We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & ideal location to see Calabria ......”
Review of Hotel Gullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gullo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Acconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed at Hotel Gullo for 9 days in August and it was terrific .... it's relatively close to the Lamezia airport while being a short drove to great spots such as Vibo, Pizzo, Tropea, Nicastro and Scilla..........you're only an hour and change from hopping on a ferry to Sicily if you really wanted to explore.

The staff (Mariano, Diego, Giuseppe, Elia & Giovanna) will make your stay very memorable should you choose to engage in conversation. You'll likely even run into Mrs. Gullo who will want to ensure your stay is up to standards.

The pool is great but only one depth - so if taking small children, you may want to consider a life-jacket / water wings. Be sure to ask front-desk for a pass to the beach (mare) which is only about 10-12 minutes away and comes with an umbrella & two beach chairs in your own reserved section.

The dining was terrific in the dining room. We hosted a party for my son's birthday and Diego's team did a fantastic job helping us set a menu! To top it off they had menu's printed for the table - what a great touch!

My only wish was that the rooms included a broom as the kids would often track sand in from the beach ......I'd also like to see more variety in the breakfast but keep in mind we stayed 9 days.....if only staying for a couple of days, you probably wouldn't notice. The morning cappuccino's are spectacular!!! Make sure you try at least one!

Would highly recommend !!!

EV

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda Z, Responsabile reception at Hotel Gullo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Kind Elia,
what a pleasure to read your detailed review! Thank you so much for the compliments to some of the components of our staff! We would like to have you and your family once again in our structure, or maybe we could meet again in Canada with the entire Hotel Gullo's family :-)

Best regards and we are looking forward to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Lamezia airport a fifteen minute or so drive away. The hotel is very comfortable with extremely helpful and courteous staff. Our room was excellent, spacious, clean an comfortable with a super ensuite with ever amenity. The hotel has lovely gardens and a nice pool which provides a lovely relaxing haven at the end or beginning of a holiday. We arrived late in the afternoon and having had a very busy time seeing lots of Calabria and knowing we had an early flight to catch the next morning we decided that we would spend the rest of the afternoon enjoying the relaxing environment that this hotel offers.
Based on previous reviews we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. I have to say that it was a culinary treat and was one of the best meals we had in the whole of our stay in Calabria. The service and food were first class. This hotel provides southern Italian hospitality at its best and is one that we would definitely use again..

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boheme_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda Z, Responsabile reception at Hotel Gullo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Kind Guest,
we are so proud of your review! Thank you so much for having spent time to write these words about your stay here. What else?
We are looking forward to have you here once again, it would be better for more days than your last stay!
Best regards and thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Two night stay at Gullo. What a friendly place this is. It is a family run hotel and is very clean.

We had had a puncture on our hire car and the staff at Gullo were super helpful.

The restaurant food was very good with a lovely breakfast. The waitress was a really lovely friendly lady.

Our room was clean, bright and airy and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The only downside to Gullo is the surrounding area which is not the best but don't let this put you off this lovely little hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CocoMelbourne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda Z, Responsabile reception at Hotel Gullo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Kind Guest,
what a pleasure to read your review! We appreciated so much your description of everything, your attention to the details and the nice words you had for us.
What else, we are looking forward to have you here again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel Gullo was a few kilometers off the AutoStrade and I admit, at first, we were not quite sure we picked the right spot, mainly due to location in the countryside. However, the hotel was clean with well appointed, comfortable rooms. We enjoyed a fantastic evening meal in their restaurant. The view from our room may not have been scenic, but Hotel Gullo proved our initial misgivings wrong. A good night's sleep and excellent food. Free parking is available on site. Breakfast was adequate.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda Z, Responsabile reception at Hotel Gullo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Kind Mary,
thank you so much for having left your feedback for other future guests!
We appreciated so much your description: we know that the surrounding is not so much attractive, but we are convinced that once inside the structure you can forget everything!
So, we are looking forward to have you here once again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Gullo marries the elegance of a four star hotel with kindness and familiarity typical of Southern Italy people in a perfect mix. The rooms are warm and comfortable, as was the bathroom, equipped with every comfort and a large shower and functional. Excellent wi-fi service. Hearty breakfast with fresh juices and bar table service for those who love good Italian coffee or cappuccino. free cleaning. The kindness and generosity of the staff makes you feel that when you go away already homesick.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cinzia maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iolanda Z, Responsabile reception at Hotel Gullo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Kind Cinzia,
thank you for your review! We're so pleased to read you words about the stay here.
What else? We are looking forward to have you here once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acconia
34.6 km away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 14 in Parghelia
480 reviews
36.9 km away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
6.1 km away
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Hotel Ashley
Hotel Ashley
#2 of 10 in Lamezia Terme
153 reviews
25.7 km away
Mirabeau Park Hotel
Mirabeau Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gasperina
484 reviews
11.1 km away
THotel Lamezia
THotel Lamezia
#1 of 10 in Lamezia Terme
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gullo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gullo

Address: Via Prato Santa Irene 65, 88022 Acconia, Curinga, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Catanzaro > Curinga > Acconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Acconia
Price Range: ₹ 5,437 - ₹ 9,968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gullo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 3 km far from the sea, the Gullo Hotel lies within 15 minutes by car from the A3 highway and from the international Airport of Lamezia Terme. It offers an outdoor swimming pool, a garden and rooms with balconies. Each accommodation is provided with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi; 5-star mattresses by Simmons and flat screen TV with international channels and SKY tv FOR FREE. Many rooms overlook the garden, others the pool and others offer a view of the sea. Parking is free at the Gullo Hotel. The restaurant overlooks the swimming pool and serves a Mediterranean and Calabrese cuisine. Located in Acconia di Curinga, the Hotel rises close to the industrial area of Lamezia Terme and enjoys excellent highway connections, permitting people to easily travel in Calabria. FACILITIES. Media and Technology: satellite channels, flat screen TV, telephone. Open Spaces: garden, terrace, sun terrace, seasonal swimming pool. Activities: newspapers, solarium. Restaurant Services: restaurant, bar, restaurant a la carte, possibility to have breakfast in the room, special diet menus (on request), minibar. Internet: Free! Internet is available throughout the hotel. Parking: Free! Private parking is available on-site by reservation. Other Facilities: 24h reception, express check-in and check-out , luggage room, room service, meeting/banquets facilities, business centre, baby-sitting, laundry, VIP room services, ironing service, bridal suite, fax/photocopying, concierge service, airport shuttle service (surcharge), hall/TV zone, daily cleaning service, wake up service. General Facilities: non-smoking rooms, rooms/facilities for disabled guests, family rooms, elevator, safety deposit box, soundproofed rooms, heating, non-smoking public and private spaces, air-conditioning, parquet or wooden floor. Languages: Italian, French, English, German. TERMS. Arrival from 12:00 to 24:00 Departure from 7:00 to 11:00 Cancellation/Prepayment: the conditions for the cancellation and prepayment policies vary according to the room type. Check the conditions of the room before you select it. Children and additional beds: Free! One child under 9 years stays free (using the present beds). Free! One child under 2 years stays free (using the cot). Maximum capacity of baby cots in a room is 1. Pets: pets are allowed. You may be asked an additional cost. Accepted credit cards: the hotel reserves the right to check the validity of the credit cards prior to arrival, requesting authorization to the circuit membership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gullo Calabria/Acconia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing