We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most charming little cottage set in an unspoilt...”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
inSens
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most charming little cottage set in an unspoilt picturesque location”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Set atop a hill in France Lynch, which is a tiny village and – though only a few miles from the Motorway – is a world away, far from commercial tourism and the like. The cottage itself is delightful from the original beams and stonework to the quirky mezzanine to having all the comforts you’d need.
We were lucky with the autumn weather and highly recommend a visit to the National Arboretum (a must-see if you’re a nature enthusiast or have young children - kept our 5 yo busy for the day!) and the local Kings Head which serves delicious hot food with warm friendly service.
Highly recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haydyn P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tranquil, peaceful retreat nestled in the country”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fabulous couple of days here for our 5th wedding anniversary. The cottage was charming, immaculate and the views stunning. We thoroughly enjoyed the surrounding area and the out of the way location.

Sarah was easily contactable, and feedback was spot on.

We will be coming back next year, all being well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Liked least: no dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnblack...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with lovely views”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I came here with my wife for a short honeymoon and it was perfect, the cottage is very tidy, surrounded by country walks and a great local pub at the end of the lane. Sarah was extremely helpful and made sure we had basic provisions for when we arrived and included lots of leaflets and maps for everything you'd want to do in the area. Would highly recommend this cottage for a getaway!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccakins...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival at the cottage we found an information booklet from Sarah which helped us plan out week, and also a welcome pack which was a lovely gesture.

The area was very quiet and relaxing, and we enjoyed visiting the local pub, along with towns and cities nearby as recommended in the booklet.

The cottage itself is delightful and charming, with the penguin books tucked away on the stairs and the loft space above the bedroom.

Thank you Sarah for letting us stay in your lovely cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing