We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As perfect as ever”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
srm34633
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As perfect as ever”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is now the third time my wife and I have visited Hope Cottage. If you want somewhere to relax, explore or enjoy walks (or any combination of the three) you can't go wrong with Hope Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenPow
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have just had the most perfect Christmas 3night stay at Hope Cottage. It is a beautiful, quirky Cotswold cottage full of charm and equipped with all that you could for a comfortable stay.
We made a full family Christmas lunch, enjoyed drinks in the Kings Head whilst the Turkey was cooking.
The log burner was enjoyed each evening. France Lynch and its surroundings are a delightful area and we enjoyed exploring.

Thanks to Sarah for your hospitality and all your help prior to our arrival.
Simply 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a beautiful cottage. The photographs really didn't do it justice. We wanted a weekend away that would feel like escaping from reality and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The cottage is so cute and cosy, made all the more perfect by the log fire which we made use of both nights. It was a lovely location and we enjoyed a stroll to the local bakery 'The Lavender Bakehouse' for breakfast on the Sunday. Sarah was the perfect host too and kindly extended our check out time so that we could make the most of our weekend. Couldn't recommend this cottage more highly. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had a lovely three night stay at Hope Cottage last week and can't recommend it highly enough! The cottage has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing trip, including a wood burner, and it was the perfect location for my partner, me and our dog.
We enjoyed many of the walks from the door step and enjoyed a dinner at the King's Head pub, which is just a short stroll up the road, and we also ventured a little further to eat at the Butchers Arms - highly recommended!
We had a great trip and Sarah was a great help - we never met her but her emails were a great help and it is well worth following her directions to the cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Sarah, you should be so proud of yourself, that little cottage of yours is beyond stunning! Our stay was for my partner's birthday and I booked Hope Cottage as a surprise weekend away. We were both taken aback by the charming, beautiful and homely cottage. It all looks exactly like the pictures on here, but even better!
With it's gorgeous surroundings (those views!!), perfect location (lovely pub literally round the corner) and cosy atmosphere (that little log fire) there was nothing more we could have asked for!
Thank you so, so much for all the little touches (like tea and milk waiting for us when we arrived!) that made our stay so lovely, and generally thank you for letting us stay there. We will definitely be returning!
Honestly the best weekend break I have done, and the only one that i'd go back tomorrow if I could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel yet cleanliness of the cottage, and how it felt like a home away from home!
Liked least: Having to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing