We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
253
37
13
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
37
13
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge private beach the owner my girlfriend waves crash get away from it all an amazing place taking care the main house solar power monique teatro dogs cabin surf nature taxi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Nice place - we stayed in the Guest House - on the sea.
The managers of the Guest House were really friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean, only the breakfast was quite expensive.
But we didn't expect the place to be so isolated. It's indeed quite far from the city and the only way to reach it is to go by taxi (quite expensive) or bus (mainly always full so impossible to get in). So if you should stay a few days, then it's starting being boring to only go to Bluff.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank G_Girl_3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

What an amazing place! Could definitely speak of paradise...
The only regret I have is not staying longer to enjoy the peace in this fantastic Eco Lodge.
Nadia and Salvatore are great, very welcoming and make you feel like home. Thank you for that.
We wll definitely be back some day (let's not wait 20 years...)

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Overall this lodge seemed to be good value for money and close to a very nice beach. There are pro's & con's of staying here:

CON'S
- the place is 15 USD taxi ride away from Bocas town, where all the tours/ busses/ planes leave from - if you plan on going there every night, maybe not the best option for you
- it's very basic - comparable to a medium-quality hostel...not too clean, very hippie property, dogs staying there, mainly couples/ young people staying there
- the food is not good. We had 2x breakfast and apart from scrambled eggs they couldn't really cook. Out of my 3 pancakes 1 was completely black and the others were as well quite burned
- the common kitchen is very dirty - we had to clean the pots and plates before using them, there were several big cockroaches in the kitchen..
- It's quite expensive, we payed 178 USD for 2 nights & 2 breakfasts for 3 people... (Breakfast is extra)

PRO's
- it's far off from everything, therefore very quiet. We just had noise from people coming back from partying on Sat night, otherwise no cars/ dogs etc
- it's close to the beautiful Bluff Beach - but there are nicer resorts there that also have good food (eg. Oasis Bluff Beach Resort or The Terrace at Island Plantation).
- We had hot water and electricity- wifi was not the best, but it worked
- nice view on the water from the common area
- lots of green near the lodge, many animals (like colibris) nearby in the evening
- small private beach right next to the lodge

Would recommend staying in another place, unless you are looking for hippie vibes, cooking your own food and being away from everything else.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VirginiaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

First of all why two stars? One star because of the sloth in the tree on the property and a second star because the location is nice. Which means that the Lodge is located perfect for experienced surfers between bluff beach and paunch. Both good surfing spots. And they also serve tasty breakfast. We booked the smallest and cheapest room located on the southwest corner. In the first two mornings we got woken up by the managers barking dog. And it started raining for the whole week.
Water started to drip from the ceiling and in to the electric plugs and wiring. This was solved by covering the floor over our room with a tarp. As it didn’t stop raining the power was supplied by a diesel generator which ran in the garage close to our room. Not only the noise was disturbing but also the fumes ruined the air in our room. This lead to our first room change. The manager put us in tortuga cabin with own kitchen and ocean view on own porch. No extra charge except somebody makes a reservation, then we would have to change the room. The storm picked up and created massive waves breaking underneath us. It was impossible to sleep. Next day we changed the room for the second time. This time on the top floor of the main house. As we entered the room we noticed stinky poo in our room. In that night we woke up by a screaming animal in the roof of our room. The next morning we claimed and wanted it to be removed. After 1,5 hours somebody came and removed some wood planks close to the poo (picture). Three bats were living there and got finally killed. The poo was mostly cleaned. My girlfriend waited downstairs in the breakfast area. Nobody offered her a coffee or breakfast, so no good service. The next day there was poo again on the same place. So obviously there were more bats. We asked the manager to have a look but she never came. This was on our last day so she basically didn’t care and waited for us to check out. Since there were only five guests but six volunteers during our stay there are absolutely no excuses for the managers behavior. Also this bathroom was stinking because after flushing some of the yellow pee water came back. During our stay we often didn’t have power and water. It’s not even worth to comment the WiFi. A dinner with meat costs 13,50$ without tax!? For meals that don’t satisfy in my opinion. I have seen cleaner kitchens in hostels.
The local couple were the only people hard working and taking care of the property. The owner wasn’t there the whole time. This place propably was nice five years ago. It is just not given the proper amount of care. Problems aren’t solved properly. For example instead of repairing roofs, they put tarps over. Pura Vida, Island life and “off the grid” seems to be the explanation. Ecolodge (Dieselgenerator) and 2,5 stars are a joke. After arguing with the manager about the price we got one night for free. Her lack of compassion made us angry and she doesn’t care about reviews, she said.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank oliverkF190UY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

The location of this guesthouse is fantastic. Stunning ocean views from the large 2nd floor 2 bedroom apartment.
The huge balcony is a great place to relax and enjoy the ocean view and nature.
The accommodation is rustic and simple. Very spacious with unique decor.
The 2nd floor apartment is very quiet and private.
Nadia and Salvatore are fabulous hosts and will cook meals if required. The pasta is great.
There are cooking facilities in the apartment should you want to cook. The lack of fridge due to the location only having solar power did not pose a problem. A large cooler is provided and blocks of ice purchased from town last for 3 to 4 days.
The location of this guesthouse is perfect for exploring unspoilt beaches, restaurants close by. (We rented an ATV which was great to get around, we felt perfectly safe driving at night). It is about 20 minutes from town so having our own transportation was a definite plus but there is a shuttle to and from town several times per day.
You will not find a better view.

Room tip: Upper level in the guesthouse is the most private and lots of sun with stunning views. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews