did not see or hear anyone. We also did request a villa on the end for less noise.

We had a two bedroom villa with 2 1/2 bathrooms, a kitchen and living/dining area. Our villa was well furnished as before but needed a bit of updating because the sofa seemed to be the same one as our last stay (same fabric) and it seemed lumpy in places and worn. This is probably due to the sofabed in it. The beds were very comfortable and the master bath was very spacious. The caulking on the master tub could be refreshed, however. Overall, the villa was nice. We knew what to expect since we had stayed there before. I do think refreshing the furniture would be a good idea. The washer and dryer are always a plus. The patio outside with table and chairs is a very nice spot to read or enjoy a glass of wine. The kitchen is very well stocked and we appreciate the "American" coffee maker.

We enjoy the Parisian countryside atmosphere of the resort and the gardens. We also like its vicinity to Paris. The Auchan grocery is wonderful (near the resort property). We went there many times to buy wine, bread, croissants, jams and other groceries. The mall is also nice to walk around. The outlet area is nice too but was not too thrilling to us since we have many of these in the U.S. The resort mini grocery was also convenient if you need to pick up a quick item. The grounds are very beautiful to stroll around and we liked the Monet touch with the bridge and statue in our area. There was even a stray cat lying by the bridge!

We did not use the pool but walked around it and noticed the big chess game nearby-fun for the kids. The pool is very large and nice. The gardens are very beautiful with the blooming flowers but the kids' playground equipment seemed a little out of place in the middle of the gardens. The ponds and stream with the swans and ducks were very pretty. We also did not go to Disney as we were visiting Paris and Belgium so we drove in and out of the city.

The staff was very helpful with questions we had and the Concierge helped my husband with car rental return questions and arrangements. The front desk accommodated my request for an electrical converter.

For our needs, this Marriott property is nice and spacious. We like the condo/house type feel of it. We are mostly out sightseeing during the day so we are not in our villa very much. However, perhaps because of its close proximity to Disneyland, it is very kid friendly. There were many children roaming around and swimming. Most of the time we saw families with small children. So if you want privacy or a quiet resort, you might want to rethink this property or request a quiet area as we did.

Our suggestions about staying here would be to check up on your plans before you go whether by email or phone and make sure your arrangements are understood before you arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet area-villas on the end and away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom-of-aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    332
    79
    40
    27
See reviews for
798
191
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just returned from our stay, this was our fourth visit over a five year period and by far the worst. As a previous post had said , the resort was over run with unruly children, out late on bikes, unsupervised and even cycling through reception unchallenged.Several times they nearly ran us over on their bikes.The staff turned a blind eye as their parents stay at the resort for up to three months, so money talks!!. We also had problems with air conditioning in villa, we reported it was broken and were made several promises of it being fixed. A day later a/c still had not been fixed, my DH said he wuld not be paying for a night which we could not sleep and a day ruined of our holiday. As it turns out the a/c was not fixable so we got a night refunded and changed villas.We also spoke to the manager about the playground being dirty and rubbish lying all over the resort. Two days later rubbish was still there. Very poor maintenance and management.We were told the top maintenance guy has been drafted in from Marbella to sort issues out.( Marbella is a fabulous resort). This resort is not up to Marriott standard and needs serious work to improve. The pool termperatures were not right either. The indoor pool was like a jacuzzi, far too hot and outdoor pool is not heated and was freezing.
As we had such nice visits previously this trip was disapointing. I will be writing to Marriott ref all the issues we had.The one positive was the reception staff, they were friendly and done their best,as problems stem from management.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lufcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempsey, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The resort is beautiful and very convenient to Paris the only downside we were burgled.
There was no apparent signs of forced entry and all windows were shut.We had our keys at all times. The doors are monitored if left open and checked by security so who ever took our stuff had way of getting in.
Hotel staff we dealt with were very helpful but at no time have got back in contact.
We were told that a refurb is to take place in the autumn I hope security is top of their priorities.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We (four adults and one toddler) stayed for four nights beginning on August 20, 2012. The location is great for Disneyland and it's easy to get to the park from here. We enjoyed the convenience but that was about all we enjoyed at this resort because everything else was a huge disappointment. Here are bits of the letter I sent to Marriott:

We arrived on the 20th at around 1830 (after being in the car with a toddler for 7.5 hours) and were told that our room was not yet ready and would be ready in an hour. When we came back an hour later we were told that the air conditioner in the room was not functioning properly and a technician would be at our room within an hour. An hour later no one showed up to fix the A/C and the villa was quite warm, the thermostat read 20 degrees Celsius. My husband called the front desk to find out if someone was coming out and was again told that they would be out in an hour. Another hour later I called and they told me the same thing, at this point we were nearing 2200 and we were trying to get our toddler to sleep. At 2300 a tech finally showed up and came to the conclusion that the air compressor needed replacement and this wouldn't be able to be done until the next day. A manager came out apologized, offered to refund the amount we had payed for the first night, and then offered a portable unit. She said that the portable unit was a bit noisy and suggested that open the windows for the night and as long as we kept the lights off the bugs would stay out. What we were not told was that there were quite a few mosquitos in the area. The next morning my toddler and myself were covered in mosquito bites and as the week went on we were constantly finding and killing mosquitos in our villa. We also checked in with the front desk to find out if our A/C would be fixed that day only to find out that they were unaware of the issue as well as the refund that was offered to us by the night manager. After waiting around to find someone who had spoken to the night manager we thought the issue was resolved or would be resolved once we returned to our villa after spending a couple hours at Disneyland; unfortunately we were wrong. We returned to our villa around 1400 to find the A/C not working and no one working on it. My husband went to the front desk to find out why it was not fixed and to find a solution. About 30 minutes after he returned from the front desk someone came in and the A/C was finally fixed.

Unfortunately our disappointment does not end with this A/C fiasco. When we were getting settled into our villa we found it to not be as clean as it should have been. There was what appeared to be a chocolate milk spill on the floor in the upstairs hallway from a previous guest that had not been cleaned before our arrival, my father-in-law found a stool in a toilet when he went to use it for the first time, there were stains on the walls and a couple had huge chunks of paint missing, the wi-fi connection in our room was nonexistent (we complained of this and the complaint went unresolved), and the shower in the upstairs bathroom did not drain well at all. When we went to use the pools we found that none of the outdoor showers were working and a couple were missing handles and were visibly broken. This is not the sort of maintenance that we expected from a Marriott and we found this resort to be a huge let down.

On our second day at the resort at 0930 we received a knock on the door from a worker asking if we were checking out that day. This was a bit of a shock and a little worrisome because I was positive that we had booked for four nights. I double checked our receipt and we had indeed booked for four nights. About an hour later we received another knock at the door asking the same question. Once again we told them that we were not checking out until Friday. Then a half an hour or so later we received a phone call asking if we were checking out that day. This was quite frustrating and a bit annoying. There really needs to be better communication between reception and housekeeping. Later that day we received a call about attending a meeting to learn more about the vacation club; needless to say we did not attend because after our experience over the first half of our stay we had absolutely no interest in buying in.

Room Tip: Do not book a room close to one of the ponds in the summer. The ponds are a paradise for mosquitos a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiandCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were 2 families with children (a total of 8 persons), who stayed in a 3-bedroom villa (they say it is suitable for 8 persons, but there can sleep till 10 persons!). Stayed there through a time-share exchange for 1 week. The resort is beautiful, as the villas, with very nice country style architecture, are placed with a lovely manner in the landscape. It has artificial lakes with ducks, trees and flowers, you are in nature (but you have to watch the kids and not leave them unattended, as during my stay two small kids risked drowning when they went into the lake and they were saved the last minute). It 's a walking distance from 2 villages, the nearer is Bailly-Romainvilliers. The villa was fully equipped, making you feel that you went to your summer house (electric kitchen with 4 ceramic eyes, a micro wave oven, a dish-washer, a laundry machine, a tumble dryer, iron board), full sets of glass and pottery, spacious rooms, 3 baths, big wardrobes, king-size beds with really excellent mattresses (the best that I have slept), air-conditioning, all are in the American style, which demands everything large and rich. I have seen Americans writing reviews here and protesting about the worst Marriott of their life etc... Perhaps they forget that they are not in the States, but in Europe. But for me, as a European, this is not made with the European standards. The reception was polite and helpful, they speak very good English and they solved quickly a problem I had with the safe of the villa. There is also a stand, which is working during the day, where they give you information about Paris and Disneyland and they sell the tickets for the river Seine cruise and Disneyland cheaper, so you can buy them there. Notice that the reception, as in the USA, asks for a credit card guarantee of 210 Euros during check-in. The resort has no restaurant; it has a bar, where you can have a snack in the afternoon, which is French (Belgian they name them) fries, spaghetti with sauce, pizza and chicken nuggets. The food of the bar was average and in small portions and the prices are expensive for what you get. But have in mind, that France is expensive. Most of the people go to the mini market of the resort and buy things from there. The mini market is good for the week-ends, when you come (I arrived on Sunday) and the market outside is closed. In the village Bailly-Romainvilliers there is a large Carrefour super market next to the square, where you can buy everything. Also there is a bakery with French baguettes and tasty crouachans. Note that the restaurants in the village [it has a Pakistanish, a bar which serves some meals till 15:00 and pizza after 19:00, but is difficult to eat there with people watching horse riding, a Japanese with sushi and normal prices and an Italian style fast food with spaghetti (the pizza is deep-frozen) and normal prices, if you choose a menu] close early and there aren 't any restaurants in the area of Disneyland, like in Orlando in USA. So, one minus for Marriott is that it doesn 't have a normal restaurant. Perhaps because with such facilities a lot of people cook in the villas, but a normal restaurant would be great. The resort is very quiet. Before going there, they had asked me via e-mail where did I want to have my villa; I had answered, as I had seen other reviews, a front-lake, quiet villa and they had done it! The resort has two open-air kids playgrounds (and also one in-door kids hall in the main building) and a football and basketball ground (together, all in one). If your villa is in front of them, it 's logical to listen to kids playing. There is a large open-air swimming pool with not heated water (normal for people from central and north Europe, but not for us, coming from South Europe) and an in-door heated pool with 2 jacuzzi pools. There is a normal dry sauna and a sauna with humidity, which I have seen for the first time in my life. The saunas are in the men 's and women 's lockers place (both kinds for every place), so men and women go there separately. There is also a gym place, where I didn 't have the time to go. In a distance of 10 minutes drive there is an outlet village and a big shopping center. If you ask the reception they will show you the way. I found Timberland in extremely low prices.The best way to enjoy your stay there and visit Paris is to hire a car, which was very cheap via Internet. Then you have the freedom to go everywhere when you want. Yes, the resort has a bus, but I don 't recommend to wait the bus, as most of the clients of the resort are families with kids. Also outside from Marriott there is a bus stop, but waiting it in the night is not something nice. I had a Toyota Auris with 218,50 Euros for 1 week and drove 550 km with 29,50 Euros diesel. So who cares for the buses? Note that there is no life in the villages after the closing of the shops. Disneyland is 5 km away. It closes almost at midnight (the final show in front of the castle ends at 23:30). So you better have a car (the parking in Disneyland costs 15 Euros). In Paris parking is expensive, but you can find underground car parkings everywhere and when you are tired you get in your car and drive back. If you estimate the cost of the Metro cards or tickets for a family and the money you pay for parking, you 'll see that there isn 't any big difference. There is an every day maid service for taking the rubbish away and changing towels. They don 't clean (except you ask and pay for it) the villas; there is a vacuum cleaner in the villa. Also they provide you with extra shampoo only when you ask for it. They clean the villa once a week only if you stay for a second week. All these are written in a sheet in the villa, so read it before you start protesting for some things, such as why they don 't clean etc. Another minus (if you want to find some!) is that the big bathtub in the bathroom is very slippery, because it is plastic, and for some people (especially elderly) it might be dangerous. Also the hurdles in the main street of the resort, for making the cars not run, are too high, so they are quite annoying. But these are not that serious to reduce the overall experience of staying there. The 8 persons that stayed there feel lucky that we had this opportunity. I don 't know if it 's a 5 star resort, but definitely it is one of the best that Interval International, my time-share company, has, as they say in their resort directory. And surely it is and it 's a resort that I would like to go again. Go there, be open minded and you 'll have a great time, even if you don 't go out from it!!! Also the golfers will have a nice time in the golf playground, next to the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-front and quiet villa. They 'll try to make it real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ST64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailly-Romainvilliers
3.0 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,622 reviews
2.2 km away
Disney's Newport Bay Club
2.7 km away
Hotel l'Elysee Val d'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
2.4 km away
Disney's Sequoia Lodge
2.7 km away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France

Property: Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Address: allee de l Orme Rond, 77700 Bailly-Romainvilliers, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Bailly-Romainvilliers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bailly-Romainvilliers
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,220 - ₹ 32,919
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of our guest favourites in Bailly-Romainvilliers The Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France resort is situated in Bailly-Romainvilliers, in the countryside just beyond Disneyland Paris. It offers fully equipped villas for up to 8 guests with free internet access. The Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France resort offers 2 to 3-bedroom villas, each with living room, dining area, full kitchen and private terrace with scenic views. They also have satellite TV and a DVD player. Each villa is equipped with a bathroom and guests can take advantage of complimentary towels and bed linen. Guests are also invited to enjoy the indoor pool and seasonal outdoor swimming pool as well as the fitness centre. Guests can enjoy a meal at the on-site restaurant. Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France overlooks Golf Disneyland, a 27-hole golf course near the theme park. Val d'Europe Shopping Centre and RER Station is just 5 km away. In Bailly-Romainvilliers you will find a cinema and a small restaurant. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Bailly-Romainvilliers! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Bailly-Romainvilliers! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! Hotel Chain : Marriott Vacation Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Village d`Ile-De-France Hotel Bailly-Romainvilliers
Marriott Ile-De-France
île-De-France Marriott
Marriott's Village D'lle-De-France Ile-De-France/Bailly-Romainvilliers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing