We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A regular visitor and friend/patron of Lodge 21” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smiggin Holes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Terrigal
1 review
“A regular visitor and friend/patron of Lodge 21”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I rarely participate in such feedback though I am compelled through reading dubious comments on holidays @ Lodge 21. I have been a regular visitor to Smiggins for over twenty years, and my many wonderful holiday memories are largely centred at Lodge 21.
The owners international experience adds to providing a snow holiday that considers and values, families. The intimate, relaxed atmosphere provides great reprieve from a serious, and "up-tight" world, in a beautiful and fun setting.
My Swedish friend commented "it's snowing in the tropics" when he noticed snowgums with pow on the leaves near 21. The inclusive trivia at breakfast, starts a warm connection between guests. For the best value and a wonderful on-snow holiday experience, I definately recommend Lodge 21.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great place will be going back,there was 7 of us ageing from 4 to 74, 5 adults 2 young ones,the staff and management are a great bunch of people and very helpful,rooms are very tidy and serve there purpose,the food was great and a most hardy breakfast to keep you energised through the day,wonderful fire place area and TV room,all ski hiring of equipment is next door so hiring and returning of equipment was no problems,ski lifts are across the road making it very easy to hit the slopes,nothing bad to say about Hotel 21 besides wishing that I could of been there longer : ) ,When We Holiday, We Holiday.

Room Tip: Room 11 for a couple was great with ski mountain views ,12 had the same views and fitted 5 peeps wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diablito66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This place is a favorite of mine, and my mates love it too.

Over the past few years I've seen the carpark sealed, the front stone wall completed, the entry renewed, additional TV's and things, the gyprock has been replaced, the interior painted, a few weeks ago I turned up and they've got some awesome new art works in the area with the giant new leather lounges... it just keeps getting better. The food was great thanks guys, except I don't like mushrooms. Being across the carpark from the hotel and ski lifts is a bonus... the only drawback... you don't have a giant outdoor deck, and we had to walk across the road to the Smiggins deck... That was 100+ meters with heavy snow and I was wearing thongs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Lodge 21 has had a long and successful reputation as a place to stay in the lives of many people. Unfortunately this year my experience was again marred by excessive & prolonged noise in the early hours. The current manager was instructed by the owner to monitor & reduce noise after complaints in 2010. This has been made difficult because the owner is the main perpetrator! If you like to ‘party’ the owner is a great guy to know! Everybody at Smiggins does! If you expect to get a good night’s sleep consider a lodge elsewhere until this is resolved.

("there is a DVDplayer/TV in every room" - our TV wasn't connected! - the loose bathroom door lock trapped several of us and is a potential fire hazard - the Chef & Staff are great!)

Room Tip: upstairs only - renovated - with ear plugs! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crickitCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed at the lodge for 6 day/5 nights. There were 4 of us and we stayed in a double room and a double single room. The double single rooms were a little on the small side but the double room was perfect size. At the end of the day, we spent so much time outside the room either on the slopes, in the lounge room or in the tv room that the size really wasnt an issue. The bathrooms were clean, nice strong water pressure. They have a extensive DVD library which is great as every room has a dvd player.

The staff were extremely friendly and more than willing to tend to our every need.
The food, wow, what a wonderful chef they have there at the moment - breakfast and dinner every day was superb.

The staff are young and helpful but do what they have to do. My friends and I had a great time and we got along with them really well and had a great week. The price was half of what some of the other venues were quoting but besides the hotel right on the snow it was the closest one to the lifts! So great value.

There were 2 families with young children at the same time as us and they seemed to be having a good time too. I guess some people expect to much, but having travelled the world, I would give this accommodation 3 stars in terms of the look of the hotel but 5 for everything else. It's getting there.

Will definitely go back.
Eloise

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
8.9 km away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
9.6 km away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
22.2 km away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
11.6 km away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
24.5 km away
Guthega Alpine Hotel
Guthega Alpine Hotel
#8 of 8 in Perisher Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes

Property: Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes
Address: Munyang Road, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,086 - ₹ 11,158
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing