We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired rooms and hit 'n' miss staff but location was was wonderful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlottes Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlottes Pass
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tired rooms and hit 'n' miss staff but location was was wonderful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed for three nights with two children (11 & 13) in perfect ski conditions. One TV is shared in the common lounge area and one open fire was operational which can get very crowded at 5pm when the bar opens! Rooms are very basic with non consistent servicing. A la carte meals at the restaurant were fabulous however children under 13 need to pay $30 each (kids club meals included free but as our children are too old for kids club nuggets & chips we opted to pay). Buffet nights were great if you like seafood! Otherwise basic roasts & veg. The staff are all over the place - some were great and others rude and awful!
Important note - Book your dinner reservations for your entire stay as soon as you arrive as early spots book out fast (our first night we ate at 8pm!!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Are-you-packing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is charming and full of character, with comfy couches and chairs around log fires, snow falling outside ... just heavenly. However (I hate to have a 'however', but for the price paid, I feel I have to), the rooms are very basic. We had a suite, and the decor inside was very old and worn, with chipped paint, marks on walls, cheap ugly couch and chairs, and a very daggy old bathroom. Everything worked fine, and served its purpose well, but for the money, I felt it was really overpriced. Our suite seemed to be toasty warm, but our friends who stayed in another suite felt cold, with only 1 heater for the entire suite (the Corner Room). When they asked for another heater, all the spare ones had been collected by other guests already.
That said, the staff were lovely, service at the restaurant was excellent, and the food was delicious. The kids club was well-run, too.
Being able to walk out and put skis on to go to lessons, or up the slopes, was a huge plus. I understand that other nearby lodges are quite a bit cheaper, though, and would be just as convenient. So unless you really hanker after the gourmet food and using the kids club for child-minding, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank feebles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Had a great 5 nights in the Chalet and fantastic 6 days of Skiing. Although many of the staff were new to the resort, they along with the regular season staff (and owner) went out of their way to make every effort to ensure we all had a great time. Didn't hear a complaint from anyone. Families and couples all mixed well with plenty to do after the skiing stopped.
The meals were fantastic and the staff very quickly knew everyones names, just to make you feel at home.
Our room was very large and the bed and bunks were very comfortable. Considering the age of the hotel, the rooms are very well maintained and have all you need for your stay. You don't have a TV in your room, but the kids never even thought about it. They didn't even bother watching the huge TV in the guest lounge. It's just not the type of holiday where these things are necessary.
Just make sure you make your dinner reservations when you arrive as those in the know take all the early spots. You will want to eat early and get to bed early.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrisbaneMarkJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

My family had the pleasure recently of staying in this wonderful old hotel. We couldn't fault the staff who tried their very best to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel's restaurant had the most amazing food, that made us excited to get to dinner each night. Cosy fireplaces to chat and have a drink with new friends, away from the children who have their own kids club to attend. It's everything you need to make a snow holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlang05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

To escape the hot weather, we recently took a very reasonably priced 3-day package at this Charlotte Pass hotel, probably the highest inhabited place in Australia and just down the road from Mt Kosciosko. Package included full cooked breakfast, an imaginative 3-course dinner, and a pass on the chairlift up to the Pass. The friendly and efficient staff were always at hand and provided us with maps and advice about local bushwalks and activities. We ordered a packed lunch and wandered off each day to explore the awe-inspiring scenery around Kosciosko & the Snowy River. Despite the daily hikes, I suspect we put on a few pounds due to the generous breakfast and dinner e.g. duck noodle salad, followed by rack of lamb and a sticky date pudding. Our room was comfortable and unpretentious, with ensuite, tea/coffee, iron and hairdryer but lacking TV, bar fridge or mobile coverage. Staff told us the hotel was undergoing a program of refurbishment so some of this may change (hopefully not the delightful 1930s atmosphere and carved staircase) but, to be honest, our initial alarm at being deprived of "essentials" faded almost immediately - we were far too busy soaking in the bath after the day's walk, chatting with other guests in the bar or at dinner, catching up on books we hadn't previously had time to read, and planning our next day's activities. A cool visit in more ways than one - we plan to return next summer if they open up at this time of year again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottes Pass
38.6 km away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
37.1 km away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
37.7 km away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 km away
Alpine Resort Motel
Alpine Resort Motel
#8 of 10 in Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
38.1 km away
Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
#2 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
37.4 km away
Jindabyne Holiday Park
Jindabyne Holiday Park
#1 of 26 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel

Property: Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel
Address: Kosciuszko Road, Charlottes Pass, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Charlottes Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlottes Pass
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing